DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > NetBSD > NetBSD General

NetBSD General Other questions regarding NetBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2013
New User

Default NetBSD and a Synaptics Touchpad

Hello,

I'm new to BSD and am trying to configure a NetBSD installation on a laptop. The installation runs smoothly (except the NIC isn't supported).

I can use the console and start X, but as soon as I touch the touchpad, the keyboard (and touchpad) no longer respond. A USB keyboard and mouse connected will still work.

dmesg reports:
Code:
pms0 at pckbc1 (aux slot)
pms0: Synaptics touchpad version 7.2
pms0:Palm detect
pckbc1: using irq 12 for aux slot
wsmouse0 at pms0 mux 0
I've tried adding a 'driver "synaptics"' line to xorg.conf, but then a USB mouse no longer works and the problem stands.

Do I have to compile a kernel with synaptics support, or is there something simple I haven't done to get this working correctly?

Many thanks for any help.
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2013
Banned

You may need to edit the xorg.conf file. The NIC will be detected when booting. The output from
Code:
dmesg
will tell you what the NIC is. Look up with
Code:
apropos $NIC_NAME_WITHOUT_NUMERICAL_VALUE
to see if a driver is available.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2013
New User

There is a driver available (it's a JMicron ethernet controller) but the jme driver doesn't work (even after switching to base10T as recommended in some man pages). Still, I don't much mind that.

The touchpad is more of a problem. If I catch it by accident when typing, I lose keyboard input and have to power off.
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th June 2013
Arp Constable

Based on my own prior research and this prior post
Thinkpad nvram in NetBSD I have been under the impression that a custom kernel was needed.

In Arch Touchpad Wiki it is possible to disable the touchpad upon external mouse detection.