DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Off-Topic Everything else.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th September 2008
Port Guard

Default Would BSD be right to learn networking?

Hello everyone,

I have no knowledge on any BSD and no knowledge on any Linux. I would like to learn networking. Before we start. If this is in the wrong section, will someone please move it to it's proper place?

Would networking be more suitable to learn on BSD, or any Unix, or Linux, or none from those? I have a Vista system. I don't use Vista. I downgraded to XP Pro. When I downgraded. I had to get the XP drivers because very few drivers regonzied. Would any OS of BSD, Unix, Linux, and such give me trouble to recognize? I would like a dual boot. I have C for XP, and H for my downloads. I have H the biggest drive because I download more. I don't have a floppy. Don't have a CD-ROM. I have a DVD burner. Yes, I can burn CD's. I don't have any DVD's left. I have plenty of CD's.

Any questions, please feel free to ask me. I do have a printer but hardly no ink to actually print out some tutorials to set me up. I am sorry. I am on a budget and a fixed budget.
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th September 2008
Administrator

All BSD systems are cleaner and simpler then any Linux, BSD systems have long tradition (Linux did not even existed) in networking so BSD is best choice here mate. BSD also have great and complete documentation while playing with Linux you have to search for some aoutdated HOWTO that does not happen to work because Linux kernel already changes 100 times since.

Get FreeBSD 7.0 ISO / NetBSD 4.0 ISO / OpenBSD 4.3 ISO and start learning while reading these systems documentation, I do not want to favorite any of BSD here so I leave the choice up to you mate.

Documentation is at projects pages:
freebsd.org
netbsd.org
openbsd.org

Feel free to ask any other questions.