DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th October 2009
Port Guard

Question Pre-installed Groups: What are they for?

Hi.

I am a newbie and am trying to learn OpenBSD. I am currently running OpenBSD 4.5-RELEASE. I have some questions regarding user groups & login class(es). I have listed my questions below. I have summarized my research/findings as "notes" and have put that next to the question.

I would appreciate if you could help me.

When I scan /etc/group, I see a set of default groups in that file. example: staff, users, operators etc.

Question-1:
In what way is the group "staff" different from "users" and "operators"?
Notes: Users in the operator group can mount & unmount. Other groups do not have this privilege.

Question-2:
What special purpose/ task definition associated with each of these groups?
Notes:Tried online man pages available at openbsd.org.
Read login.conf.

Sample query in man.
cgi-bin/man.cgi?query=operator&apropos=0&sektion=1&manpath =OpenBSD+Current&arch=i386&format=html

(As I am new to this forum, the forum program does not allow me to put the actual url. Hence, please run the above query at openbsd.org)

Question-3:
What is the difference between the login classes: default & staff?
Notes:
Assumption: Logins in the "staff" class has special privileges.

Release 4.6 has special changes in this (i.e.)
Make the install scripts add the default user to the 'staff' login class..

Question-4:
When I create a login, the de-facto class is "default". When should I use
the login class called "staff"?

I look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks.
-gm

Last edited by Greg_Morgan; 8th October 2009 at 02:27 AM. Reason: Easier reading.
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th October 2009
Arp Constable