DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Packages and Ports

OpenBSD Packages and Ports Installation and upgrading of packages and ports on OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th January 2009
Nk2Network Nk2Network is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Default "No package available in the PKG_PATH" error

Good evening,

I retouve with an error
PHP Code:
non-recoverable failure in name resolution No packege available in the pkg_patch 
On the site of openbsd he explains how to make php_path.before you asked my question I am go on the site to look at openbsd faq15 I followed the instructions of the site I see it the same error

I DNS resolution in my BSDBox it in my Lesolv.conf

PHP Code:
nameserver 192.168.1.1 
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th January 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 4,125
Default

What is your PKG_PATH? Please post the output of:
Code:
$ echo $PKG_PATH
Your nameserver probably is your router. You could try to change your /etc/resolv.conf into
Code:
# nameserver 192.168.1.1
nameserver 208.67.222.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220
These are the OpenDNS nameservers.
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump

Last edited by J65nko; 11th January 2009 at 02:03 AM. Reason: Use 'echo' instead of 'cat'. Thanks, jggimi ;)
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th January 2009
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,975
Default

$ echo $PKG_PATH

should be an improvement on cat(1).
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th January 2009
Nk2Network Nk2Network is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Default

Hello


Apparently when I type the command echo $PKG_PATH


PHP Code:
echo $PKG_PATH
[123113
ksh
PKG_PATHno found
#

[1] + Done    echo

Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th January 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 4,125
Default

I use a simple script to set and export the PKG_PATH variable.

Code:
# Set PKG_PATH and PKG_CACHE
# $Id: PKGenv,v 1.2 2009/01/11 12:29:54 j65nko Exp $ 

# ------------------------------
# IMPORTANT use "." to source this script!!!
#
#    . ./PKGenv
# ------------------------------
# The PKG_PATH variable needs to be set
# and exported in the current shell/xterm !

# 'sh ./PKGenv' will not work! 

if [ "$(id -u)" -ne  0 ]; then 
    echo PKGenv : Remember you are not ROOT !! 
fi

# ---- VERSION or RELEASE
VERSION=snapshots
VERSION=4.4

# --- Architecture
ARCH=amd64
ARCH=i386

# -- from man pkg_add (1)
# If the environment variable PKG_CACHE is set, every package retrieved
# from a distant location will also be copied here.

# -- make sure the PATH ends with a '/' !
PKG_CACHE=/home/packages/
export PKG_CACHE
mkdir -p ${PKG_CACHE}

# -- make sure the PATH ends with a '/' !
PKGDIR=pub/OpenBSD/${VERSION}/packages/${ARCH}/

# -- sites
export    alberta=ftp://ftp.openbsd.org/${PKGDIR}
export    stacken=ftp://ftp.stacken.kth.se/${PKGDIR}
export       plig=ftp://ftp.plig.org/${PKGDIR}
export   hostfuss=ftp://mirror.hostfuss.com/${PKGDIR}
export      calyx=ftp://ftp.calyx.nl/${PKGDIR}
export      nluug=ftp://ftp.nluug.nl/${PKGDIR}
export      plato=scp://plato.utp.xnet/home/packages/
   
# -- for testing
#for site in alberta stacken plig hostfuss calyx nluug plato; do
#    eval echo \$${site}
#done

# -- actual setting and export 

#PKG_PATH=${PKG_CACHE}:${alberta}

PKG_PATH=${plig}
export PKG_PATH 

echo ------------------------------------
# env TZ=Europe/Amsterdam date
# env TZ=UTC date
# env TZ=Canada/Mountain date
# env TZ=MST date
# echo ------------------------------------
dmesg | head -2

echo Current settings
echo ------------------------------------
env | grep PKG
echo ------------------------------------
You source it like this
Code:
$ . ./PKGenv
j65nko@hercules[~]. ./PKGenv 

PKGenv : Remember you are not ROOT !!
------------------------------------
OpenBSD 4.2 (GENERIC) #1179: Tue Aug 28 10:37:50 MDT 2007
    deraadt@amd64.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sys/arch/amd64/compile/GENERIC
Current settings
------------------------------------
PKG_CACHE=/home/packages/
PKG_PATH=ftp://ftp.plig.org/pub/OpenBSD/4.4/packages/i386/
------------------------------------
The script is attached for download. Just do a "mv PKGenv.txt PKGenv" to get rid of the ".txt" extension.
Attached Files
File Type: txt PKGenv.txt (1.7 KB, 110 views)
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th January 2009
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,975
Default

Most of us put this in our .profile for Bourne based shells:

export PKG_PATH=ftp://<my.nearest.mirror>/pub/OpenBSD/<release>/packages/<arch>/

Or we put this in our .cshrc for C based shells:

setenv PKG_PATH ftp://<my.nearest.mirror>/pub/OpenBSD/<release>/packages/<arch>/
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th January 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 4,125
Default

Jggimi, I wrote this script for snapshot packages testing. For snapshots I always had to replace <my.nearest.mirror> with
<my.nearest.mirror.which.has.completely.rsynced.wi th.ftp.openbsd.org>


By storing the ftp sites in variables named 'plig' or 'stacken', I can easily do things like this
Code:
# export PKG_PATH=${stacken}
# echo $PKG_PATH
ftp://ftp.stacken.kth.se/pub/OpenBSD/snapshots/packages/amd64/
To reuse the already downloaded packages on host plato
Code:
# export PKG_PATH=$plato:$PKG_PATH

# echo $PKG_PATH
scp://plato.utp.xnet/home/packages/:ftp://ftp.stacken.kth.se/pub/OpenBSD/snapshots/packages/amd64/
@Nk2Network

You also can place two ftp sites in your PKG_PATH. If one happens to be temporarily out of service, or the name cannot be resolved in DNS, then the other one will be used:
Code:
# export PKG_PATH=$plig:$stacken

# echo $PKG_PATH
ftp://ftp.plig.org/pub/OpenBSD/4.4/packages/amd64/:ftp://ftp.stacken.kth.se/pub/OpenBSD/4.4/packages/amd64/
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th January 2009
Nk2Network Nk2Network is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Default

in which directory I add the file PKGenv.txt ?
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th January 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 4,125
Default

Because I always become root to add packages, I have it in root's home directory "/root".
Code:
j65nko@hercules[~]su - root
Password:
Terminal type? [xterm] 
root@hercules[~]mv /home/j65nko/PKGenv.txt PKGenv
You then source the script with the shell's "." command.
Code:
root@hercules[~]. ./PKGenv                                                  
------------------------------------
OpenBSD 4.2 (GENERIC) #1179: Tue Aug 28 10:37:50 MDT 2007
    deraadt@amd64.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sys/arch/amd64/compile/GENERIC
Current settings
------------------------------------
PKG_CACHE=/home/packages/
PKG_PATH=ftp://ftp.plig.org/pub/OpenBSD/4.4/packages/amd64/
------------------------------------
root@hercules[~]
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009
Nk2Network Nk2Network is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Default

Hello

I just do the same manipulation it m'affiche toujour error


PHP Code:
# . ./PKGenv
------------------------------------
OpenBSD 4.4 (GENERIC#1021: Tue Aug 12 17:16:55 MDT 2008
    
deraadt@i386.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sys/arch/i386/compile/GENERIC
Current settings
------------------------------------
PKG_CACHE=/home/packages/
PKG_PATH=ftp://ftp.plig.org/pub/OpenBSD/4.4/packages/i386/
------------------------------------


Tape the command pkg_add error pkg_path

Last edited by Nk2Network; 11th January 2009 at 10:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 4,125
Default

Which error? I noticed you edited your post, but you still have not shown us exactly the command you typed, and which error message it produced
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009
Nk2Network Nk2Network is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Default

When I use the command pkg_add pkg_add ftp://ftp.openbsd.org/pub/OpenBSD/4....get-1.11.3.tgz pas de problème il fonctionne

When I use the command pkg_add pkg_add gimp error pkg_path
Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 4,125
Default

Set the PKG_PATH to ftp.openbsd.org in Alberta, Canada with:
Code:
# export PKG_PATH=$alberta
Does the pkg_add command work then?
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009
Nk2Network Nk2Network is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Default

Bonjour,


merci beaucoup exemple que je tape la command en ssh

thank you very much when I type the command shh pkg_add gimp

PHP Code:
# pkg_add gimp
Can't resolve gimp 
when I type the command directly pc

pkg_add gimp

PHP Code:
No package available in the pkg_path
Can
't resolve gimp 
Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2009
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Default

Nk2Network, It is clear that you cannot comprehend our instructions.. perhaps it might be worth reading the FAQ in your language of choice.

This will save us from repeating instructions in frustration.

http://openbsd.org/faq/fr/index.html
http://openbsd.org/faq/fr/faq15.html

Take care.
Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2009
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 4,125
Default

@BSDfan666: I see progress in the posts. Besides, I understand French

Nk2Network,:

If you use ssh to login to another machine you have another login session.
The PKG_PATH setting is local to your login session. For example :
Code:
j65nko@hercules[~]. ./PKGenv                  
PKGenv : Remember you are not ROOT !!
------------------------------------
OpenBSD 4.2 (GENERIC) #1179: Tue Aug 28 10:37:50 MDT 2007
    deraadt@amd64.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sys/arch/amd64/compile/GENERIC
Current settings
------------------------------------
PKG_CACHE=/home/packages/
PKG_PATH=ftp://ftp.plig.org/pub/OpenBSD/4.4/packages/amd64/
------------------------------------
j65nko@hercules[~]echo $PKG_PATH
ftp://ftp.plig.org/pub/OpenBSD/4.4/packages/amd64/
When I now ssh in to host 'parmenides' on my local LAN the PKG_PATH will not be inherited by the ssh login session on 'parmenides'.
Code:
j65nko@hercules[~]ssh j65nko@parmenides.utp.xnet
Last login: Mon Jan 12 01:28:58 2009 from hercules.utp.xnet

[snip]

Welcome to OpenBSD: The proactively secure Unix-like operating system.

[snip]

j65nko@parmenides[~]echo $PKG_PATH

j65nko@parmenides[~]exit
Connection to parmenides.utp.xnet closed.
As you see the PKG_PATH set in the xterm on host 'hercules' was not transported, or inherited by the new ssh login session on host 'parmenides'.
But it still is set on 'hercules':
Code:
j65nko@hercules[~]echo $PKG_PATH
ftp://ftp.plig.org/pub/OpenBSD/4.4/packages/amd64/
j65nko@hercules[~]
I wonder if it could be a DNS issue. What is the output of?
Code:
$ dig ftp.plig.org
Does it show the IP address of ftp.plig.org?

Does it help if you specify the complete package name: pkg_add -vv gimp-2.4.6p1.tgz ?
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2009
Nk2Network Nk2Network is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Default

Hello,

I just follow the instructions you have given me apparently it works properly


PHP Code:
# dig ftp.plig.org

; <<>> DiG 9.4.2-P2 <<>> ftp.plig.org
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>
HEADER<<- opcodeQUERYstatusNOERRORid59826
;; flagsqr aa rd raQUERY1ANSWER1AUTHORITY0ADDITIONAL0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;
ftp.plig.org.                  IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ftp.plig.org.           0       IN      A       195.40.6.45

;; Query time29 msec
;; SERVER192.168.1.1#53(192.168.1.1)
;; WHENMon Jan 12 04:40:13 2009
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd46



specify the complete package name pkg_add -vv gimp-2.4.6p1.tgz


PHP Code:
# pkg_add -vv gimp-2.4.6p1.tgz
Can't find gimp-2.4.6p1.tgz
/usr/sbin/pkg_add: gimp-2.4.6p1.tgz:Fatal error 

To concludI e my first problem solved, it remains just a small error It's not very serious I watch this more closely Thank you for your help and again sorry for my english is not very good
Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2009
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,975
Default

I will guess that you have a much more basic problem, one of connectivity.

If your network is functioning properly, this:

$ ftp ftp://ftp.plig.org/pub/OpenBSD/4.4/packages/

Should give you an ftp> prompt at your mirror. Does it?
Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2009
Nk2Network Nk2Network is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Default

Hello,

I'm not misinformed about the problems I think my problem is dnsd,Manual network config via "ifconfig" it shows more thoroughly the properties of network connections.

PHP Code:
# ifconfig
lo0flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICASTmtu 33204
        groups
lo
        inet6 
::1 prefixlen 128
        inet6 fe80
::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x3
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
rl0
flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICASTmtu 1500
        lladdr 00
:c0:9f:35:a5:c2
        groups
egress
        media
Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX full-duplex)
        
statusactive
        inet6 fe80
::2c0:9fff:fe35:a5c2%rl0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
        inet 192.168.1.12 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
enc0
flags=0<> mtu 1536


In the file /etc/resolv.conf default gateway: 192.168.1.1 (nameserver 192.168.1.1), the same IP address is assigned to my Internet access providers to configure the router.Modem is connected has a network (switch) 5 port currently 2 computer log
Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2009
Nk2Network Nk2Network is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 43
Default

I reinstalled and it works.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fixed "xinit" after _7 _8, "how" here in case anyones' "X" breaks... using "nvidia" jb_daefo Guides 0 5th October 2009 09:31 PM
"Thanks" and "Edit Tags". diw Feedback and Suggestions 2 29th March 2009 12:06 AM
Help! My system "lost" my bind94 package... pormogo FreeBSD Ports and Packages 2 19th August 2008 03:41 PM
CF, as wd0, 4.3 dmesg "DMA error" s2scott OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 11 10th May 2008 08:21 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick