DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2017
philo_neo71 philo_neo71 is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Default startx unknown problem

hello,
I encounter an unknown problem, very bizzard. I installed OpenBSD 6.2 on my laptop i386 dual cores, I installed Gnome3 without error, then the demon does not launch or are in irreversible errors it leaves the prompt "#" for root and "$" for a normal user the operating system crash!
So I decided to install XFCE4 and ditto the bone crash after rebooting.
So I decide not to install windows manager and I run startx on a new installation, ditto the operating system crash console display a prompt, ">" with some command that does not work, I'm forced to turn off by the power off button. the system, reboot and this time it tells me that sshd is corpulent. I do not understand what happens on this laptop, I have an intel video processor, FreeBSD 11.1 + Gnome3, works very well and debian 9.3, I'm multiboot.
I have never encountered such an error. what should you think of it?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2017
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,387
Default

Post your dmesg(8), and post the contents of /var/log/Xorg.0.log.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2017
philo_neo71 philo_neo71 is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Default

I can not because I can not repair the sshd daemon that is damaged, know how to repair this daemon
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2017
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,387
Default

Does the OpenBSD bootloader boot? If not, reinstall.

Does the OpenBSD kernel boot? If it does, but only comes up in single-user mode due to filesystem errors, issue: # fsck. If you are willing to reinstall again in the event of data loss, issue: # fsck -y.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2017
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 334
Default

If your system is multiboot, could you also boot with another OS (i.e. FreeBSD) and post the fdisk(8) layout.
__________________
The secret of wisdom is not wisdom itself, it's the road that leads us there.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2017
philo_neo71 philo_neo71 is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Default

hello jggimi,
how youdo to start OpenBSD in single user, what can i tape at the prompt just before boot ?
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2017
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,387
Default

If there are filesystem problems that cannot be resolved with fsck(8) in its default "preen" mode, the system will automatically start in single-user mode.

You can force single-user mode by entering -s at the "boot>" prompt.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2017
philo_neo71 philo_neo71 is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Default

i tried boot > preen >> nothing
also boot> -$ for boot single user >> nothing
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 30th December 2017
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,387
Default

I hope this is clear:

boot> -s
Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2017
GarryR's Avatar
GarryR GarryR is offline
Real Name: Garry Ricketson
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Durango, Mx.
Posts: 297
Default

That is not what was suggested,
Quote:
jggimi>>You can force single-user mode by entering -s at the "boot>" prompt.
On some of these , they say "boot -s", but I have never needed to include
"boot" , just the -s as jggimi said all ways works for me as well.

Quote:
http://www.openbsdsupport.org/ed_and_fstab.htm
The process:

boot -s at boot> prompt----
You will need to operate in single user mode. You can get into that mode from the boot prompt:
boot> boot -s
Quote:
https://www.openbsd.org/faq/faq8.html
Boot into single user mode. This part of the process varies depending on your platform. For amd64 and i386, the second stage boot loader pauses for a few seconds to give you a chance to provide parameters to the kernel. Here you can see we pass the -s flag to boot(8):

probing: pc0 com0 com1 mem[638K 1918M a20=on]
disk: hd0+ hd1+
>> OpenBSD/amd64 BOOT 3.33
boot> boot -s
__________________
My best friends are parrots
Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2017
philo_neo71 philo_neo71 is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Default

I redid an installation of OpenBSD,
I do not dare to do startx because it will crash
My laptop is a lenovo SL510.

Quote:
dmesg
OpenBSD 6.2 (GENERIC.MP) #166: Tue Oct 3 19:58:05 MDT 2017
deraadt@i386.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sy...ile/GENERIC.MP
cpu0: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9600 @ 2.80GHz ("GenuineIntel" 686-class) 2.80 GHz
cpu0: FPU,V86,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,P GE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE, SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,NXE,LONG,SSE3,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,SMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,SSE4.1,XS AVE,LAHF,PERF,SENSOR
real mem = 3048439808 (2907MB)
avail mem = 2975920128 (2838MB)
mpath0 at root
scsibus0 at mpath0: 256 targets
mainbus0 at root
bios0 at mainbus0: date 06/19/12, BIOS32 rev. 0 @ 0xfdbf0, SMBIOS rev. 2.5 @ 0xe0010 (44 entries)
bios0: vendor LENOVO version "6JET94WW (1.52 )" date 06/19/2012
bios0: LENOVO 2847Q5G
acpi0 at bios0: rev 4
acpi0: sleep states S0 S3 S4 S5
acpi0: tables DSDT FACP HPET MCFG APIC BOOT SLIC SSDT SSDT SSDT
acpi0: wakeup devices P0P2(S4) P0P1(S4) USB0(S3) USB1(S3) USB2(S3) USBR(S3) EHC1(S3) USB3(S3) USB4(S3) USB5(S3) EHC2(S3) HDEF(S4) PXSX(S4) RP01(S4) PXSX(S4) RP02(S4) [...]
acpitimer0 at acpi0: 3579545 Hz, 24 bits
acpihpet0 at acpi0: 14318179 Hz
acpimcfg0 at acpi0 addr 0xe0000000, bus 0-255
acpimadt0 at acpi0 addr 0xfee00000: PC-AT compat
cpu0 at mainbus0: apid 0 (boot processor)
mtrr: Pentium Pro MTRR support, 7 var ranges, 88 fixed ranges
cpu0: apic clock running at 266MHz
cpu0: mwait min=64, max=64, C-substates=0.2.2.2.2.1.3, IBE
cpu1 at mainbus0: apid 1 (application processor)
cpu1: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9600 @ 2.80GHz ("GenuineIntel" 686-class) 2.80 GHz
cpu1: FPU,V86,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,P GE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE, SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,NXE,LONG,SSE3,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,SMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,SSE4.1,XS AVE,LAHF,PERF,SENSOR
ioapic0 at mainbus0: apid 2 pa 0xfec00000, version 20, 24 pins
acpiprt0 at acpi0: bus 0 (PCI0)
acpiprt1 at acpi0: bus -1 (P0P2)
acpiprt2 at acpi0: bus 9 (P0P1)
acpiprt3 at acpi0: bus 2 (RP01)
acpiprt4 at acpi0: bus 3 (RP02)
acpiprt5 at acpi0: bus 4 (RP03)
acpiprt6 at acpi0: bus 5 (RP04)
acpiprt7 at acpi0: bus 6 (RP05)
acpiprt8 at acpi0: bus 8 (RP06)
acpiec0 at acpi0
acpicpu0 at acpi0: !C2(100@57 mwait.3@0x30), C1(1000@1 mwait.1), PSS
acpicpu1 at acpi0: !C2(100@57 mwait.3@0x30), C1(1000@1 mwait.1), PSS
acpitz0 at acpi0: critical temperature is 105 degC
"LEN0017" at acpi0 not configured
acpithinkpad0 at acpi0
acpiac0 at acpi0: AC unit online
acpibat0 at acpi0: BAT1 model "42T4753" serial 8762 type LION oem "Panasonic"
acpibtn0 at acpi0: LID_
acpibtn1 at acpi0: PWRB
acpibtn2 at acpi0: SLPB
"PNP0C14" at acpi0 not configured
acpivideo0 at acpi0: VGA_
acpivideo1 at acpi0: GFX0
acpivout0 at acpivideo1: DD03
bios0: ROM list: 0xc0000/0xfc00! 0xd0000/0x1000 0xe0000/0x2000! 0xe2000/0x1800!
cpu0: Enhanced SpeedStep 2794 MHz: speeds: 2801, 2800, 2133, 1600, 800 MHz
pci0 at mainbus0 bus 0: configuration mode 1 (bios)
pchb0 at pci0 dev 0 function 0 "Intel GM45 Host" rev 0x07
inteldrm0 at pci0 dev 2 function 0 "Intel GM45 Video" rev 0x07
drm0 at inteldrm0
intagp0 at inteldrm0
agp0 at intagp0: aperture at 0xd0000000, size 0x10000000
inteldrm0: msi
inteldrm0: 1366x768, 32bpp
wsdisplay0 at inteldrm0 mux 1: console (std, vt100 emulation)
wsdisplay0: screen 1-5 added (std, vt100 emulation)
"Intel GM45 Video" rev 0x07 at pci0 dev 2 function 1 not configured
uhci0 at pci0 dev 26 function 0 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 16
uhci1 at pci0 dev 26 function 1 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 21
uhci2 at pci0 dev 26 function 2 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 19
ehci0 at pci0 dev 26 function 7 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 19
usb0 at ehci0: USB revision 2.0
uhub0 at usb0 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
azalia0 at pci0 dev 27 function 0 "Intel 82801I HD Audio" rev 0x03: msi
azalia0: codecs: Realtek ALC269, Intel/0x2802, using Realtek ALC269
audio0 at azalia0
ppb0 at pci0 dev 28 function 0 "Intel 82801I PCIE" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 17
pci1 at ppb0 bus 2
"JMicron SD/MMC" rev 0x00 at pci1 dev 0 function 0 not configured
sdhc0 at pci1 dev 0 function 2 "JMicron SD Host Controller" rev 0x00: apic 2 int 16
sdhc0: SDHC 2.0, 50 MHz base clock
sdmmc0 at sdhc0: 4-bit
"JMicron Memory Stick" rev 0x00 at pci1 dev 0 function 3 not configured
"JMicron xD" rev 0x00 at pci1 dev 0 function 4 not configured
ppb1 at pci0 dev 28 function 1 "Intel 82801I PCIE" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 16
pci2 at ppb1 bus 3
ppb2 at pci0 dev 28 function 2 "Intel 82801I PCIE" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 18
pci3 at ppb2 bus 4
ppb3 at pci0 dev 28 function 3 "Intel 82801I PCIE" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 19
pci4 at ppb3 bus 5
iwn0 at pci4 dev 0 function 0 "Intel WiFi Link 1000" rev 0x00: msi, MIMO 1T2R, BGS, address 00:26:c7:0c:f2:68
ppb4 at pci0 dev 28 function 4 "Intel 82801I PCIE" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 17
pci5 at ppb4 bus 6
ppb5 at pci0 dev 28 function 5 "Intel 82801I PCIE" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 16
pci6 at ppb5 bus 8
re0 at pci6 dev 0 function 0 "Realtek 8168" rev 0x03: RTL8168D/8111D (0x2800), msi, address 00:26:9e:e4:13:93
rgephy0 at re0 phy 7: RTL8169S/8110S/8211 PHY, rev. 2
uhci3 at pci0 dev 29 function 0 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 23
uhci4 at pci0 dev 29 function 1 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 19
uhci5 at pci0 dev 29 function 2 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 18
ehci1 at pci0 dev 29 function 7 "Intel 82801I USB" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 23
usb1 at ehci1: USB revision 2.0
uhub1 at usb1 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
ppb6 at pci0 dev 30 function 0 "Intel 82801BAM Hub-to-PCI" rev 0x93
pci7 at ppb6 bus 9
pcib0 at pci0 dev 31 function 0 "Intel 82801IBM LPC" rev 0x03
ahci0 at pci0 dev 31 function 2 "Intel 82801I AHCI" rev 0x03: msi, AHCI 1.2
ahci0: port 0: 3.0Gb/s
ahci0: port 1: 1.5Gb/s
scsibus1 at ahci0: 32 targets
sd0 at scsibus1 targ 0 lun 0: <ATA, HGST HTS541010A9, JA0O> SCSI3 0/direct fixed naa.5000cca793ed4068
sd0: 953869MB, 512 bytes/sector, 1953525168 sectors
cd0 at scsibus1 targ 1 lun 0: <Slimtype, DVD A DS8ACSH, LP56> ATAPI 5/cdrom removable
ichiic0 at pci0 dev 31 function 3 "Intel 82801I SMBus" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 19
iic0 at ichiic0
sdtemp0 at iic0 addr 0x18: se97
sdtemp1 at iic0 addr 0x1a: mcp98243
spdmem0 at iic0 addr 0x50: 2GB DDR3 SDRAM PC3-8500 SO-DIMM with thermal sensor
spdmem1 at iic0 addr 0x52: 2GB DDR3 SDRAM PC3-8500 SO-DIMM with thermal sensor
usb2 at uhci0: USB revision 1.0
uhub2 at usb2 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb3 at uhci1: USB revision 1.0
uhub3 at usb3 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb4 at uhci2: USB revision 1.0
uhub4 at usb4 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb5 at uhci3: USB revision 1.0
uhub5 at usb5 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb6 at uhci4: USB revision 1.0
uhub6 at usb6 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb7 at uhci5: USB revision 1.0
uhub7 at usb7 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
isa0 at pcib0
isadma0 at isa0
pckbc0 at isa0 port 0x60/5 irq 1 irq 12
pckbd0 at pckbc0 (kbd slot)
wskbd0 at pckbd0: console keyboard, using wsdisplay0
pms0 at pckbc0 (aux slot)
wsmouse0 at pms0 mux 0
wsmouse1 at pms0 mux 0
pms0: Synaptics touchpad, firmware 7.2, 0x1c0b1 0xb40000
pcppi0 at isa0 port 0x61
spkr0 at pcppi0
npx0 at isa0 port 0xf0/16: reported by CPUID; using exception 16
uvideo0 at uhub1 port 6 configuration 1 interface 0 "Ricoh Company Ltd. Integrated Camera" rev 2.00/10.15 addr 2
video0 at uvideo0
uhidev0 at uhub5 port 1 configuration 1 interface 0 "Compx 2.4G Receiver" rev 1.10/10.01 addr 2
uhidev0: iclass 3/1
ukbd0 at uhidev0: 8 variable keys, 6 key codes
wskbd1 at ukbd0 mux 1
wskbd1: connecting to wsdisplay0
uhidev1 at uhub5 port 1 configuration 1 interface 1 "Compx 2.4G Receiver" rev 1.10/10.01 addr 2
uhidev1: iclass 3/1
ums0 at uhidev1: 5 buttons, Z and W dir
wsmouse2 at ums0 mux 0
uhidev2 at uhub5 port 1 configuration 1 interface 2 "Compx 2.4G Receiver" rev 1.10/10.01 addr 2
uhidev2: iclass 3/0, 3 report ids
uhid0 at uhidev2 reportid 2: input=1, output=0, feature=0
uhid1 at uhidev2 reportid 3: input=2, output=0, feature=0
vscsi0 at root
scsibus2 at vscsi0: 256 targets
softraid0 at root
scsibus3 at softraid0: 256 targets
root on sd0a (9f2e5b00dd763f4f.a) swap on sd0b dump on sd0b
#
Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2017
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GarryR View Post
...I have never needed to include
"boot" , just the -s as jggimi said all ways works for me as well.
The bootloader commands are defined in boot.conf(8). The full syntax of the boot command is "boot [[device:]image] - acds" but as you noted, Garry, the first command response will be assumed to be boot with the default device (hd0a) and kernel image (/bsd), allowing admins to get away with "-s" or one of the other options as our sole response. We can also use "bsd.rd" to load the RAMDISK kernel, or "any.other.kernel" to load /any.other.kernel if we choose.
Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2017
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philo_neo71 View Post
I redid an installation of OpenBSD,
I do not dare to do startx because it will crash
My laptop is a lenovo SL510.
From your dmesg:
Code:
deraadt@i386.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sy...ile/GENERIC.MP
cpu0: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9600 @ 2.80GHz ("GenuineIntel" 686-class) 2.80 GHz
cpu0: FPU,V86,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,P GE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE, SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,NXE,LONG,SSE3,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,SMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,SSE4.1,XS AVE,LAHF,PERF,SENSOR
real mem = 3048439808 (2907MB)
avail mem = 2975920128 (2838MB)
There is a better architecture choice. Your CPU is 64-bit capable, but you installed OpenBSD/i386. OpenBSD/i386 is 32-bit. OpenBSD/i386 is limited to 3GB of RAM. OpenBSD/i368 has far fewer CPU registers available, making programs less efficient than the same programs on 64-bit systems. 32-bit memory movements use half the memory bus, also impacting processing efficiency.

My first recommendation: use OpenBSD/amd64.

Code:
acpivideo0 at acpi0: VGA_
acpivideo1 at acpi0: GFX0
If I'm reading this correctly, this appears to be a Hybrid Video system, with both Intel and NVIDIA graphics cards. OpenBSD does not support Hybrid Video.

My second recommendation: Issue the command $ startx. Allow X to fail and return to a shell prompt. Obtain and post a copy of /var/log/Xorg.0.log. This will help us determine what X is seeing. If the system actually crashes, reboot and let the system run fsck(8) automatically, then obtain this log file.
Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2017
scottro's Avatar
scottro scottro is offline
Real Name: Scott Robbins
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 571
Default

One thing I've found with 6.2 and up is that with Intel cards, when one runs startx, you can get a black screen. In my case, I fixed it by creating an /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-intel.conf
Code:
Section "Device"
  Identifier "default device"
  Driver "intel"
EndSection
I don't know how common this issue is, google indicated that 6.2 fixed Intel problems for others, but there were some with my issue. In my case, it's a yoga2 hidpi laptop. I also have no idea how it would affect a hybrid Intel/NVida system.
Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2017
GarryR's Avatar
GarryR GarryR is offline
Real Name: Garry Ricketson
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Durango, Mx.
Posts: 297
Default

I had a similar problem, infact identical, when I tried to upgrade 6.1, to 6.2, and it was i386,
so then I also tried a fresh install, using 6.2 i386, and still, startx would not run,
Quote:
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi>>My first recommendation: use OpenBSD/amd64
When I tried 6.2 amd64, everything went well, startx worked, so I proceeded with installing my WM, etc,... It was so long ago, I had forgotten about that,...
This is part of my "dmesg",
Code:
cpu0 at mainbus0: apid 0 (boot processor)
cpu0: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz, 2992.94 MHz
cpu0: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,SSE3,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,SMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,SSE4.1,XSAVE,NXE,LONG,LAHF,PERF,SENSOR
cpu0: 6MB 64b/line 16-way L2 cache
Very Similar to the OP.s:
Code:
deraadt@i386.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sy...ile/GENERIC.MP
cpu0: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T9600 @ 2.80GHz ("GenuineIntel" 686-class) 2.80 GHz
cpu0: FPU,V86,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,P GE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFL
Note, when it was the i386 it said,
Code:
@ 2.80GHz
as well.
__________________
My best friends are parrots
Reply With Quote
Old 30th December 2017
shep shep is offline
Real Name: Scott
Rc.conf Instructor
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 1,191
Default

If the BSD de jour is OpenBSD, only older NVidia cards, are supported by nv(4). I do not believe that the older Chips were used with hybrid graphics.

Your easiest way around this would be to disable NVidia in the bios. Some Leveno laptops offer this option:
https://support.lenovo.com/us/en/solutions/migr-76476
Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2017
philo_neo71 philo_neo71 is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Default

well seen jggimi,
I install a distribution for AMD64, the Gnome session works but the desktop is not stable and loops on the session (login).
I am no error on the /var/log/Xorg.0.log.
but i have problems with daemons:
dbu_daemon (absent), avahi_daemon (failed) and toadd (absent)

for the configuration I applied the following parameters:
Quote:
echo 'multicast_host=YES' >>/etc/rc.conf.local
echo 'pkg_scripts="${pkg_scripts} dbus_daemon avahi_daemon toadd cupsd"' >>/etc/rc.conf.local
# pkg_add gnome
# rcctl disable xdm
# rcctl enable multicast messagebus avahi_daemon gdm
# reboot
Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2017
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,387
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by philo_neo71 View Post
... the Gnome session works but the desktop is not stable and loops on the session (login).
I am no error on the /var/log/Xorg.0.log....
If problems continue after you have corrected your provisioning errors noted below, please post the file here. Someone may see something in it you did not see.
Quote:
...but i have problems with daemons:
dbu_daemon (absent)...
I assume you mean you mean dbus_daemon. The dbus_daemon script was was renamed to messagebus for OpenBSD 5.8, in 2015.
Quote:
... avahi_daemon (failed) ...
See my comments below regarding /etc/rc.conf.local and the out-of-date guidance you are using.
Quote:
and toadd (absent)
The sysutils/toad port/package were removed for OpenBSD 6.2, in September of this year. It required kern.usermount capabilities which were removed from the OS.
Quote:
...for the configuration I applied the following parameters...
You have made several key provisioning errors because you are using out-of-date information.
  • The "multicast_host" provision you used is invalid. It was removed from OpenBSD in 2015, for release 5.9. This is why the avahi_daemon fails to start, because multicast networking has not been provisioned due to this error.
  • The "pkg_scripts" provision you used is invalid. The rc.conf files stopped being shell scripts and became parsed values back in 2014, for release 5.6.
  • I recommend you delete your damaged /etc/rc.conf.local file, and have it recreated by carefully following the guidance in the pkg-readme file for OpenBSD 6.2 that you failed to read and follow. All you needed for correct provisioning were the 3 rcctl(8) commands listed in the final section of the pkg-readme file, in the "Cheat Sheet" section. You will find this guide in /usr/local/share/doc/pkg-readmes/.
In summary, stop reading third party "how to" documents that are years out-of-date, and follow the correct provisioning guidance included with the Gnome package. Jasper Lievisse Adriaanse spent a lot of time writing it and spends time keeping it up-to-date. I believe Jasper would prefer if OpenBSD Gnome users actually read his document.
Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2017
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,387
Default

Ah, I told you to follow the pkg-readme file for Gnome in 2016:

http://daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=9948#post59580

Start learning from your own history, Philo. The same thing happened in 2015.

http://daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=9329#post56055

When you ask for this same information again and again in 2018, 2019, or 2020, I will not reply to your new threads.
Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2017
philo_neo71 philo_neo71 is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 256
Default

I went through all the links and it's me who wrote them, I must have a short memory!
so let's go to practice:
/etc/rc.conf.local
Quote:
multicast_host=YES
pkg_scripts=dbus_daemon avahi_daemon gdm
/etc/rc.conf
Quote:
do nothing
.xinitrc :
Quote:
exec gnome-session
I may have damaged programs like dbus_daemon avahi_daemon, I do not know too much!

Gnome not start but startx work fine !

Regards
philippe

Last edited by philo_neo71; 31st December 2017 at 12:56 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The unknown /etc/networks file J65nko Guides 5 22nd January 2010 03:38 AM
Startx executes as root, "startx:not found" as user Mr-Biscuit NetBSD Installation and Upgrading 4 27th May 2009 08:44 AM
root: unknown user roddierod FreeBSD General 9 28th April 2009 10:18 PM
Problem with lid switch Inspiron 1300 sysctl: unknown oid 'hw.acpi.video.lcd0.active' pax FreeBSD General 2 6th August 2008 11:49 AM
postfix + dovecot LDA: bounce, user unknown cbrace FreeBSD General 1 9th May 2008 05:19 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick