DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd November 2014
Port Guard

Question How to create a portable, bootable OpenBSD -NOT INSTALLER-?

I want to create a bootable OpenBSD on a Flash USB or portable hard-disk, BUT I want to access it from any computer; NO don't mean access over internet, I mean I have the flash with OpenBSD on it and can boot it up and work just fine on any other pc not only the one on which the installment occur.

something like a PERSISTENT live linux, I want a persistent live OpenBSD?

any ideas?

I am new to BSD, so please try to clarify your info/ideas/advice
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd November 2014
OpenBSD language porter

Install OpenBSD to the external drive like you would an internal drive.
Done.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd November 2014
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crypto333 View Post
I want to create a bootable OpenBSD on a Flash USB or portable hard-disk, BUT I want to access it from any computer; NO don't mean access over internet, I mean I have the flash with OpenBSD on it and can boot it up and work just fine on any other pc not only the one on which the installment occur.
Welcome!

As long as you move to a computer which is capable of booting from USB, what you propose is indeed possible. In fact, this is what we commonly suggest when people ask about compatible hardware -- simply install OpenBSD to a USB flash drive, & empirically test.

Section 14.17.3 of the official FAQ may give you additional information.
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd November 2014
Administrator

It is simple

Before you boot up the OpenBSD installer, insert your USB stick or drive. Then install OpenBSD to the USB stick or drive instead of your regular hard disk drive.

The tricky part is to know how OpenBSD "sees', or as which /dev/sd? device it detects your Flash USB drive.