DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading

FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading FreeBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2008
Port Guard

Default BIND as secondary for Windows DNS?

I'd like to setup a DNS server in my remote offices as a slave to my Windows 2003 AD DNS server. I have BIND setup as a slave and on the Windows 2003 name server I have it setup to send zone transfers to my FreeBSD name server. I'm using the FreeBSD name server as the DNS on my Windows Vista PC and I'm able to get to sites on the Internet, ping the local servers (all listed in the domain zone file), but I can't get tracert to find any of the other devices on my network. I also noticed that the SOA serial number is not incrementing on my zone file. How can I force a zone transfer and what log file do I need to monitor to see what's going on?
Go easy on me. I'm new to this OS!
thanks,
Carlton.
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
Port Guard

I found the log. Here is what I'm getting:

May 14 14:57:40 FreeBSD named[610]: transfer of '100.168.192.in-addr.arpa/IN' from 192.168.100.2#53: failed while receiving responses: REFUSED
May 14 15:08:14 FreeBSD named[610]: zone advocacyinc.org/IN: gc._msdcs.advocacyinc.org/A: bad owner name (check-names)
May 14 15:08:14 FreeBSD named[610]: zone advocacyinc.org/IN: gc._msdcs.advocacyinc.org/A: bad owner name (check-names)
May 14 15:08:14 FreeBSD named[610]: dumping master file: master/tmp-XA067EFjgx: open: permission denied
May 14 15:08:14 FreeBSD named[610]: transfer of 'advocacyinc.org/IN' from 192.168.100.2#53: failed while receiving responses: permission denied

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Carlton.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
Administrator

As far as I can see your Windows primary/master DNS server refuses to do a zone transfer to the FBSD bind box.
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th May 2008
Fdisk Soldier