DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd September 2008
Shell Scout

Thumbs up NFS your thoughts

So far I was using SAMBA for file sharing between my BSD desktop and other Windows/Mac on my LAN. I was thinking of moving to NFS because of better performance and more in the spirit of Unix . But I've few concerns about NFS.

1. File sharing - How can I mount NFS on windows, I assume it can be done easily on OSX.

2. I have few windows machine on the LAN of which I don't control. I would like to share a directory with them but don't want them to have access to any other directory.

As I have no prior experience with NFS, I needed some suggestions. Thanks
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd September 2008
Arp Constable

I was in a similar boat myself some months ago. NFS is fairly simple to work out and the most detailed how-to documentation comes from the old System Managers Manual, under OpenBSD this is located in /usr/share/doc/smm/; FreeBSD should be the same.

To mount NFS shares on Windows, I use Microsoft (Windows) Services For UNIX, aka SFU. Once you have it installed, you can use start -> all programs -> windows services for unix -> services for unix administration; to configure the NFS client and server. The main thing you probably will need to do, is setup a mapping between Windows user accounts and the ones on the NFS server.

To actually mount the share, open a cmd.exe, window, Korn Shell, or C-Shell session, and use the mount utility:

Code:
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

U:\Terry>mount vectra:/srv/nfs N:
N: is now successfully connected to vectra:/srv/nfs

The command completed successfully.

U:\Terry>dir /w N:\
 Volume in drive N has no label.
 Volume Serial Number is 0000-0013

Directory of N:\

[.]       [..]      [Backups] [Files]   [Terry]