DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd August 2010
Fdisk Soldier

Question OpenBSD Financial Situation

I'm asking since I have heard before about troubles with OpenBSD generating sufficient funds and I think it is a shame when so many servers use software from the team, especially OpenSSH. The first was in 2006:

http://www.undeadly.org/cgi?action=a...20060321034114

It also was mentioned on a HNNcast in Sep. 2009 ("OpenBSD in Financial Straits"):

http://www.hackernews.com/2009/09/12/hnncast091109/

I'm wondering if anyone knows specifics on the matter. In any case, I'm sure it would be great to get something going to help them out. I'm a college student myself but bought the 4.7 CDs and donated some extra hardware, and am hoping others also consider doing the same.
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd August 2010
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by rpindy View Post
I'm wondering if anyone knows specifics on the matter.
All any of the regulars here will know is what we read on misc@. Searching through the misc@ archives is your best bet if you are truly curious.

Of the major *BSD variants, OpenBSD is the smallest. At one time, Theo had a DARPA grant several years back, but this was revoked after he boldly stated some anti-military opinions. In general, the project gets by asking for specific donations from the user base when specific hardware is needed (just as some developers are asking for donations now to purchase some HP laptops which appear to implement suspend/resume outside of the ACPI specification...) or additional funds are needed for hackathon reasons (flying specific developers). This also follows the project's goals placing the developers in complete control not having to kowtow to any particular benefactor.