DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th July 2008
disappearedng disappearedng is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 128
Default boot0cfg or grub and mount (HARDDISK PROBLEM)

Hi everyone,
The following is what my fdisk editor shows under sysinstall
Code:
Disk name:      ad4                                    FDISK Partition Editor
DISK Geometry:  60801 cyls/255 heads/63 sectors = 976768065 sectors (476937MB)

Offset       Size(ST)        End     Name  PType       Desc  Subtype    Flags

         0         63         62        -     12     unused        0
        63   90188847   90188909    ad4s1      8    freebsd      165
  90188910  122865120  213054029    ad4s4      8    freebsd      165
 213054030  763714035  976768064    ad4s2      8    freebsd      165
 976768065       5103  976773167        -     12     unused        0
My freebsd Partition is located under ad4s4.
ad4s1 and ad4s2 are just empty partitions.

When I boot up, I get the following:
F1: FreeBSD
F2: FreeBSD
F4: FreeBSD

How do I disable both F1 and F2 in the boot menu? I tried using boot0cfg but failed miserably,
under man boot0cfg
Code:
To enable just slices 1 and 2 in the menu:
boot0cfg -m 0x3 ad0
So if I just want the boot menu to have just F4, is the following correct?
Code:
boot0cfg -m 0x1 ad4
or 
boot0cfg -m 0x8 ad4
2nd Problem
How do I mount ad4s1 and ad4s2 under /usr?
please look at what I did:
Code:
[disappearedng@ /]$ cd /usr
[disappearedng@ /usr]$ ls
X11R6   bin     compat  games   home    include lib     libdata libexec local   mount   obj     ports   sbin    share   src
[disappearedng@ /usr]$ cd mount/
[disappearedng@ /usr/mount]$ ls
350gb   50gb
[disappearedng@ /usr/mount]$ mount /dev/ad4
ad4     ad4s1   ad4s1c  ad4s2   ad4s2c  ad4s4   ad4s4a  ad4s4b  ad4s4c  ad4s4d  ad4s4e  ad4s4f  
[disappearedng@ /usr/mount]$ sudo mount /dev/ad4s1 50gb/
Password:
mount: /dev/ad4s1 : Invalid argument
[disappearedng@ /usr/mount]$ sudo mount /dev/ad4s2 350gb/
mount: /dev/ad4s2 : Invalid argument
[disappearedng@ /usr/mount]$
I looked up man mount and I just don't understand how this works.

In addition,
How do I get FreeBSD to automatically mount when the system starts??

Thx
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th July 2008
disappearedng disappearedng is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 128
Default

Anyone????
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th July 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 589
Default

Partitions consist of slices and you need to mount them....
For example, if ad4s4 is your FreeBSD partition, then
you need to mount ad4s4a under /
EDIT: ad4s4b will be swap
and ad4s4d to whatever is last one you have will be /usr /var and others.... depends on how you configured system

here;s my fstab:
  • # Device Mountpoint FStype Options Dump Pass#
    /dev/ad4s1b none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/ad4s1a / ufs rw 1 1
    /dev/ad4s2d /home ufs rw 2 2
    /dev/ad4s1e /tmp ufs rw 2 2
    /dev/ad4s1f /usr ufs rw 2 2
    /dev/ad4s1d /var ufs rw 2 2
    /dev/acd0 /cdrom cd9660 ro,noauto 0 0
    /dev/acd0 /home/killasmurf/DVD cd9660 ro,noauto 0 0


what filesystems are ad4s1 and ad4s2??
and where exactly you'd like them to be mounted?



basically
mount /dev/ad4s1d /usr/somedir
mount /dev/ad4s1e /usr/some_other_dir
mount /dev/ad4s1f /usr/some_other_dir_

Last edited by graudeejs; 10th July 2008 at 07:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th July 2008
lvlamb's Avatar
lvlamb lvlamb is offline
Real Name: Louis V. Lambrecht
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .be
Posts: 221
Default

sysinstall
diable the boot manager
fdisk /dev/ads4
toggle the slice to be bootable
__________________
da more I know I know I know nuttin'
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th July 2008
disappearedng disappearedng is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 128
Default

Code:
Disk: ad4       Partition name: ad4s1   Free: 90188847 blocks (44037MB)
Disk: ad4       Partition name: ad4s4   Free: 0 blocks (0MB)
Disk: ad4       Partition name: ad4s2   Free: 763714035 blocks (364GB)

Part      Mount          Size Newfs   Part      Mount          Size Newfs
----      -----          ---- -----   ----      -----          ---- -----
ad4s4a    <none>        512MB *
ad4s4b    swap         4046MB SWAP
ad4s4d    <none>       3047MB *      
ad4s4e    <none>        512MB *
ad4s4f    <none>      51875MB *
Why is it that under fdisk label, under "mount", ad4s4a - ad4s4f does not show anything?


Code:
[disappearedng@ /usr/home/disappearedng]$ ls /dev/ad*
/dev/ad4	/dev/ad4s2	/dev/ad4s4a	/dev/ad4s4d
/dev/ad4s1	/dev/ad4s2c	/dev/ad4s4b	/dev/ad4s4e
/dev/ad4s1c	/dev/ad4s4	/dev/ad4s4c	/dev/ad4s4f
How do I mount?
1) Do I have to create a slice first?
2) If so, what utilities should I be using?
3) if not, do i just mount /dev/ad4s1?
4) Why am I getting this errror?
Code:
[disappearedng@ /usr/home/disappearedng]$ sudo mount  /dev/ad4s1c /usr/mount/50gb/
mount: /dev/ad4s1c : Invalid argument
[disappearedng@ /usr/home/disappearedng]$ sudo mount  /dev/ad4s1 /usr/mount/50gb/
mount: /dev/ad4s1 : Invalid argument
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th July 2008
disappearedng disappearedng is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 128
Default

Quote:
what filesystems are ad4s1 and ad4s2??
and where exactly you'd like them to be mounted?
ad4s1 is a 50 gb partition that I created (empty) I have yet to create slice on it. Can mount just mount it without slicing this partition?
btw ad4s2 is a 350 gb empty partition that I partitioned by deleting the original linux partition that I had.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th July 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 589
Default

Nou nead to make slices on them, and then make File system.
Only then you can mount

you can only mount (for example) /dev/ad5s1 somewhere if there;s other than UFS filesystem on it (NTFS, FAT.....)

if you will make 1 huge slice on each of them, then you will need to mount
/dev/ad4sXd
Where X is partition


you can make slices with bsdlabel, if i'm correct, but i don't remember how to use it from console
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th July 2008
ephemera's Avatar
ephemera ephemera is offline
Knuth's homeboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 537
Default

> How do I disable both F1 and F2 in the boot menu?

by the given logic use boot0cfg -m 0x8 ad4

but IMO modifying boot0 like this is in bad taste.

boot0 is an elegant program that works automatically, shows bootable partitions, remembers the last booted partition, never requires a reinstallation (unless you wipe it from disk) and it does this using less than 446 bytes of memory!

did you create a filesystem on ad4s1?
# newfs -U ad4s1
# mount /dev/ad4s1 /mnt

Last edited by ephemera; 10th July 2008 at 06:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th July 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 589
Default

http://www2.lv.freebsd.org/doc/en_US...t-unmount.html

Also you may want to read this
http://www2.lv.freebsd.org/doc/en_US...anization.html
Reply With Quote
Old 10th July 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 589
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ephemera View Post
> How do I disable both F1 and F2 in the boot menu?

by the given logic use boot0cfg -m 0x8 ad4

but IMO modifying boot0 like this is in bad taste.

boot0 is an elegant program that works automatically, shows bootable partitions, remembers the last booted partition, never requires a reinstallation (unless you wipe it from disk) and it does this using less than 446 bytes of memory!
I suppose, you need to remove bootable bits from whatever partitions they are
If i was you, i would do this under some linux live cd... with fdisk

(that is my opinion, i'm just guessing, from text you just wrote)

EDIT: Don't forget to leave bootable flag for FreeBSD partition

Last edited by graudeejs; 10th July 2008 at 07:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GRUB on previous Linux installation indiocolifa FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 2 26th March 2009 06:50 AM
Having trouble adding 7.0 to GRUB 0.97 Arenlor FreeBSD General 4 26th June 2008 01:02 AM
Harddisk problem. disappearedng FreeBSD General 5 18th June 2008 08:21 PM
Mounting External harddisk rex FreeBSD General 1 3rd June 2008 09:34 PM
mount on boot problem topche FreeBSD General 7 11th May 2008 04:07 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick