DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > Programming

Programming C, bash, Python, Perl, PHP, Java, you name it.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th August 2008
Spam Deminer

Default C and file input/output

Not sure if uni work's assistance is allowed here, pls advise me if itsnt. Anyway, Im studying C and atm, I have problem dealing with file input/output. Have been trying hard to work out, but no luck so far

Im given a file with the format like this:

Code:
A, 1, B
B, 3, D, E, F
C, 1, D
D, 1, F
And here is the diagram:

So, basically it can be interpreted like this:

A depends on 1 other class : B
B depends on 3 other classes: D, E, F

Im thinking about struct and array, but not sure if its the right method. Also, I have no idea how to read the file and write to memory with such format.

Can you give me a hint on it? I appreciate any input

Last edited by 18Googol2; 20th August 2008 at 07:34 AM.
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th August 2008
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by 18Googol2 View Post
Im thinking about struct and array, but not sure if its the right method. Also, I have no idea how to read the file and write to memory with such format.
There is no single right answer. Everything in programming is a compromise attempting to balance corporate bureaucracy, hardware constraints, time constraints, & considering the poor slob who gets to inherit your code once you leave the project or company.

That said, the format described dictates an easy representation:
  • The first character read names the node itself.
  • The next value read defines the number of dependencies/adjacencies...
  • ...followed by an enumeration of all the dependencies'/adjacencies' names.