DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Off-Topic Everything else.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 7th June 2008
New User

Default Best fit BSD for legacy system

Hello,

I have been trying to find out which BSD to learn and hoped these forums could help.

First, I have little to no modern experience outside Windows OS's. I have been testing linux for about a month and sometimes use my girlfriends macbook (OS 9) casually.

I have a Pentium 2 or 3, with 128mb RAM. The HDD is 20gb so there are no worries there.

I was wondering which BSD would be a good introduction (i.e. easy on a newbie) and that won't push the system. I will also be using a cross-over cable to share internet with either a XP or Linux (Xubuntu) computer.

Any help is greatly appreciated.
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 7th June 2008
Spam Deminer

You should try FreeBSD. It has binary and source installation, so you won't need to compile anything. It's fairly easy to use and setup and won't push the system. By the way, there's a pretty big difference in performance between the later Pentium IIIs and any Pentium II. You should know what you have that way you'll know the limit better. Pentium II or III could mean two different things because the early Pentium IIIs performed similarly to the latest Pentium IIs while the later Pentium IIIs performed quite a bit better than the earliest Pentium IIIs.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th June 2008
Arp Constable

Just avoid heavy weight stuff such as KDE, Gnome, Mozilla, and GNU Emacs and it shouldn't matter very much.

A Pentium III 500Mhz (Katmai) isn't to bad for running the *BSDs btw.

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 8th June 2008
Fdisk Soldier