DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd February 2015
jkl jkl is offline
dat guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 98
Default OpenBSD 5.6 runs into a panic on boot [virtio]

As described in another thread, I planned to give OpenBSD a try as my all-day web/mail/aMule server.

I only made one change: I increased the size of the last partition from 300 to 448 GiB to not leave space unused. While the installation went through, every reboot greets me with this tiny whatever:



I can't progress any further, I can't get into the system. Any clues?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd February 2015
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,597
Default

Have you tried reinstalling without increasing the size of the last partition?
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd February 2015
jkl jkl is offline
dat guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Yes, it works when I leave the partition size untouched. That still costs me 180 GiB which is too much IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd February 2015
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,597
Default

You can always create a separate partition for those 180 GiB and mount it somewhere in your file system.

Could you post the dmesg output of the system with the partition size untouched?
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd February 2015
jkl jkl is offline
dat guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Sure:

Code:
OpenBSD 5.6 (GENERIC.MP) #333: Fri Aug  8 00:20:21 MDT 2014
    deraadt@amd64.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sys/arch/amd64/compile/GENERIC.MP
real mem = 8472485888 (8079MB)
avail mem = 8238166016 (7856MB)
mpath0 at root
scsibus0 at mpath0: 256 targets
mainbus0 at root
bios0 at mainbus0: SMBIOS rev. 2.4 @ 0xfd950 (13 entries)
bios0: vendor Bochs version "Bochs" date 01/01/2007
bios0: Bochs Bochs
acpi0 at bios0: rev 0
acpi0: sleep states S3 S4 S5
acpi0: tables DSDT FACP SSDT APIC HPET SSDT
acpi0: wakeup devices
acpitimer0 at acpi0: 3579545 Hz, 24 bits
acpimadt0 at acpi0 addr 0xfee00000: PC-AT compat
cpu0 at mainbus0: apid 0 (boot processor)
cpu0: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 0 @ 2.00GHz, 2000.36 MHz
cpu0: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,SSE3,PCLMUL,SSSE3,CX16,SSE4.1,SSE4.2,x2APIC,POPCNT,AES,XSAVE,AVX,NXE,PAGE1GB,LONG,LAHF
cpu0: 64KB 64b/line 2-way I-cache, 64KB 64b/line 2-way D-cache, 512KB 64b/line 16-way L2 cache
cpu0: ITLB 255 4KB entries direct-mapped, 255 4MB entries direct-mapped
cpu0: DTLB 255 4KB entries direct-mapped, 255 4MB entries direct-mapped
cpu0: smt 0, core 0, package 0
mtrr: Pentium Pro MTRR support, 8 var ranges, 88 fixed ranges
cpu0: apic clock running at 999MHz
cpu1 at mainbus0: apid 1 (application processor)
cpu1: Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2620 0 @ 2.00GHz, 2000.19 MHz
cpu1: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,SSE3,PCLMUL,SSSE3,CX16,SSE4.1,SSE4.2,x2APIC,POPCNT,AES,XSAVE,AVX,NXE,PAGE1GB,LONG,LAHF
cpu1: 64KB 64b/line 2-way I-cache, 64KB 64b/line 2-way D-cache, 512KB 64b/line 16-way L2 cache
cpu1: ITLB 255 4KB entries direct-mapped, 255 4MB entries direct-mapped
cpu1: DTLB 255 4KB entries direct-mapped, 255 4MB entries direct-mapped
cpu1: smt 0, core 0, package 1
ioapic0 at mainbus0: apid 2 pa 0xfec00000, version 11, 24 pins
ioapic0: misconfigured as apic 0, remapped to apid 2
acpihpet0 at acpi0: 100000000 Hz
acpiprt0 at acpi0: bus 0 (PCI0)
acpicpu0 at acpi0
acpicpu1 at acpi0
pci0 at mainbus0 bus 0
pchb0 at pci0 dev 0 function 0 "Intel 82441FX" rev 0x02
pcib0 at pci0 dev 1 function 0 "Intel 82371SB ISA" rev 0x00
pciide0 at pci0 dev 1 function 1 "Intel 82371SB IDE" rev 0x00: DMA, channel 0 wired to compatibility, channel 1 wired to compatibility
pciide0: channel 0 disabled (no drives)
atapiscsi0 at pciide0 channel 1 drive 0
scsibus1 at atapiscsi0: 2 targets
cd0 at scsibus1 targ 0 lun 0: <QEMU, QEMU DVD-ROM, 1.1.> ATAPI 5/cdrom removable
cd0(pciide0:1:0): using PIO mode 4, DMA mode 2
uhci0 at pci0 dev 1 function 2 "Intel 82371SB USB" rev 0x01: apic 2 int 11
piixpm0 at pci0 dev 1 function 3 "Intel 82371AB Power" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 10
iic0 at piixpm0
iic0: addr 0x18 00=00 01=00 02=00 03=00 04=00 05=00 06=00 07=00 08=00 words 00=0000 01=0000 02=0000 03=0000 04=0000 05=0000 06=0000 07=0000
iic0: addr 0x1a 00=00 01=00 02=00 03=00 04=00 05=00 06=00 07=00 08=00 words 00=0000 01=0000 02=0000 03=0000 04=0000 05=0000 06=0000 07=0000
iic0: addr 0x29 00=00 01=00 02=00 03=00 04=00 05=00 06=00 07=00 08=00 words 00=0000 01=0000 02=0000 03=0000 04=0000 05=0000 06=0000 07=0000
iic0: addr 0x2b 00=00 01=00 02=00 03=00 04=00 05=00 06=00 07=00 08=00 words 00=0000 01=0000 02=0000 03=0000 04=0000 05=0000 06=0000 07=0000
iic0: addr 0x4c 00=00 01=00 02=00 03=00 04=00 05=00 06=00 07=00 08=00 words 00=0000 01=0000 02=0000 03=0000 04=0000 05=0000 06=0000 07=0000
iic0: addr 0x4e 00=00 01=00 02=00 03=00 04=00 05=00 06=00 07=00 08=00 words 00=0000 01=0000 02=0000 03=0000 04=0000 05=0000 06=0000 07=0000
vga1 at pci0 dev 2 function 0 "Cirrus Logic CL-GD5446" rev 0x00
wsdisplay0 at vga1 mux 1: console (80x25, vt100 emulation)
wsdisplay0: screen 1-5 added (80x25, vt100 emulation)
em0 at pci0 dev 3 function 0 "Intel 82540EM" rev 0x03: apic 2 int 11, address 52:54:fb:39:ac:98
virtio0 at pci0 dev 4 function 0 "Qumranet Virtio Storage" rev 0x00: Virtio Block Device
vioblk0 at virtio0
scsibus2 at vioblk0: 2 targets
sd0 at scsibus2 targ 0 lun 0: <VirtIO, Block Device, > SCSI3 0/direct fixed
sd0: 499712MB, 512 bytes/sector, 1023410176 sectors
virtio0: apic 2 int 11
virtio1 at pci0 dev 5 function 0 "Qumranet Virtio Memory" rev 0x00: Virtio Memory Balloon Device
viomb0 at virtio1
virtio1: apic 2 int 10
isa0 at pcib0
isadma0 at isa0
com0 at isa0 port 0x3f8/8 irq 4: ns16550a, 16 byte fifo
pckbc0 at isa0 port 0x60/5
pckbd0 at pckbc0 (kbd slot)
pckbc0: using irq 1 for kbd slot
wskbd0 at pckbd0: console keyboard, using wsdisplay0
pms0 at pckbc0 (aux slot)
pckbc0: using irq 12 for aux slot
wsmouse0 at pms0 mux 0
pcppi0 at isa0 port 0x61
spkr0 at pcppi0
fdc0 at isa0 port 0x3f0/6 irq 6 drq 2
fd0 at fdc0 drive 0: density unknown
fd1 at fdc0 drive 1: density unknown
usb0 at uhci0: USB revision 1.0
uhub0 at usb0 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
nvram: invalid checksum
uhidev0 at uhub0 port 1 configuration 1 interface 0 "QEMU 1.1.2 QEMU USB Tablet" rev 1.00/0.00 addr 2
uhidev0: iclass 3/0
uhid0 at uhidev0: input=6, output=0, feature=0
vscsi0 at root
scsibus3 at vscsi0: 256 targets
softraid0 at root
scsibus4 at softraid0: 256 targets
root on sd0a (d533a7fb53ad434d.a) swap on sd0b dump on sd0b
WARNING: /mnt was not properly unmounted
clock: unknown CMOS layout
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd February 2015
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,597
Default

It could be that running OpenBSD in a VM causes the panic. At this moment I have not the resources to check that out

Have you you seen 4.8 - How should I partition my disk?.
Also instructive is the algorithm for the automatic partitioning that is used by disklabel(1):
Quote:
AUTOMATIC DISK ALLOCATION
The -A option and the editor command A automatically create a disklabel with a set of partitions suitable for a majority of OpenBSD installations. Any existing OpenBSD disklabel on the disk is ignored, but native partitions that would normally be spoofed are preserved in the disklabel, and are not modified during the allocation process.
Disk size determines the set of partitions which are created. Each partition is allocated space between a specified minimum and maximum. Each partition is allocated its minimum and remaining space is split between the partitions up to their maximum allowed space, which is a fixed percentage. Space left after all partitions have reached their maximum size is left unallocated. The sizes below are approximations, and may vary from architecture to architecture.

Code:
Disks > 7 Gigabytes

/		 5% of disk.  80M – 1G 
swap		 5% of disk.  80M – 2x max physical memory 
/tmp		 8% of disk. 120M – 4G 
/var		13% of disk.  80M – 2x size of crash dump 
/usr		 5% of disk. 900M – 2G 
/usr/X11R6	 3% of disk. 512M – 1G 
/usr/local	10% of disk.   2G – 10G 
/usr/src	 2% of disk.   1G – 2G 
/usr/obj	 4% of disk. 1.3G – 2G 
/home		45% of disk.   1G – 300G
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd February 2015
jkl jkl is offline
dat guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Yes, but what if I want to have a larger /home?

Interestingly, the machine boots fine when I growfs the last partition after booting once in "auto layout". Confusing.

Just in case, I filed a bug report to OpenBSD and hope they won't make jokes about me.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd February 2015
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,597
Default

In http://daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=8788#post52392 Oko posted a disk layout with a home partition of 829 GB
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd February 2015
jkl jkl is offline
dat guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Of course - that requires manual work though. On virtio guests, obviously, also strong nerves.
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2015
albator albator is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 93
Default

How did you grow your home partition?
Because there is an error when the machine reboots:
Code:
WARNING: /mnt was not properly unmounted
If you used growfs(8), are you aware of this?
DESCRIPTION
The growfs utility extends the newfs(8) program. Before starting growfs,
the partition must be set to a larger size using disklabel(8).


Instead, during the installation process: (E)dit auto layout.
> d k (to delete the /home partition)
> a k (to add a new one)
offset: [????] ENTER
size: [????] ENTER (should automagically take all the room available)
FS type: [4.2BSD] ENTER
mount point: [none] /home
> q (quit & save changes)
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2015
jkl jkl is offline
dat guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 98
Default

I growed it after the reboot where the warning appeared, so that's probably not related.

I tried

> c k

(just editing the layout instead of building my own one) which led to the panic. Does it make such a huge difference to use c instead of d/a?
Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2015
albator albator is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 93
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkl View Post
Does it make such a huge difference to use c instead of d/a?
I don't think so, but you can try.

You can also do an installation without changing anything. After rebooting unmount your /home partition, use disklabel -E sd0 to change its size, increase the FS with growfs then check whether you can mount/umount it or not.
Try this with different sizes until mounting and unmounting works, then you should be safe to reboot.

Note: Post 13 was finished before post 12

Last edited by albator; 4th February 2015 at 01:09 AM. Reason: Post 13 was finished before post 12
Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2015
jkl jkl is offline
dat guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 98
Default

^ That's what I (successfully) did, and everything works flawlessly even with full size. I'm slightly confused.
Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2015
albator albator is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 93
Default

I never change the size of partitions during the installation process. I always delete them to create new ones.
I guess the numbers you entered to full the partition are slightly different than those chosen by the installer when automatically fulling a new partition.

Last edited by albator; 4th February 2015 at 01:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2015
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,093
Default

That panic occurs because of an invalid vnode type. (See sys/ufs/ffs/ffs_vnops.c for details.) I suspect an error in procedure, but how / what / where isn't clear to me.
Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2015
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,597
Default

Maybe it has something to do with virtual disk format of the VM. From the Linux KVM virt-install man page:

Code:
sparse
     whether to skip fully allocating newly created storage. Value is 'true' or 'false'.
     Default is 'true' (do not fully allocate).

     The initial time taken to fully-allocate the guest virtual disk (sparse=false) will be
     usually by balanced by faster install times inside the guest. Thus use of this option is
     recommended to ensure consistently high performance and to avoid I/O errors in the guest
     should the host filesystem fill up.
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2015
jkl jkl is offline
dat guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Can I fix this on the client-side?
Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2015
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 7,093
Default

Both of these possible options would require backup and restore, but to solve this from the host would require that also.
  • It's possible a reformatting of the partition with newfs(8) would solve the problem.
  • It may require zeroing the partition with something such as # dd if=/dev/zero bs=32k of=/dev/rsd0k before newfs(8) is used, which would allocate all host blocks for the partition.

Last edited by jggimi; 4th February 2015 at 02:32 PM. Reason: typo, clarity
Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2015
jkl jkl is offline
dat guy
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Well, for now it "works". I just don't know if it will last.
Thanks for the insight.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Raspberry Pi-like Box That Runs OpenBSD? raindog308 General Hardware 3 31st August 2013 08:37 AM
Virtio Support :: OpenBSD liquidshane OpenBSD General 3 23rd June 2012 10:13 PM
OBSD 4.9 Frustrating kernel panic on boot edwebdev OpenBSD General 1 16th July 2011 09:37 PM
If It Runs OpenBSD, It Has To Be Important Oliver_H OpenBSD General 0 25th October 2010 07:37 PM
FBSD 7 cd boot-only, kernel panic cysquatch FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 9 18th July 2008 01:49 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick