DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Packages and Ports

OpenBSD Packages and Ports Installation and upgrading of packages and ports on OpenBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st August 2011
Port Guard

Default Writing a guitar tuner/metronome

So heres the situation, I love OpenBSD but theres no guitar tuner or metronome for it. I'm not a programmer but I understand some very basic C, and have a couple books. I thought it would be fun to try to write a guitar tuner and a metronome but I'm unsure of where to begin. As far as I know, I would have to use sndio for sound input and output, but is that all I would need? If so, where would I find resources on programming for it? I found one web page on caoua.org which led me to a couple man pages as well, but I feel its too complex for a beginner. Am I trying something too difficult for myself or is there a manual or some kind of resource aimed at someone like myself?
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st August 2011
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by claytonl View Post
S...but theres no guitar tuner or metronome for it.
I don't quite know what kind of functionality you are expecting in a tuner, but a metronome application can be found in ports:

http://www.openbsd.org/cgi-bin/cvswe...e?annotate=1.2

Unfortunately, the OpenPorts site is down, so I cannot provide a link with more readable information.
Quote:
I'm not a programmer but I understand some very basic C, and have a couple books.
My suggestion would be to:
  • look at what applications can be found in the ports audio branch:

http://www.openbsd.org/cgi-bin/cvsweb/ports/audio/

...& select something which appeals to your interests.
  • Install the ports tree, & build the application(s). Study the source code that is downloaded.
Quote:
Am I trying something too difficult for myself or is there a manual or some kind of resource aimed at someone like myself?