DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
DuneyWall DuneyWall is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 7
Default Stuck on CD installation

Hi dear Community,

I have a problem while installing OpenBSD on a Laptop.(My first BSD-Installation)


Laptop: Acer 420 DLC

Processor: Intel Celeron 1,7 GHz
Graphics: ATI Mobility Radeon 7500 32MB
RAM: 256 MB
HDD: 20 GB


These OS' worked fine:
- Windows XP
- Minix3
- Debian
- antiX

Bootloader is GRUB.


So, the error Message was:
npx0 at isa0 port 0xf0/16: reported by cpuid: using exception 16

It hangs there.

I found this thread: http://daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=10269 with the same issue.

So I tried to solve the problem like there:

boot> boot -c
UKC> verbose
UKC> quit

Last line where it hangs was: >>> probing for pcic2 failed

Additional to that I formatted the HDD with gparted in FAT32, but that didn't work either.


I never noticed any hardware problems...


I attached two pictures:

First: Hanging at npx0 at isa0 port 0xf0/16: reported by cpuid: using exception 16
Second: After verbose boot


Oh, and the install media was the i386 install63.iso (should be the right .iso)

Tested OpenBSD in VirtualBox on another Computer and it hangs there for a few seconds on the same line (npx0 at isa0 port 0xf0/16: reported by cpuid: using exception 16) but then it proceeds to installation without problems.


Any ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: png OpenBSD_Install_01_resized.png (643.4 KB, 26 views)
File Type: png OpenBSD_Install_02_resized.png (394.9 KB, 13 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
GarryR's Avatar
GarryR GarryR is offline
Real Name: Garry Ricketson
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Durango, Mx.
Posts: 297
Default

Quote:
Oh, and the install media was the i386 install63.iso (should be the right .iso)
That is ok, but you might want to try the current , recent 6.4 release and see if it works better.
Quote:
https://www.openbsd.org/ The current release is OpenBSD 6.4, released Oct 18, 2018.
https://www.openbsd.org/64.html
=======edited====
I notice the link you show, was a thread I started, and as you can see after several tries it did install, but never really did figure out why it hung like that to start with. The hardware seems ok , but on the other hand, on different hardware, the same install CD, did not hang at all.
__________________
My best friends are parrots

Last edited by GarryR; 2 Weeks Ago at 06:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
DuneyWall DuneyWall is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 7
Default

Thank you, I'll try 6.4 and see what happens.
Could take a while because of my slow internet connection

I will report back.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 332
Default

You might want to try the amd64 release and see if there is a difference.
It's worth a try.

--------------------------
Also, you can check your BIOS settings, and see if everything is ok.

npx0 is the interface to the floating point math, either the hardware co-processor or the software math emulator.
Older i386 FPUs used interrupt 13, newer FPUs are able to use exception 16.

I don't know if it's possible to change anything in the BIOS for that, but it could worth taking a look.

--------------------------
Or it could be a RAM issue. I mean, a physical issue.
How many RAM is available at boot ?
When booting, you can see the real mem and the avail mem.
real mem should be 256 MB, avail mem could be much lower.
__________________
The secret of wisdom is not wisdom itself, it's the road that leads us there.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
DuneyWall DuneyWall is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 7
Default

I don't think there is anything I could change in the BIOS, the only thing I ever changed was the boot-order.

________

On the 6.4 i386:

avail mem is 241 MB

and stuck on the same as above.

________

On the 6.4 amd64:

Stuck on:
entrypoint 0x1000158 (picture is attached)
Attached Images
File Type: png OpenBSD_Install_03_resized.png (286.3 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 332
Default

All right, I thought your laptop was younger, but it seems to be a 2002 laptop.
It should look like this : http://www.shadowcat45.homepage.t-online.de/

If so, the Celeron 1.7 is 32 bits only, my bad !

Now, a '02 laptop is an old one, the FPU should definitively be designed for interrupt 13, not exception 16.
That's why the boot process crashes, the npx0 interface is set to exception 16, so it cannot access your FPU, and the FPU is NOT an option.

I think the solution is to indicate to the boot process to use int 13 and not exc 16.

But I'm sorry, I don't know how-to.
__________________
The secret of wisdom is not wisdom itself, it's the road that leads us there.

Last edited by LeFrettchen; 1 Week Ago at 12:03 AM. Reason: Clarity
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
fvgit's Avatar
fvgit fvgit is offline
Real Name: Tempvs fvgit
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: perl -MMIME::Base64 -le 'print decode_base64("SGVyZSBiZSBkcmFnb25zC")'
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeFrettchen View Post
I think the solution is to indicate to the boot process to use int 13 and not exc 16.

But I'm sorry, I don't know how-to.
Isn't this detailed in the EXAMPLES section of the boot_config(8) manpage?
Something like
Code:
>> OpenBSD/i386 BOOT 3.26
boot> boot -c
(...)
UKC>find npx
(...)
UKC>change npx
find npx should show the options and if it contains the exception 16 value it should be possible to modify it with the UKC>change command following the y/n dialog as per the manpage.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,346
Default

I'm guessing that the npx(4) driver is not the problem, since the verbose output shows the kernel getting past that point.


The probe of devices "failed" means the devices do not exist. pcic2 would be the third PCMCIA card on a motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
fvgit's Avatar
fvgit fvgit is offline
Real Name: Tempvs fvgit
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: perl -MMIME::Base64 -le 'print decode_base64("SGVyZSBiZSBkcmFnb25zC")'
Posts: 149
Default

Good point. But don't the two verbose output lines for pcic2 then indicate that the scanning for pcic2 completed? From my limited perspective the problem would be whatever comes next afterwards.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,346
Default

I perceive it the same way. Determining what comes next requires review of kernel source. I'm at $DAYJOB, and won't have time to do so today.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
DuneyWall DuneyWall is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 7
Default

Hi,

here is some output:

find npx:

195 npx0 at isa0 port 0xf0 size 0 iomem -1 iosiz 0 irq 13 drq -1 drq2 -1 flags 0x0


Thanks for your thoughts.
Do you need additional info?
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,346
Default

As noted above, your verbose boot gets past the npx(4) driver probe.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jggimi View Post
I'm guessing that the npx(4) driver is not the problem, since the verbose output shows the kernel getting past that point.
Oops, right ! I missed that one...

So, according to the output, the boot hangs after :
- cd0
- Intel 82801CAM (network + audio + USB)
- pci2
- npx

So, it could hang because of :
- RAM,
- Radeon,
- synaptics Touchpad,
- IEEE1394 TSB43AB22/A,
- Conexant SoftModem,
- ACPI / APM.

I think RAM should be ok, the Radeon should also be ok, and since the synaptics touchpad works very well on my ThinkPad, I would say it's ok.

So now, I would suspect a WMI/ACPI issue.
Could be worth trying to disable ACPI when booting, and see...
__________________
The secret of wisdom is not wisdom itself, it's the road that leads us there.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
DuneyWall DuneyWall is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 7
Default

@jggimi:
Sorry, I thought the output could help.

@LeFrettchen:
Yay, I typed "disable acpi" on the UKC> prompt and now it works.


@all:
Thank you very much
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,346
Default

Glad you got it working.

Please note: ACPI is used for power management, particularly cooling, which is extremely important for laptops. However, on i386 it is possible that the older technology APM is available on the laptop if APCI is disabled. Review your dmesg(8) output, and look to see if one of the dmesg lines states something similar to "apm0 at bios0 flags 0x0000". If so, then APM is available and in use on your laptop.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 332
Default

Cool ! Literally !
__________________
The secret of wisdom is not wisdom itself, it's the road that leads us there.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
DuneyWall DuneyWall is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 7
Default

Hm ..., didn't found anything about APM in the dmesg output.
But if I don't run anything with heavy CPU usage, it should be fine?

Here is the complete dmesg output:

Code:
OpenBSD 6.4 (GENERIC) #926: Thu Oct 11 13:43:06 MDT 2018
    deraadt@i386.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sys/arch/i386/compile/GENERIC
real mem  = 266813440 (254MB)
avail mem = 246902784 (235MB)
User Kernel Config
UKC> disable acpi
519 acpi0 disabled
UKC> quit
Continuing...
mpath0 at root
scsibus0 at mpath0: 256 targets
mainbus0 at root
bios0 at mainbus0: date 10/18/02, BIOS32 rev. 0 @ 0xfd790, SMBIOS rev. 2.31 @ 0xdb810 (28 entries)
bios0: vendor PHOENIX BIOS version "V1.03C" date 10/18/2002
bios0: Acer TravelMate 420
acpi at bios0 function 0x0 not configured
pcibios0 at bios0: rev 2.1 @ 0xfd790/0x870
pcibios0: PCI IRQ Routing Table rev 1.0 @ 0xfdf30/176 (9 entries)
pcibios0: PCI Interrupt Router at 000:31:0 ("Intel 82371FB ISA" rev 0x00)
pcibios0: PCI bus #3 is the last bus
bios0: ROM list: 0xc0000/0xf000 0xcf000/0x1000 0xdb800/0x800! 0xdc000/0x4000!
cpu0 at mainbus0: (uniprocessor)
cpu0: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1.70GHz ("GenuineIntel" 686-class) 1.70 GHz, 0f-01-03
cpu0: FPU,V86,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PERF,MELTDOWN
mtrr: Pentium Pro MTRR support, 8 var ranges, 88 fixed ranges
pci0 at mainbus0 bus 0: configuration mode 1 (bios)
0:31:1: mem address conflict 0xff00000/0x400
pchb0 at pci0 dev 0 function 0 "Intel 82845 Host" rev 0x04
intelagp0 at pchb0
agp0 at intelagp0: aperture at 0xec000000, size 0x4000000
ppb0 at pci0 dev 1 function 0 "Intel 82845 AGP" rev 0x04
pci1 at ppb0 bus 1
radeondrm0 at pci1 dev 0 function 0 "ATI Radeon Mobility M7" rev 0x00
drm0 at radeondrm0
radeondrm0: irq 9
uhci0 at pci0 dev 29 function 0 "Intel 82801CA/CAM USB" rev 0x02: irq 9
uhci1 at pci0 dev 29 function 1 "Intel 82801CA/CAM USB" rev 0x02: irq 9
uhci2 at pci0 dev 29 function 2 "Intel 82801CA/CAM USB" rev 0x02: irq 9
ppb1 at pci0 dev 30 function 0 "Intel 82801BAM Hub-to-PCI" rev 0x42
pci2 at ppb1 bus 2
2:4:0: mem address conflict 0xff01000/0x1000
"TI TSB43AB22 FireWire" rev 0x00 at pci2 dev 0 function 0 not configured
cbb0 at pci2 dev 4 function 0 "O2 Micro OZ69[17]2 CardBus" rev 0x00: irq 9
fxp0 at pci2 dev 8 function 0 "Intel PRO/100 VE" rev 0x42, i82562: irq 9, address 00:02:3f:b1:16:a4
inphy0 at fxp0 phy 1: i82562ET 10/100 PHY, rev. 0
cardslot0 at cbb0 slot 0 flags 0
cardbus0 at cardslot0: bus 3 device 0 cacheline 0x0, lattimer 0x20
pcmcia0 at cardslot0
ichpcib0 at pci0 dev 31 function 0 "Intel 82801CAM LPC" rev 0x02: 24-bit timer at 3579545Hz
pciide0 at pci0 dev 31 function 1 "Intel 82801CAM IDE" rev 0x02: DMA, channel 0 configured to compatibility, channel 1 configured to compatibility
wd0 at pciide0 channel 0 drive 0: <TOSHIBA MK2018GAP>
wd0: 16-sector PIO, LBA, 19077MB, 39070080 sectors
wd0(pciide0:0:0): using PIO mode 4, Ultra-DMA mode 5
atapiscsi0 at pciide0 channel 1 drive 0
scsibus1 at atapiscsi0: 2 targets
cd0 at scsibus1 targ 0 lun 0: <QSI, DVD/CDRW SBW-161, SX13> ATAPI 5/cdrom removable
cd0(pciide0:1:0): using PIO mode 4, Ultra-DMA mode 2
ichiic0 at pci0 dev 31 function 3 "Intel 82801CA/CAM SMBus" rev 0x02: irq 9
iic0 at ichiic0
spdmem0 at iic0 addr 0x50: 256MB DDR SDRAM non-parity PC2300CL2.5
auich0 at pci0 dev 31 function 5 "Intel 82801CA/CAM AC97" rev 0x02: irq 9, ICH3
ac97: codec id 0x414c4740 (Avance Logic ALC202)
ac97: codec features headphone, 20 bit DAC, 18 bit ADC, Realtek 3D
audio0 at auich0
"Intel 82801CA/CAM Modem" rev 0x02 at pci0 dev 31 function 6 not configured
usb0 at uhci0: USB revision 1.0
uhub0 at usb0 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb1 at uhci1: USB revision 1.0
uhub1 at usb1 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb2 at uhci2: USB revision 1.0
uhub2 at usb2 configuration 1 interface 0 "Intel UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
isa0 at ichpcib0
isadma0 at isa0
fdc0 at isa0 port 0x3f0/6 irq 6 drq 2
com0 at isa0 port 0x3f8/8 irq 4: ns16550a, 16 byte fifo
pckbc0 at isa0 port 0x60/5 irq 1 irq 12
pckbd0 at pckbc0 (kbd slot)
wskbd0 at pckbd0: console keyboard
pms0 at pckbc0 (aux slot)
wsmouse0 at pms0 mux 0
pms0: Synaptics touchpad, firmware 5.8, 0x9248b1 0x4000
pcppi0 at isa0 port 0x61
spkr0 at pcppi0
lpt0 at isa0 port 0x378/4 irq 7
npx0 at isa0 port 0xf0/16: reported by CPUID; using exception 16
vscsi0 at root
scsibus2 at vscsi0: 256 targets
softraid0 at root
scsibus3 at softraid0: 256 targets
root on wd0a (5032bd78bc8460e1.a) swap on wd0b dump on wd0b
initializing kernel modesetting (RV200 0x1002:0x4C57 0x1025:0x001E).
radeon_cp: Failed to load firmware "radeon/R100_cp.bin"
error: [drm:pid0:r100_cp_init] *ERROR* Failed to load firmware!
drm:pid0:r100_startup *ERROR* failed initializing CP (-2).
drm:pid0:r100_init *ERROR* Disabling GPU acceleration
ttm_pool_mm_shrink_fini: stub
error: [drm:pid0:r100_ring_test] *ERROR* radeon: ring test failed (scratch(0x15E4)=0xCAFEDEAD)
error: [drm:pid0:r100_cp_init] *ERROR* radeon: cp isn't working (-22).
drm:pid0:r100_startup *ERROR* failed initializing CP (-22).
drm:pid0:r100_init *ERROR* Disabling GPU acceleration
error: [drm:pid0:r100_cp_fini] *ERROR* Wait for CP idle timeout, shutting down CP.
Failed to wait GUI idle while programming pipes. Bad things might happen.
Can't enable IRQ/MSI because no handler is installed
radeondrm0: 1024x768, 8bpp
wsdisplay0 at radeondrm0 mux 1: console (std, vt100 emulation), using wskbd0
wsdisplay0: screen 1-5 added (std, vt100 emulation)
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,346
Default

Your laptop is running without APM or ACPI. You risk permanent heat damage.
  1. Ensure you have Acer's most recent BIOS. If not, update it.
  2. If you needed to update, see if the OS will boot with the updated BIOS and ACPI.
  3. If you are already on the latest BIOS, or if a test of ACPI with the most recent BIOS fails, then determine if you can enable APM from its management screens.
Should you decide to stay with OpenBSD on this hardware -- whether the ACPI/APM problem is resolved or not -- you will want to install Radeon firmware. See all of the error messages in the last 15 lines of your dmesg(8) output. Installation may be performed with fw_update(1) once you have established a functioning network connection.
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Day Ago
DuneyWall DuneyWall is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 7
Default

Thank you for lookling through.

Hm..., then I'll stick to antiX again.

But OpenBSD will then have a special place in my VirtualBox
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop lid close = stuck akts OpenBSD General 3 12th October 2017 02:31 PM
syspatch appears to get stuck Prevet OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 2 9th October 2017 07:56 PM
Building jdk-1.8 stuck nyg OpenBSD Packages and Ports 9 12th February 2017 09:36 PM
ThinkPad key stuck LeFrettchen General Hardware 0 26th July 2015 12:43 PM
Experts: We're stuck with passwords – and maybe they're best J65nko News 1 17th January 2012 03:08 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick