DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th November 2011
New User

Default -stable snapshots "openbsd-stable.org" (?)

Hello, I'm new to OpenBSD. I realize no binary updates are provided by the project itself. Are the snapshots from this source legit to use?

I'd like patches whenever available, but don't want to do them by hand and/or rebuild everything.

Can I possibly follow -stable by (U)pdating to these snapshots using bsd.rd and sysmerge?
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th November 2011
Administrator

I have never heard of this site before. Even if I knew about it, it still would not been officially supported by OpenBSD. Use at your own risk
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th November 2011
More noise than signal

These are built as a service by Maurice Janssen, an active OpenBSD user. I have never examined his offering, nor had any communications with him, and have no opinion on your trust question -- you are, after all, trusting the OpenBSD Project and its developers when you install their binaries. If you are concerned with the possibilities of an outside bad actor being able to taint the binaries, you might use the SHA256 file from one site and file sets and kernels from another.

What you are really interested in knowing, I think, is can you conduct an "upgrade" using a -stable release. I use the word release here differently than OpenBSD's twice yearly numbered releases. I mean the collection of kernels and filesets used for installation or upgrade according to FAQ 5 and the release(8) man page.

The answer is yes, you can upgrade. Place the new bsd.rd where you will be able to reach it from the boot> prompt, and select Upgrade from the Install, Upgrade, or Shell prompt.

It would be prudent to back up your system, first.
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th November 2011
New User