DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Security

OpenBSD Security Functionally paranoid!

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st December 2009
Shell Scout

Default Disabling Services Not Needed

Im curious what services/daemons I can turn off for extra security. I am new to bsd and use it only for pf and routing. Everything else, thats not required for this to function, I would like to turn off if it has any added benefits.

On the default install I did not enable ssh since I will always be at the console and never telnet.
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st December 2009
Banned

I just responded in your other topic, if you're always at the console.. then those BSD flags are quite redundant, they do not protect against physical compromise.. paranoid file encryption and expensive locks on doors are the only way to do that.

There is no reason to disable services that are running by default, the ones that are running are critical to the functionality of the system.

If you're concerned about the reliability, make sure your firewall rules are sane.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st December 2009
More noise than signal

You -need- turn nothing off. The basic services included in the install are "secure by default." You will got no -extra security- from disabling any running services, and, you may even cause yourself harm. Example: disabling the built-in sendmail server because you think that will make your system more secure, will actually disable daily security testing results, see the security(8) man page. The default configuration of the sendmail server only accepts loopback connections.

OpenBSD is not Linux, Windows, Unix, or, even any other BSD.

Should you ever enable SSH, you will likely want to disable root access and perhaps password authentication as well.
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd December 2009
./dev/null

Quote:
Should you ever enable SSH, you will likely want to disable root access and perhaps password authentication as well.