DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Ports and Packages

FreeBSD Ports and Packages Installation and upgrading of ports and packages on FreeBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd October 2008
Port Guard

Question packages vs ports

I'm new to FreeBSD but I'm enjoying it so far. I come from a Linux background, and generally have preferred binary package management tools (apt-get, yum, etc). I've also tried source-based distributions like Gentoo, but haven't seen the benefit of the time requirements of compiling.

Now, as I understand it, FreeBSD packages (via pkg_add) are pre-compiled whereas the ports are to-be-compiled? Is there a benefit one from another? As I mentioned I generally prefer the quick-installation of a binary package, but if it is worth the time to compile (as the Gentoo people claim) then I'd be willing to give that a try.

thanks in advance
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd October 2008
Fdisk Soldier

Both installation ways have pros and cons:

Packages Pros:
- You save the total compilation time of the actual program and their depended ones.
- Packages are consisted and work very well.

Packages Cons:
- You accept the default compile options and some times you miss desired features of the program.
- Unneeded depended applications will be installed as well.
- The packages have older versions than those of ports.

Ports Pros:
- You can configure the program's build options and you can build it optimized for your cpu types.
- Unneeded depended programs may be avoided.
- The ports system offers up to date software.

Ports Cons:
- Compilation some times takes a lot of time to complete, even on a fast machine.
- Building process might be stopped due to some compilation errors or missing source files on the main program or the depended ones.

Despite the system allows you to mix both ports and packages programs, I suggest you to pick one way and keep using it exclusively.