DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th December 2016
psypro psypro is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Continent:Europe
Posts: 124
Default Laptop HP 15AY085 INTEL 5005

Install completes. I enter
Code:
reboot
I have tried legacy bios, and uefi bios. Same result.
OpenBSD 6.0

Boot fails, before reaching login

"panic aml_die aml_rwfield:2472"
"Stopped at Debugger+0x9"
to much text to write it all.
And then gives a promt

Code:
ddb{0}>
Trying with 6.0 snapshots... Exact same problem with snapshots.

Last edited by psypro; 29th December 2016 at 06:36 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th December 2016
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 5,975
Default

This problem was reported 30 November 2016 to bugs@.

While no response has been posted, the report to bugs@ is an excellent example of a problem report.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th December 2016
shep shep is offline
Rc.conf Instructor
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 1,069
Default

I would wonder if the inteldrm kernel code recognizes the video specification. It might be possible to disable inteldrm and use vesa.

See OpenBSD intel nuc.

There is also a way to temporarily disable inteldrm using ukc>.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 29th December 2016
psypro psypro is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Continent:Europe
Posts: 124
Default

So it might be better to buy a new Kaby lake, and run OpenBSD in wmware.
I only bought this crappy new i3 5005 pc to get inteldrm support.

Hopefully the store will take it back, it offers 30 return policy. I will re install windows 10 now.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd January 2017
psypro psypro is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Continent:Europe
Posts: 124
Default

I ended up buying a Levovo ideapad 310, with skylake. Writing this from cwm.
No inteldrm yet, but wsfb driver does the trick for now.
It also have mouse buttons at the touch pad, so no problem with mouse either.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd October 2017
pm2960 pm2960 is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 5
Default

Hi All -- I came across this thread looking up the kernel panic (aml_dies aml_rwfield) after installing 6.2 on my hp 15g088ca. (compared notes with the bug report referred by jggimi above -- seems identical. I expect there is no fix as of now....
Is this a work around ? can i get a lead on 'disabling using ukc>'
Cheers

Quote:
Originally Posted by shep View Post
I would wonder if the inteldrm kernel code recognizes the video specification. It might be possible to disable inteldrm and use vesa.

See OpenBSD intel nuc.

There is also a way to temporarily disable inteldrm using ukc>.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd October 2017
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 5,975
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pm2960 View Post
...can i get a lead on 'disabling using ukc>'
See the boot_config(8) man page.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th October 2017
pm2960 pm2960 is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 5
Default

Thank Jggimi ..mea culpa -- always refer to the man pages before asking..

It was not inteldrm but ACPI ....I disabled ACPI and was able to boot successfully ..whew.
So the next steps for me is to figure out how to disable ACPI permanently...
I do not have X for the moment -- would that because of disabling ACPI ?
Thanks again .
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th October 2017
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 5,975
Default

Disabling ACPI is a bad idea, because it can damage your hardware. On modern processors, ACPI is necessary for temperature management.

I don't have enough info to tell you why X is inoperative. If nothing else, your /var/log/Xorg.0.log file will likely provide some insight.
Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2017
shep shep is offline
Rc.conf Instructor
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 1,069
Default

It might help to look at the ACPI section of your dmesg. Mine as an example:
Code:
PooBear$ dmesg | grep acpi    
acpi0 at bios0: rev 2
acpi0: sleep states S0 S3 S4 S5
acpi0: tables DSDT FACP APIC FPDT MCFG HPET CRAT UEFI SSDT SSDT
acpi0: wakeup devices PCE2(S4) PCE3(S4) PCE4(S4) PCE5(S4) PCE6(S4) PCE7(S4) SBAZ(S4) PS2K(S4) PS2M(S4) UAR1(S4) OHC1(S4) EHC1(S4) OHC2(S4) EHC2(S4) OHC3(S4) EHC3(S4) [...]
acpitimer0 at acpi0: 3579545 Hz, 32 bits
acpimadt0 at acpi0 addr 0xfee00000: PC-AT compat
acpimcfg0 at acpi0 addr 0xf8000000, bus 0-63
acpihpet0 at acpi0: 14318180 Hz
acpiprt0 at acpi0: bus 0 (PCI0)
acpiprt1 at acpi0: bus -1 (PCE2)
acpiprt2 at acpi0: bus -1 (PCE3)
acpiprt3 at acpi0: bus -1 (PCE4)
acpiprt4 at acpi0: bus -1 (PCE5)
acpiprt5 at acpi0: bus -1 (PCE6)
acpiprt6 at acpi0: bus -1 (PCE7)
acpiprt7 at acpi0: bus 3 (PE22)
acpiprt8 at acpi0: bus -1 (PE23)
acpiprt9 at acpi0: bus 2 (PE20)
acpiprt10 at acpi0: bus 1 (P0PC)
acpicpu0 at acpi0: C2(0@100 io@0x1771), C1(@1 halt!), PSS
acpicpu1 at acpi0: C2(0@100 io@0x1771), C1(@1 halt!), PSS
"PNP0F03" at acpi0 not configured
acpibtn0 at acpi0: PWRB
"PNP0C14" at acpi0 not configured
acpivideo0 at acpi0: VGA_
There are often some user options on ACPI in the bios. May be worth seeing if there is a known problem with that bios, if a bios update is available and trying some different bios options: S1 vs S3 etc.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your OpenBSD Laptop vermaden OpenBSD General 164 27th October 2017 12:58 AM
"Intel Packet of Death" not Intel's problem J65nko News 0 11th February 2013 07:26 PM
any consequences to moving a laptop-based installed disk to another different laptop daemonfowl OpenBSD General 7 2nd August 2012 04:29 PM
Laptop lid problem rex FreeBSD General 10 12th November 2008 02:07 PM
laptop cw_ FreeBSD General 21 14th August 2008 02:48 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick