DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th June 2008
Serge Serge is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Question Configuring a wireless access point

Was going to post this on BSD forums, but apparently the grass is greener here

I'm trying to turn an old desktop into a server/router/WAP (has an atheros PCI card) mostly for educational purposes and I've been following this guide: http://www.freebsd.org/doc/en/books/...RK-WIRELESS-AP

and I got all the daemons configured and running and the access point shows up on a scan but I can't get a station to connect to it.

I turned on the debug output:
Code:
# wlandebug -i ath0 +scan+auth+debug+assoc
and when I try to connect a station (MAC: 00:15:af:XX:XX:XX, OS: vista) vista provides an informative "Cannot connect to FreeBSDAP" and this gets printed on the BSD box:

Code:
...
ath0: [00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] recv probe req
ath0: [00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] recv probe req
ath0: [00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] recv probe req
ath0: received auth from 00:15:af:XX:XX:XX rssi 54
ath0: [00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] recv auth frame with algorithm 0 seq 1
[00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] send auth on channel 1
ath0: [00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] station authenticated (open)
ath0: received assoc_req from 00:15:af:XX:XX:XX rssi 52
ath0: [00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] WPA ie: mc 1/16 uc 1/13 key 2 caps 0x0
ath0: [00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] station associated at aid 1: short preamble, short slot time
[00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] send assoc_resp on channel 1
ath0: received disassoc from 00:15:af:XX:XX:XX rssi 52
ath0: [00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] recv disassociate (reason 8)
ath0: [00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] station with aid 1 leaves
ath0: [00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] recv probe req
ath0: [00:15:af:XX:XX:XX] recv probe req
...
Particularly, what is this "recv disassociate (reason 8)" deal?

I'm sure I entered the correct pass phrase, here's the interesting config stuff:

Code:
$ uname -a
FreeBSD basement.gateway.2wire.net 7.0-RELEASE FreeBSD 7.0-RELEASE #0: Sun Feb 24 19:59:52 UTC 2008     root@logan.cse.buffalo.edu:/usr/obj/usr/src/sys/GENERIC  i386
Code:
$ cat /etc/rc.conf
...
ifconfig_ath0="inet 192.168.111.254 netmask 255.255.255.0 ssid FreeBSDAP mode 11g mediaopt hostap"
hostapd_enable="YES"
named_enable="YES"
dhcpd_enable="YES"
dhcpd_ifaces="sis0 ath0"
...
Code:
$ cat /etc/hostapd.conf
interface=ath0
driver=bsd

# Logging and debug configs
logger_syslog=1
logger_syslog_level=0
logger_stdout=-1
logger_stdout_level=0
debug=3
dump_file=/tmp/hostapd.dump

ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
ctrl_interface_group=wheel

# IEEE 802.11
ssid=FreeBSDAP
macaddr_acl=0
auth_algs=1

# IEEE 802.1X - not using
ieee8021x=0

# IEEE 802.11i (WPA)
wpa=1
wpa_passphrase=freebsdmall
wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_pairwise=CCMP TKIP
Code:
$ ifconfig ath0
ath0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 2290
        ether 00:0d:88:XX:XX:XX
        inet 192.168.111.254 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.111.255
        media: IEEE 802.11 Wireless Ethernet autoselect mode 11g <hostap>
        status: associated
        ssid FreeBSDAP channel 1 (2412 Mhz 11g) bssid 00:0d:88:XX:XX:XX
        authmode WPA privacy MIXED deftxkey 2 TKIP 2:128-bit txpower 31.5
        scanvalid 60 bgscan bgscanintvl 300 bgscanidle 250 roam:rssi11g 7
        roam:rate11g 5 protmode CTS burst dtimperiod 11
Code:
$ kldstat
Id Refs Address    Size     Name
 1    7 0xc0400000 906518   kernel
 2    1 0xc0d07000 1bdc     wlan_xauth.ko
 3    1 0xc0d09000 2ec0     wlan_acl.ko
 4    1 0xc0d0c000 6a32c    acpi.ko
Code:
$ cat /boot/loader.conf
wlan_xauth_load="YES"
wlan_ccmp_load="YES"
wlan_acl_load="YES"
Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th June 2008
Malinda Malinda is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Have you optemized the kernel fore WiFi?

Put this in you /boot/loader.conf also and reboot:

wlan_tkip_load="YES"
__________________
Yes! I'am a girl...
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th June 2008
Serge Serge is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Well as far as I understand (from reading the articles mainly) the GENERIC kernel should already have all the needed components to set up an AP (except pf, but I don't really care about packet filtering at this point).

I tried adding wlan_tkip_load to loader.conf but it doesn't help, I want to use CCMP instead of TKIP anyway, both modules do get loaded by the way:

Code:
]# kldstat -v | grep -E "ccmp|tkip"
                317 wlan_ccmp
                318 wlan_tkip
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th June 2008
Serge Serge is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Just noticed something else, when I do a scan from a Linux station and it says the AP is using "WPA Version 1". How do I set up WPA2-PSK then?
Code:
# iwlist wlan0 scan
          Cell 03 - Address: 00:0D:88:93:07:86
                    ESSID:"FreeBSDAP"
                    Mode:Master
                    Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
                    Channel:1
                    Quality=42/64  Signal level=37/65  
                    Encryption key:on
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
                              48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Extra:tsf=0000000085822181
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serge View Post
# IEEE 802.11i (WPA)
wpa=1
Does VISTA actually use DHCP for network configuration?
From output, autentification is succesfull. But VISTA after that send disassociation request -> something is incorrectly configured perhaps?
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2008
Serge Serge is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Yes the wireless connection is configured to use DHCP.

I managed to get the Linux client to connect to the WAP and DHCP successfully! Just the wpa_supplicant startup script needed a little massaging. =)

Vista is still being stubborn and not giving up any dough on what's happening, though the driver seems to be fully capable...
Code:
netsh wlan>show drivers

Interface name: Wireless Network Connection

    Driver                    : Realtek RTL8187 Wireless 802.11g 54Mbps USB 2.0
Network Adapter
    Vendor                    : Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
    Provider                  : Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
    Date                      : 2007-10-23
    Version                   : 5.1304.1023.2007
    INF file                  : C:\Windows\INF\oem1.inf
    Files                     : 1 total
                                C:\Windows\system32\DRIVERS\RTL8187.sys
    Type                      : Legacy Wi-Fi Driver
    Radio types supported     : DSSS 802.11g
    FIPS 140-2 mode supported : No
    Authentication and cipher supported in infrastructure mode:
                                Open            None
                                Open            WEP
                                Shared          None
                                Shared          WEP
                                WPA-Enterprise  TKIP
                                WPA-Enterprise  CCMP
                                WPA-Personal    TKIP
                                WPA-Personal    CCMP
                                WPA-None        TKIP
                                WPA-None        CCMP
                                WPA2-Enterprise TKIP
                                WPA2-Enterprise CCMP
                                WPA2-Personal   TKIP
                                WPA2-Personal   CCMP
    Authentication and cipher supported in ad-hoc mode:
                                Open            WEP
                                Shared          WEP
                                Open            None
                                Shared          None
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 6th June 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Default

Does FreeBSD access point have DHCP server running correctly? Under Linux does anything runs fine - internet and such?

Could VISTA connect succesfully without WAP configured on AP (open access to anyone)?

Last edited by richardpl; 6th June 2008 at 04:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless NIC for access point dewarrn1 FreeBSD General 1 15th September 2009 11:01 PM
How do I edit my .profile to permanently have an ftp site to point to badguy OpenBSD Packages and Ports 12 19th July 2009 02:05 AM
OpenBSD Wi-Fi acces point LordZ OpenBSD General 4 18th October 2008 10:33 AM
Point-to-Point VPN + Firewall + Router (sorta) - What should I use? Bruco FreeBSD General 6 5th July 2008 11:09 PM
Need Help Configuring Postfix iainnitro General software and network 6 8th June 2008 04:55 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick