DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 31st August 2008
disappearedng disappearedng is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 128
Default Double network card Dilemma

I happen to have a built-in network card manufactured by Marvell Yukon. It sucks because the card just fails a couple of hours after usage (This is confirmed by many fellow users). I have another PCI network card that I purchased to replace this situation.

I plug the card into my motherboard and plugged in a network cable. The lights came up.

When I do a #pciconf -lv, my computer indicates that both of my network cards are detected.

However, when I unplugged my crappy network card and plugged in my new network card, there is no network detected.

How do I go about this problem? How do I tell my computer to switch "focus" from the built in malfunctioned network card to this new one???

Thx
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 31st August 2008
anomie's Avatar
anomie anomie is offline
Local
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 445
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disappearedng
... when I unplugged my crappy network card and plugged in my new network card, there is no network detected.
Do you really mean there is no driver for your new NIC detected? Or do you mean the network is not coming up? (If the latter, you're probably going to have to make some configuration changes in /etc/rc.conf to accommodate the new interface name.)
__________________
Kill your t.v.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st September 2008
disappearedng disappearedng is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 128
Default

pciconf yields
Code:
hostb0@pci0:0:0:0:      class=0x060000 card=0x817a1043 chip=0x27708086 rev=0x02 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Intel Corporation'
    device     = '82945G/GZ/P/PL Host Bridge/DRAM Controller'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = HOST-PCI
vgapci0@pci0:0:2:0:     class=0x030000 card=0x817a1043 chip=0x27728086 rev=0x02 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Intel Corporation'
    device     = '82945G Integrated Graphics Controller'
    class      = display
    subclass   = VGA
pcib1@pci0:0:28:0:      class=0x060400 card=0x81791043 chip=0x27d08086 rev=0x01 hdr=0x01
    vendor     = 'Intel Corporation'
    device     = '82801G (ICH7 Family) PCIe Root Port'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = PCI-PCI
pcib2@pci0:0:28:1:      class=0x060400 card=0x81791043 chip=0x27d28086 rev=0x01 hdr=0x01
    vendor     = 'Intel Corporation'
    device     = '82801G (ICH7 Family) PCIe Root Port'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = PCI-PCI
pcib3@pci0:0:30:0:      class=0x060401 card=0x81791043 chip=0x244e8086 rev=0xe1 hdr=0x01
    vendor     = 'Intel Corporation'
    device     = '82801 Family (ICH2/3/4/4/5/5/6/7/8/9,63xxESB) Hub Interface to PCI Bridge'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = PCI-PCI
none0@pci0:0:30:2:      class=0x040100 card=0x81951043 chip=0x27de8086 rev=0x01 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Intel Corporation'
    device     = '82801GB I/O Controller Hub AC'97 Audio'
    class      = multimedia
    subclass   = audio
isab0@pci0:0:31:0:      class=0x060100 card=0x81791043 chip=0x27b88086 rev=0x01 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Intel Corporation'
    device     = '945GL Intel 82801GB/GR (ICH7 Family) LPC Interface Controller - 27B8'
    class      = bridge
    subclass   = PCI-ISA
atapci0@pci0:0:31:1:    class=0x01018a card=0x81791043 chip=0x27df8086 rev=0x01 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Intel Corporation'
    device     = '82801G (ICH7 Family) Ultra ATA Storage Controller'
    class      = mass storage
    subclass   = ATA
atapci1@pci0:0:31:2:    class=0x01018f card=0x26011043 chip=0x27c08086 rev=0x01 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Intel Corporation'
    device     = '82801GB/GR/GH (ICH7 Family) Serial ATA Storage Controller'
    class      = mass storage
    subclass   = ATA
none1@pci0:0:31:3:      class=0x0c0500 card=0x81791043 chip=0x27da8086 rev=0x01 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Intel Corporation'
    device     = '82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller'
    class      = serial bus
    subclass   = SMBus
mskc0@pci0:2:0:0:       class=0x020000 card=0x81421043 chip=0x436211ab rev=0x22 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Marvell Semiconductor (Was: Galileo Technology Ltd)'
    device     = '88E8053 Marvell Yukon 88E8053 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller'
    class      = network
    subclass   = ethernet
none2@pci0:1:3:0:       class=0x0c0010 card=0x815b1043 chip=0x8023104c rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'Texas Instruments (TI)'
    device     = 'TSB43AB21/A IEEE1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/Link-Layer Ctrlr'
    class      = serial bus
    subclass   = FireWire
none3@pci0:1:9:0:       class=0x020000 card=0xf3111385 chip=0x0020100b rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'National Semiconductors'
    device     = 'DP83815/16 Fast Ethernet Adapter (MacPhyter/MacPhyter-II)'
    class      = network
    subclass   = ethernet
ifconfig yields
Code:
msk0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
        options=19a<TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4>
        ether 00:17:31:c1:b2:eb
        inet6 fe80::217:31ff:fec1:b2eb%msk0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1 
        inet 192.168.1.67 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
        media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex,flag0,flag1>)
        status: active
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
        inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 
        inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2 
        inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
How do I know whether the driver is installed? How should I approach this?
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st September 2008
disappearedng disappearedng is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 128
Default

Do I need to disable the built in network card in order to let my computer use the new network card???
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st September 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disappearedng View Post
pciconf yields
Code:
none3@pci0:1:9:0:       class=0x020000 card=0xf3111385 chip=0x0020100b rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'National Semiconductors'
    device     = 'DP83815/16 Fast Ethernet Adapter (MacPhyter/MacPhyter-II)'
    class      = network
    subclass   = ethernet
This is the new network card. Notice the name of the "driver": none3. That means the kernel has not attached any actual driver to the hardware. You need to figure out which network driver you need to use to support that chipset. Then either load the kernel module for it (kldload if_<whatever>) or recompile the kernel with that module added to the kernel config file (device <whatever>).

In case you can't figure it out, a google search for the identifier string in the pciconf output shows that sis(4) supports that chipset. So a simple kldload if_sis should get you an sis0 interface. Then you can just add the driver to /boot/loader.conf (read /boot/defaults/loader.conf for the syntax to use) and add the config lines to /etc/rc.conf.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.

Last edited by phoenix; 1st September 2008 at 03:18 AM. Reason: Add info on driver.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st September 2008
disappearedng disappearedng is offline
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 128
Default

I did the following:

1) #kld_load if_sis
2) edited my /boot/loader.conf and /etc/rc.conf with
"if_sis_load="YES""

Plugged in my line into the new network card, but there is still no internet connection.

This is my ifconfig when I have a network cable connected to my new network card with the procedures above executed:
Code:
msk0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
	options=19a<TXCSUM,VLAN_MTU,VLAN_HWTAGGING,VLAN_HWCSUM,TSO4>
	ether 00:17:31:c1:b2:eb
	inet6 fe80::217:31ff:fec1:b2eb%msk0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1 
	inet 192.168.1.67 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
	media: Ethernet autoselect (none)
	status: no carrier
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
	inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 
	inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2 
	inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000 
sis0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
	options=8<VLAN_MTU>
	ether 00:0f:b5:f5:cc:9e
	inet6 fe80::20f:b5ff:fef5:cc9e%sis0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x3 
	media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX <full-duplex>)
	status: active
also my pciconf
Code:
sis0@pci0:1:9:0:	class=0x020000 card=0xf3111385 chip=0x0020100b rev=0x00 hdr=0x00
    vendor     = 'National Semiconductors'
    device     = 'DP83815/16 Fast Ethernet Adapter (MacPhyter/MacPhyter-II)'
    class      = network
    subclass   = ethernet
I noticed that under sis0, there is no "inet". Why not? (i know that this means that it has no internet address, but why not?)
Also, I tried shutting my marvell driver down. (it's msk)
so I did the following
Code:
#kldunload if_msk
kldunload: can't find file if_msk
What is wrong here?

Last edited by disappearedng; 1st September 2008 at 05:43 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st September 2008
hsw hsw is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by disappearedng View Post
I did the following:

1) #kld_load if_sis
2) edited my /boot/loader.conf and /etc/rc.conf with
"if_sis_load="YES""
if_sis_load="YES" only in /boot/loader.conf
rc.conf needs
ifconfig_sis0="DHCP"


I usually add this to /etc/rc.conf then whichever card is plugged in comes up:

NIC="de em ixgb txp vx bfe bge dc fxp lge nge pcn re rl sf sis sk ste ti tl tx vge vr wb xl cs ed ex ep fe ie lnc sn xe an awi wi ath gem"

for i in ${NIC}
do
eval ifconfig_${i}0="DHCP"
eval ifconfig_${i}1="DHCP"
done

Otherwise you might need a static IP +default router like:

ifconfig_sis0="inet 192.168.99.45 netmask 0xffffff00"
defaultrouter="192.168.99.1"

If you use static IP remember to set up /etc/resolv.conf with your name server IPs.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
double nat routing giagni General software and network 5 22nd May 2009 07:10 PM
ipfw ruleset double check l2fl2f FreeBSD Security 3 26th March 2009 06:32 AM
Realtek Gigabit 8169SC Network card not workies!! ashleyd FreeBSD General 5 11th August 2008 12:50 PM
Wireless Card on T61 disappearedng FreeBSD General 1 13th July 2008 12:54 AM
double posting? ocicat Feedback and Suggestions 6 26th May 2008 12:34 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick