DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 9th May 2018
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,287
Default

You could also try a -current snapshot. The re(4) driver received an update to how it maps control registers in April of this year.
Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018
bsd007's Avatar
bsd007 bsd007 is offline
Always learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 207
Default

Frankly I don't want to download a snapshot coz I have to re download again when its released.

Isn't it a moving target ?
__________________
OpenBSD 6.3
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-6100 CPU
Ram 4GB
Intel HD Graphics
Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2018
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,287
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsd007 View Post
Frankly I don't want to download a snapshot coz I have to re download again when its released.
That is your choice.
Quote:
Isn't it a moving target ?
Yes. -Current is the development branch of the OS. A snapshot is a point-in-time release(8) of the -current source tree.
Reply With Quote
Old 3 Weeks Ago
bsd007's Avatar
bsd007 bsd007 is offline
Always learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 207
Default

I have found a workaround. Instead of connecting to the Internet directly I have connected OpenBSD via a router. I have no idea why it doesnt work if I directly connect the RJ45 to my PC.
__________________
OpenBSD 6.3
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-6100 CPU
Ram 4GB
Intel HD Graphics
Reply With Quote
Old 3 Weeks Ago
GarryR's Avatar
GarryR GarryR is offline
Real Name: Garry Ricketson
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Durango, Mx.
Posts: 274
Default

Well that is good you found a work around, how ever, there would be a better chance of finding out why, if you take the time to submit a bug report. If you try the most recent snapshot, as suggested, and the issue is fixed, great,...
Quote:
jggimi > You could also try a -current snapshot. The re(4) driver received an update to how it maps control registers in April of this year.
If it still is occurring, then the developers would know to look for the cause of the problem, and perhaps fix it in the next snapshot, or release.
I guess, maybe someone else has encountered the same issue, and took the time, but if not , then it is very unlikely there will be any changes, (related to this).
Quote:
bsd007>>I will just wait for the next release and download it when it gets released. Try it and see if there is any improvement.
Many of the "improvements" or fixes are based on if and when people submit bug reports, etc, taking part in making the OS better, I guess I don't need to say any more.
__________________
My best friends are parrots

Last edited by GarryR; 3 Weeks Ago at 10:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 3 Weeks Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,287
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsd007 View Post
I have found a workaround. Instead of connecting to the Internet directly I have connected OpenBSD via a router. I have no idea why it doesnt work if I directly connect the RJ45 to my PC.
This is indicative of a PHY - to - PHY mismatch of some kind. Examples may include using an Ethernet crossover cable when a straight-through cable is required. If so, the additional device - the in-home router - might support "Auto MDI-X" and be able to use either crossover or straight-through cabling while the ISP may not.
Reply With Quote
Old 3 Weeks Ago
bsd007's Avatar
bsd007 bsd007 is offline
Always learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 207
Default

Thanks to both for the replies.
__________________
OpenBSD 6.3
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-6100 CPU
Ram 4GB
Intel HD Graphics
Reply With Quote
Old 3 Weeks Ago
bsd007's Avatar
bsd007 bsd007 is offline
Always learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jggimi View Post
This is indicative of a PHY - to - PHY mismatch of some kind. Examples may include using an Ethernet crossover cable when a straight-through cable is required. If so, the additional device - the in-home router - might support "Auto MDI-X" and be able to use either crossover or straight-through cabling while the ISP may not.
I forgot to add that Ubuntu connected just fine. Do you still think its PHY - to - PHY mismatch ?
__________________
OpenBSD 6.3
Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-6100 CPU
Ram 4GB
Intel HD Graphics
Reply With Quote
Old 2 Weeks Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,287
Default

Yes, because I don't have enough information about the environment to determine any other cause.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video card instead of sound card ripe OpenBSD General 12 2nd May 2013 04:02 PM
Mouse:X (not-working) and tty-Console (working), in 8.0 ykt FreeBSD General 1 22nd December 2009 12:26 PM
atheros wireless card not working guitarscn FreeBSD General 0 26th August 2009 05:50 PM
my radeon hd card is no longer working iacbsd OpenBSD General 8 17th July 2009 10:14 AM
HOWTO: Working Intel Graphics Card Setup vermaden FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 2 3rd July 2009 07:59 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick