DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
Prevet Prevet is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 55
Default Does Xorg use xrandr to set the screen resolution?

I am asking because I am unable to change to the resolution I want using xrandr, as this computer is using software mode. If Xorg uses something different it might be worth trying to use it to do what I want. However if Xorg uses xrandr there is no point trying.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
GarryR's Avatar
GarryR GarryR is offline
Real Name: Garry Ricketson
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Durango, Mx.
Posts: 231
Default

This is what it say here: https://www.freebsd.org/doc/handbook/x-config.html
Quote:
5.4.6. Monitors

Almost all monitors support the Extended Display Identification Data standard (EDID). Xorg uses EDID to communicate with the monitor and detect the supported resolutions and refresh rates. Then it selects the most appropriate combination of settings to use with that monitor.

https://man.openbsd.org/xrandr.1

It is not clear what exactly you want to do or are trying to accomplish, so I don't know what more to say.
__________________
My best friends are parrots
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
roddierod's Avatar
roddierod roddierod is offline
Real Name: Rod Person
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 412
Default

Example
Code:
xrandr --output monitorName --mode 1024x768
Should do what you want as long as the monitor supports the resolution. Although I'm unsure what "the computer is using software mode" means.
__________________
"The basic tool for the manipulation of reality is the manipulation of words. If you can control the meaning of words, you can control the people who must use the words." -Philip K. Dick
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
GarryR's Avatar
GarryR GarryR is offline
Real Name: Garry Ricketson
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Durango, Mx.
Posts: 231
Default

Just to help clarify, I did not know what my "monitorName" is, typing 'xrandr' without any arguments, gets that info.
Code:
$ xrandr             
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1440 x 900, maximum 8192 x 8192
VGA-1 connected 1440x900+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 408mm x 255mm
In my case the monitor name is VGA-1

Quote:
roddierod>> Although I'm unsure what "the computer is using software mode" means.
Same for me, maybe the OP can elaborate ?
__________________
My best friends are parrots

Last edited by GarryR; 2 Weeks Ago at 08:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
Prevet Prevet is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 55
Default

Hey thanks for helping.

What was happening was when I used a HDMI cable to connect my big screen TV to my computer I got 1024x768 resolution, which was great because my computer doesn't have accelerated graphics that OpenBSD can use, so it uses software rendering. If the resolution is any bigger than 1024x768 the computer started slowing down.

The problem came when I used a DVI cable with my KVM switch it would default to 1920x1080 and there was nothing I could do with xrandr to change it to 1024x768. If you don't have hardware accelerated graphics capability you can forget about xrandr.

So I found this thread where jggimi pointed to a link that shows how to set the resolution using xorg.conf.

http://daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=9100

The only other values I messed around with was the Xft.dpi: value in ~.Xdefaults. I changed it to Xft.dpi: 96 and in one program I had to increase the font size.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 6,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prevet View Post
...So I found this thread where jggimi pointed...
Old information can be out-of-date.

These days, if I ever needed a manual mode line, I would use cvt(1) or gtf(1) and create a fragment configuration file in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
roddierod's Avatar
roddierod roddierod is offline
Real Name: Rod Person
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prevet View Post
Hey thanks for helping.

What was happening was when I used a HDMI cable to connect my big screen TV to my computer I got 1024x768 resolution, which was great because my computer doesn't have accelerated graphics that OpenBSD can use, so it uses software rendering. If the resolution is any bigger than 1024x768 the computer started slowing down.

The problem came when I used a DVI cable with my KVM switch it would default to 1920x1080 and there was nothing I could do with xrandr to change it to 1024x768. If you don't have hardware accelerated graphics capability you can forget about xrandr.

So I found this thread where jggimi pointed to a link that shows how to set the resolution using xorg.conf.

http://daemonforums.org/showthread.php?t=9100

The only other values I messed around with was the Xft.dpi: value in ~.Xdefaults. I changed it to Xft.dpi: 96 and in one program I had to increase the font size.
In my experience KVMs can do wacky things that you just can't correct. That's what this sounds like to me. Can connect from computer to TV with DVI and no KVM? Does resolution switching work then?

What kind of video card? What driver are you using?
__________________
"The basic tool for the manipulation of reality is the manipulation of words. If you can control the meaning of words, you can control the people who must use the words." -Philip K. Dick
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 2 Weeks Ago
Prevet Prevet is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 55
Default

I discovered it before I got the KVM. I had a DVI cable and a HDMI cable and plugged an old BenQ monitor into the PC, which increased the resolution way up from the 1024x768 it had always been and it wouldn't go back.

The video card is an NVIDA, so that means no video card. It is using the vesa(4) driver.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 1 Week Ago
roddierod's Avatar
roddierod roddierod is offline
Real Name: Rod Person
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 412
Default

Ah, yeah nvidia and OpenBSD is pretty much a no go right now.

NetBSD has the nouveau driver working now apparently, some maybe in the near future nvidia will work better with OpenBSD.

It's been a long time since I used the vesa driver, but did you set the monitor or TV horizontal sync in the xorg.conf...pretty sure you need to add all that. And check the xorg.log there might be clues in there.
__________________
"The basic tool for the manipulation of reality is the manipulation of words. If you can control the meaning of words, you can control the people who must use the words." -Philip K. Dick
Reply With Quote
Old 1 Week Ago
Prevet Prevet is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by roddierod View Post
Ah, yeah nvidia and OpenBSD is pretty much a no go right now.

NetBSD has the nouveau driver working now apparently, some maybe in the near future nvidia will work better with OpenBSD.
I actually bought a second hand Radeon 6970 to use with this machine, but its fan howled like a banshee. I wasn't sure if the sensors on the card were busted or they haven't written anything to control the fans yet. That machine works fine on OpenBSD without a video card, as long as you don't care about games, so I'm not complaining. If I want to play games I just reboot it into windows.

Quote:
It's been a long time since I used the vesa driver, but did you set the monitor or TV horizontal sync in the xorg.conf...pretty sure you need to add all that. And check the xorg.log there might be clues in there.
Yep I found and checked all that, thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon resolution & dual-screen? LeFrettchen OpenBSD General 4 3 Weeks Ago 01:08 PM
resolution screen pawkolor OpenBSD General 17 7th May 2015 04:08 PM
LCD Screen Resolution mgh21 General Hardware 3 3rd September 2011 07:23 PM
Help with screen resolution for Window Maker bsdforlife FreeBSD General 2 25th August 2008 01:49 PM
Wrong screen resolution, font size etc. PatrickBaer FreeBSD General 10 14th May 2008 10:00 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick