DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > NetBSD > NetBSD Installation and Upgrading

NetBSD Installation and Upgrading Have trouble getting NetBSD on your toaster?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 6 Days Ago
Stlyx Stlyx is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default NetBSD Installation on an HP Pavillion dv9000 Laptop

Recently, I was looking for an old computer system to install NetBSD on. I found an old HP Pavillion dv9000 laptop and decided I would give it a try. After booting from the installation media, the boot process seems to freeze within a few seconds. Not that I know what it truly means, but I tried booting without ACPI, but the same problem occurs. The system doesn't give any error messages, and I have no idea of how to troubleshoot at that stage or how to get any logged information assuming that something can be logged at that point. Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions? I would greatly appreciate it.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 6 Days Ago
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bronvaux, France
Posts: 262
Default

Welcome Stlyx

I'm not a NetBSD user but what does the NetBSD install exactly do ?
Any display on screen would help...

And you should start checking the hardware, just in case...
  1. Check your BIOS settings, see if you need to upgrade it.
  2. It should be possible to check HD & RAM with the BIOS.
    Start the PC & hold F10 to access BIOS.
    Acces the ‘ Diagnostic ‘ tab.
    You should find here HD test & RAM test.
    Please report any error.
__________________
The secret of wisdom is not wisdom itself, it's the road that leads us there.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 6 Days Ago
Stlyx Stlyx is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you for replying. I didn't think I would get one so quickly. I'm not currently at home to test it, but I will try to get some information perhaps by tomorrow.

What I can tell you right now though is that it never reaches the installation; it stops mid-boot after just a few seconds. I later tried to install FreeBSD as a comparison, and surprisingly, it booted just fine.

As for the HD and RAM test, I will run it as soon as I have a chance.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 6 Days Ago
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bronvaux, France
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlyx View Post
I later tried to install FreeBSD as a comparison, and surprisingly, it booted just fine.
It's a good start...

Edit : now we know your machine can boot.
You should re-download the install file, just to check it was not corrupted, and restart the entire install process.

Oh, and it would also be useful to have further informations...
Is it your first install of NetBSD or are you a long-experienced user ?
Or do you use any other BSDs ?
__________________
The secret of wisdom is not wisdom itself, it's the road that leads us there.

Last edited by LeFrettchen; 6 Days Ago at 01:42 AM. Reason: I think you can guess, right ?
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 6 Days Ago
Stlyx Stlyx is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

That's a good idea. I'm not sure why I didn't think of re-downloading the install image.

I'm fairly new to the BSDs. I've only installed FreeBSD on VirtualBox and NetBSD on a Raspberry Pi, and actually that's why I wanted to install NetBSD on a more traditional system, so to speak. I just really enjoyed it. I have just a little experience with Linux systems as well if that helps you in any way but it hasn't been anything too technical.

I'll report back tomorrow with the info and a fresh install image attempt.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 6 Days Ago
shep shep is offline
Rc.conf Instructor
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 1,064
Default

Recent versions of FreeBSD install a gpt boot loader in the 1st two sectors of the hard drive. When NetBSD installs a mbr boot loader in just the 1st sector of a prior FreeBSD install, it results in a damaged table.

Try gdisk to "zap" the GPT/MBR and start with a clean disk.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 4 Days Ago
bsd-keith bsd-keith is offline
Real Name: Keith
Open Source Software user
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Surrey/Hants Border, England
Posts: 142
Default

When downloading O/S images, there should always be a checksum with the various versions so that you can verify that you got a good download image.

(Of course, most of us don't bother unless we have trouble. )
__________________
Linux since 1999, & also a BSD user.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 4 Days Ago
Stlyx Stlyx is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Sorry for taking so long. Something came up yesterday, and I didn't have time to mess around with my laptop.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeFrettchen View Post
It's a good start...

You should re-download the install file, just to check it was not corrupted, and restart the entire install process.
So, I re-downloaded the install image, but it gave me the same problem:



I noticed that two IRQs are considered invalid and that the QLBD is not configured, but I'm not sure if they could even cause something like this because I don't know what they are or what they do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shep View Post
Recent versions of FreeBSD install a gpt boot loader in the 1st two sectors of the hard drive. When NetBSD installs a mbr boot loader in just the 1st sector of a prior FreeBSD install, it results in a damaged table.
Thank you for the heads up. If I get the installer to boot, then I'll have to use gdisk.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsd-keith
When downloading O/S images, there should always be a checksum with the various versions so that you can verify that you got a good download image.

(Of course, most of us don't bother unless we have trouble. )
You're right. I probably should have looked for it, but I always feel like it's such a hassle hahaha...

Last edited by Stlyx; 4 Days Ago at 01:14 AM. Reason: To include replies to shep and bsd-keith; To correct the image link
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 4 Days Ago
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bronvaux, France
Posts: 262
Default

AFAIK, IRQs 10 & 11 are free, this should not be a problem.

On another hand, this is a BIOS related issue and could be the visible part only.
Maybe your BIOS needs to be updated...

About QLBD :
Quote:
hpqlb0 at acpi0 (QLBD, HPQ0006): HP Quick Launch Buttons
source : Daemonforums.org - Getting Xfce4...
__________________
The secret of wisdom is not wisdom itself, it's the road that leads us there.
Reply With Quote
Old 4 Days Ago
Stlyx Stlyx is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

Thank you LeFrettchen. I'll see if I can update the BIOS then
Reply With Quote
Old 4 Days Ago
Stlyx Stlyx is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 6
Default

So, the good news is that the BIOS was out of date. Unfortunately, the problem still persists.
Reply With Quote
Old 3 Days Ago
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bronvaux, France
Posts: 262
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlyx View Post
So, the good news is that the BIOS was out of date.
One step forward, at least

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlyx View Post
Unfortunately, the problem still persists.
Does the boot always freezes at the same point ?

On the picture you posted, the last line is some ACPI WMI related features.
WMI is Windows Management Instrumentation, maybe not really NetBSD friendly.
(but since I don't use NetBSD, I really don't know, it's just an idea).

So if WMI is the cause of the trouble, it should be possible to deactivate it in the BIOS, in the Power Management section.
Or it should be possible to deactivate the entire ACPI features.

Would be worth trying...
__________________
The secret of wisdom is not wisdom itself, it's the road that leads us there.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your NetBSD Laptop vermaden NetBSD General 32 16th November 2016 05:27 PM
NetBSD 6 installation on Thinkpad T420 laptop bsdnotbdsm Guides 5 27th March 2013 09:17 PM
NetBSD laptop thread Mr-Biscuit Guides 1 10th June 2009 05:51 AM
Installation problems on X24 laptop IIMarckus OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 6 5th September 2008 07:58 PM
NetBSD + old laptop adventure anomie NetBSD General 4 27th June 2008 01:57 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick