DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Security

OpenBSD Security Functionally paranoid!

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd August 2010
New User

Default How do I enable IP protocol 47 (GRE) and TCP port 1723?

I need to enable IP protocol 47 (GRE) and open TCP port 1723 on an OpenBSD 4.3 firewall so that I can allow Windows VPN traffic to pass.

Can anybody tell me how to do this? This is an incredibly amateur question I am aware but I've never worked with OpenBSD before and am in need of some assistance.

Thanks!
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd August 2010
More noise than signal

The tool used with OpenBSD for firewall operations is PF -- Packet Filter. However there have been many changes since your version of the OS, which is unsupported.

There have been many, many changes to PF, so you will need older, out-of-date documentation.

I will build and attach a 4.3 version of the PF User's Guide for you, it will take a few minutes. Meanwhile...

The man pages for 4.3 might be on your system, or might not. Here are links to the two you will absolutely need for reference to PF, for 4.3:

pf.conf(5)
pfctl(8)

Last edited by jggimi; 2nd August 2010 at 09:05 PM. Reason: clarity
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd August 2010
More noise than signal

Here is the PF user's guide for 4.3, in HTML form. it will unpack into a pf/ folder structure, point your browser at pf/index.html
Attached Files
File Type: tgz pf-users-guide-4.3.tgz (663.6 KB, 359 views)
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd August 2010
New User

I appreciate your help. I've just started this job and am planning to upgrade the systems.

I'll start another thread later to see about upgrading this system.

Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it.
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd August 2010
More noise than signal

Upgrading can be done release-to-release only.

4.3->4.4->4.5->4.6->4.7 and in a couple of months, 4.8.