DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th July 2008
Complete BSD nubcake

Default Mounting NAS as apache alias directory

Hi everyone. I'm new here and somewhat new to FreeBSD. I recently built a FreeBSD-based apache webserver as my home server project and I've come to the point where I want to make a share on my NAS publicly accessable. I have been managing apache webservers for quite a few years at this point, although usually on a windows server, so forgive my lack of knowledge of FreeBSD related know-how.

I mounted the share to /mnt/misc/

It's technically a windows share, although the file system on the NAS is ext3 (I think) and I know it's managed in a weird way by the NAS system itself, so we can consider it not modifyable by any external systems, the accounts set up on the NAS itself have to be specified in order to gain access. The NAS is a Buffalo Terastation Pro II Rackmount. I *think* the NAS can create NFS shares, but I haven't played with that yet. It also handles FTP access to its shares, which would be a quick and easy way to access the files but sounds quite unconventional in this situation.

I did try mounting it as NFS, but it failed, perhaps I didn't set it up when I configured the share. See: this reply

I set up a VirtualHost in httpd-vhosts.conf that works great and I added the Alias and <Directory /misc> directive as shown below:

Code:
<VirtualHost *>
	ServerName domain.com
	ServerAdmin user@domain.com
	DocumentRoot "/usr/local/www/vhosts/domain.com"
Alias /misc /mnt/misc/
<Directory "/mnt/misc">
	Options Indexes FollowSymLinks
	AllowOverride None
	Order allow,deny
	Allow from all	
</Directory>
</VirtualHost>
The problem