DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Security

OpenBSD Security Functionally paranoid!

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 18th December 2013
New User

Default PF on OpenBSD54, VM

Greetings to all,

I am a complete newbie at OpenBSD and its my first time posting in this forum.
I do read a lot of IT books and the one I am reading at the moment is on OpenBSD (Absolute OpenBSD Michael W Lucas). I did not study IT and do not have a job in IT. I am just passionate about technology (Networking, Security in particular) and try to get by, by documenting myself as much as I can. I am also very curious and like to know how things work (Can be cumbersome sometimes.)
Anyways, I hesitated a while before posting on the forum as I do not have a technical issue (everything is working to my satisfaction) but more a comprehension of PF in a virtual environment. I do not wish to waste anyone's time; so feel free to tell me to bug off if you believe that my set up is just crap.
The set up I have is not a production set up and it is just a personal project in order to be more secure on the internet. This set up is also intended for mobility realm; ie, laptops.

I am using OpenBSD54 in VMWare 10. The host is Windows 8.1. I have two NIC installed in my Virtual Machine; em0 and em1 and I am doing NAT with static IP addresses for em0 and em1. I choose NAT for security and practicality. Outside access seems to be less likely to the VM. No need to deal with DHCP as NAT handles everything with static IP addresses. This project is intended for mobile computing such as laptops, so the NAT avoid to have to deal with all different router (exotic setup) out there.