DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > General Hardware

General Hardware General hardware related questions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
ip6ix's Avatar
ip6ix ip6ix is online now
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 63
Default I bought a HP ProLiant server

I had been searching on eBay and some other sites for some weeks. Finally, I decided on an HP ProLiant ML350p Gen8 server with the following specs:

- 2 x Xeon E5-2650 V2 - 8-Core @ 2.60Ghz
- 96GB ECC RAM
- 2 x 248GB SSD drives in RAID 1 configuration
- 2 x 4TB SAS drives configured as one logical drive (RAID 0)
- P420i 2GB FBWC (SAS/SATA) RAID controller
- 4 x NICs (NetXtreme BCM5719 Gigabit Ethernet )
- 2 x HP Hot-Swap PSUs.

When the server first arrived Intelligent Provisioning (part of the Proliant on-board setup firmware) was in the German language! Since I don't speak German a call to support resolved the problem and I was able to access it.

Currently, it's running Ubuntu server 18.04, but I intend to run OpenBSD, under KVM (probably).

I've had this server for over a week now and am very pleased with my purchase.
__________________
dc -e '[q]sa[ln0=aln256%Pln256/snlbx]sb12247225403800449909543746snlbxq'
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
frcc frcc is offline
Don't Worry Be Happy!
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: hot,dry,dusty,rainy,windy,straight winds, tornado,puts the fear of God in you-Texas
Posts: 185
Default

I've had v good service from HP Proliant servers although my experience was with older models. Also they have extensive manuals online for free downloading.
Good Luck, enjoy......
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
ip6ix's Avatar
ip6ix ip6ix is online now
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frcc View Post
I've had v good service from HP Proliant servers although my experience was with older models. Also they have extensive manuals online for free downloading.
Good Luck, enjoy......
Thanks.

This is the first server-class machine I've bought, and it's impressive. Opening up the case reveals a first-rate modular design, with no wires getting in the way, very professional, clean design.

I intend to add a decent graphics card, though not sure which one. It has to be supported by OpenBSD, so nVidia is out. Maybe one of the Radeons...

Cheers.
__________________
dc -e '[q]sa[ln0=aln256%Pln256/snlbx]sb12247225403800449909543746snlbxq'
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 383
Default

I hesitated to buy one, two years ago, but...
Nice machine, good performances, nice modular design, but the HDD caddy trays are clearly outdated.
This kind of computer deserves pro trays, not just basic consumer trays.

But hey, anyway, nice machine

Quote:
Originally Posted by ip6ix View Post
I intend to add a decent graphics card, though not sure which one. It has to be supported by OpenBSD, so nVidia is out. Maybe one of the Radeons...
Be aware you purchased a professional machine, upgrades could be more restrictive.
Before buying anything, I recommend you to check your hardware.
Contact HP directly, take time to check with them, on a forum or something like that.

For example, what type of PSU do you have ? 460, 750 or 1200 W ?
With dual 2650 v2, I think you have minimum 750W, but not sure of that.
460W could be really restrictive for adding a new graphic card.

Also, some graphic cards, as AMD RX570, are PCI-e aux powered.
So with this kind of cards, you need to plug a 6-pin or 8-pin connector, depending on the card.
Just check you've got the connector, and that the existing connection is enabled.

On my ThinkStation, the connector is proprietary, I cannot use connectors sold with the cards, I need a specific Lenovo one.
And I need a 650W PSU minimum to enable this connector.
So, actually, my 490W PSU is restricted to non-aux powered card.

Could be useful to check that before any further purchase.
__________________
ThinkPad W500 P8700 6GB HD3650 SSD
ThinkStation P700 2x2620v3 32GB 1050ti SSD 3xHDD

Last edited by LeFrettchen; 3 Weeks Ago at 08:33 PM. Reason: Precision
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
ip6ix's Avatar
ip6ix ip6ix is online now
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 63
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeFrettchen View Post
I hesitated to buy one, two years ago, but...
Nice machine, good performances, nice modular design, but the HDD caddy trays are clearly outdated.
This kind of computer deserves pro trays, not just basic consumer trays.

But hey, anyway, nice machine
Thanks

Are pro trays something that could be swapped for the existing ones?
More importantly, what advantages would a pro tray give me?

Quote:
For example, what type of PSU do you have ? 460, 750 or 1200 W ?
With dual 2650 v2, I think you have minimum 750W, but not sure of that.
460W could be really restrictive for adding a new graphic card.
Actually they're 460W. Yes, I'd assumed that adding a more powerful graphics card would mean I'd have to upgrade the PSUs. Not a problem... upgrading is all part of the fun

There's no real urgency in getting a graphics card (well not much anyway ) I need to make sure it's the right one and that involves, as you say, doing my research.

Thanks again for your advice.
__________________
dc -e '[q]sa[ln0=aln256%Pln256/snlbx]sb12247225403800449909543746snlbxq'
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: France
Posts: 383
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ip6ix View Post
Are pro trays something that could be swapped for the existing ones?
Dunno.
Since I bought ThinkStation, I stopped gathering informations on Prolian

Quote:
Originally Posted by ip6ix View Post
More importantly, what advantages would a pro tray give me?
If you need to swap or change your HDDs, it's way more easy.
If you don't intend to swap HDDs frequently, no real needs.
__________________
ThinkPad W500 P8700 6GB HD3650 SSD
ThinkStation P700 2x2620v3 32GB 1050ti SSD 3xHDD
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
booting NetBSD with no monitor on HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen10 rdikarlus NetBSD Installation and Upgrading 2 19th April 2020 11:54 AM
I bought a ThinkStation LeFrettchen General Hardware 12 13th May 2019 09:18 PM
Compaq Proliant 1850R array setup issue Yuka General Hardware 0 22nd December 2008 03:31 PM
Sun Java System Web Server - Active Server Pages (yes ASP) hopla FreeBSD General 0 26th September 2008 08:22 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick