DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th March 2011
New User

Default Active Directory Authentication

I am just getting started with OpenBSD and have been doing a lot of reading, I have been through all of the FAQs and man pages. At this point I have a system which I did a base install on about a year ago (4.7 release), which I have updated to 4.7 stable. I am now looking at the process to upgrade this to 4.8, but that is for another day.

My immediate interest is being able to manage users on all platforms (Windows, Linux, BSD) from a central location. Now since Windows doesn't really offer much flexibility if I want some of the features I need I am forced into maintaining a Windows Active Directory domain. A few years back I did some extensive work in testing various methods of accomplishing the goal of authenticating Linux users to an Active Directory domain. My conclusion was that while possible to do this with only native packages (Kerberos, Samba, Winbind) the result was unreliable, more management overhead than needed, and I couldn't restrict logins by group. I did find some free third party solutions that allow me to do all of this easily and reliably (Centrify and Likewise if you are interested). Now fast forward and I am looking to add OpenBSD to the mix. None of the tools I normally use support OpenBSD.