DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2010
New User

Default Getting OpenBSD up and running

I am an absolute beginner on OpenBSD, and so I would like to know a couple of basic things.
What graphical desktop environments are available i.e. KDE, Gnome xfce and so on? Where can I get them? And how do I install them?
How do I install the graphics driver in order to enable 3 - D acceleration? And where can I find one? (I am using an Nvidia Geforce 6200 card).
How do I enable sound?
Where can I find all software applications for OpenBSD? And how do I install them?

My OpenBSD version is 4.6 (i386).

Thanks/
Larry.
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2010
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry View Post
What graphical desktop environments are available i.e. KDE, Gnome xfce and so on?
Two window managers are installed by default when X is installed:fvwm(1) is also configured to be the default window manager. Others are available in OpenBSD's official package system. An interspersed list can be found at the following:

http://openports.se/x11
Quote:
Where can I get them? And how do I install them?
You should familiarize yourself with OpenBSD's package system which is described in Section 15 of the FAQ.
Quote:
How do I enable sound?
This is addressed in Section 13 of the FAQ.

The OpenBSD project is small. Although you will find a number of sources across the Internet which discuss various aspects of the operating system, the very best source of information on all current aspects of OpenBSD is the official FAQ itself. Many of your questions are answered in this document, & you will save yourself significant aggravation & frustration by studying the entirety of this document now while new to the operating system & culture.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 13th May 2010
Shell Scout