DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd May 2014
gkbsd's Avatar
gkbsd gkbsd is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question OpenBSD 5.5 and Realtek 8111G support ?

Hello,

First post here, just a reader usually, hello :-)

I have bought a brandnew shuttle DS437 with a Realtek 8111G double network cards, and downloaded OpenBSD 5.5 amd64 released last May 1. I expected to build a home router/gateway and was very eager to begin.

However, although the network cards are detected as re0 and re1, and that link is detected, no traffic passes : no DHCP, and no reply from the gateway when given a fixed IP address (pinging my own address works however).

Below is the dmesg :
Code:
OpenBSD 5.5 (GENERIC.MP) #315: Wed Mar  5 09:37:46 MST 2014
    deraadt@amd64.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sys/arch/amd64/compile/GENERIC.MP
real mem = 4167335936 (3974MB)
avail mem = 4047790080 (3860MB)
mainbus0 at root
bios0 at mainbus0: SMBIOS rev. 2.7 @ 0xeb530 (73 entries)
bios0: vendor American Megatrends Inc. version "1.01" date 09/25/2013
bios0: Shuttle Inc. DS437
acpi0 at bios0: rev 2
acpi0: sleep states S0 S3 S4 S5
acpi0: tables DSDT FACP APIC FPDT MCFG SLIC HPET SSDT SSDT SSDT
acpi0: wakeup devices P0P1(S4) USB1(S3) USB2(S3) USB3(S3) USB4(S3) USB5(S3) USB6(S3) USB7(S3) PXSX(S4) RP01(S4) PXSX(S4) RP02(S4) PXSX(S4) RP03(S4) PXSX(S4) RP04(S4) [...]
acpitimer0 at acpi0: 3579545 Hz, 24 bits
acpimadt0 at acpi0 addr 0xfee00000: PC-AT compat
cpu0 at mainbus0: apid 0 (boot processor)
cpu0: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1037U @ 1.80GHz, 1796.20 MHz
cpu0: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,SSE3,PCLMUL,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,PCID,SSE4.1,SSE4.2,x2APIC,POPCNT,DEADLINE,XSAVE,NXE,LONG,LAHF,PERF,ITSC,FSGSBASE,SMEP,ERMS
cpu0: 256KB 64b/line 8-way L2 cache
cpu0: smt 0, core 0, package 0
mtrr: Pentium Pro MTRR support, 10 var ranges, 88 fixed ranges
cpu0: apic clock running at 99MHz
cpu0: mwait min=64, max=64, C-substates=0.2.1.1.2, IBE
cpu1 at mainbus0: apid 2 (application processor)
cpu1: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 1037U @ 1.80GHz, 1795.92 MHz
cpu1: FPU,VME,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,DS,ACPI,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,SS,HTT,TM,PBE,SSE3,PCLMUL,DTES64,MWAIT,DS-CPL,VMX,EST,TM2,SSSE3,CX16,xTPR,PDCM,PCID,SSE4.1,SSE4.2,x2APIC,POPCNT,DEADLINE,XSAVE,NXE,LONG,LAHF,PERF,ITSC,FSGSBASE,SMEP,ERMS
cpu1: 256KB 64b/line 8-way L2 cache
cpu1: smt 0, core 1, package 0
ioapic0 at mainbus0: apid 2 pa 0xfec00000, version 20, 24 pins
acpimcfg0 at acpi0 addr 0xf8000000, bus 0-63
acpihpet0 at acpi0: 14318179 Hz
acpiprt0 at acpi0: bus 0 (PCI0)
acpiprt1 at acpi0: bus -1 (P0P1)
acpiprt2 at acpi0: bus 1 (RP01)
acpiprt3 at acpi0: bus 2 (RP02)
acpiprt4 at acpi0: bus 3 (RP03)
acpiprt5 at acpi0: bus 4 (RP04)
acpiprt6 at acpi0: bus -1 (RP05)
acpiprt7 at acpi0: bus -1 (RP06)
acpiprt8 at acpi0: bus -1 (RP07)
acpiprt9 at acpi0: bus -1 (RP08)
acpiprt10 at acpi0: bus -1 (PEG0)
acpiprt11 at acpi0: bus -1 (PEG1)
acpiprt12 at acpi0: bus -1 (PEG2)
acpiprt13 at acpi0: bus -1 (PEG3)
acpiec0 at acpi0: Failed to read resource settings
acpicpu0 at acpi0: C2, C1, PSS
acpicpu1 at acpi0: C2, C1, PSS
acpipwrres0 at acpi0: FN00, resource for FAN0
acpipwrres1 at acpi0: FN01, resource for FAN1
acpipwrres2 at acpi0: FN02, resource for FAN2
acpipwrres3 at acpi0: FN03, resource for FAN3
acpipwrres4 at acpi0: FN04, resource for FAN4
acpitz0 at acpi0: critical temperature is 106 degC
acpitz1 at acpi0: critical temperature is 106 degC
acpibat0 at acpi0: BAT0 not present
acpibat1 at acpi0: BAT1 not present
acpibat2 at acpi0: BAT2 not present
acpibtn0 at acpi0: PWRB
acpibtn1 at acpi0: LID0
acpivideo0 at acpi0: GFX0
cpu0: Enhanced SpeedStep 1796 MHz: speeds: 1800, 1700, 1600, 1500, 1400, 1300, 1200, 1100, 1000, 900, 800, 774 MHz
pci0 at mainbus0 bus 0
pchb0 at pci0 dev 0 function 0 "Intel Core 3G Host" rev 0x09
vga1 at pci0 dev 2 function 0 "Intel HD Graphics 2500" rev 0x09
intagp0 at vga1
agp0 at intagp0: aperture at 0xe0000000, size 0x10000000
inteldrm0 at vga1
drm0 at inteldrm0
inteldrm0: 1680x1050
wsdisplay0 at vga1 mux 1: console (std, vt100 emulation)
wsdisplay0: screen 1-5 added (std, vt100 emulation)
"Intel 7 Series MEI" rev 0x04 at pci0 dev 22 function 0 not configured
ehci0 at pci0 dev 26 function 0 "Intel 7 Series USB" rev 0x04: apic 2 int 16
usb0 at ehci0: USB revision 2.0
uhub0 at usb0 "Intel EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
ppb0 at pci0 dev 28 function 0 "Intel 7 Series PCIE" rev 0xc4: msi
pci1 at ppb0 bus 1
ppb1 at pci0 dev 28 function 1 "Intel 7 Series PCIE" rev 0xc4: msi
pci2 at ppb1 bus 2
re0 at pci2 dev 0 function 0 "Realtek 8168" rev 0x0c: RTL8168G/8111G (0x4c00), msi, address 00:00:00:00:00:00
rgephy0 at re0 phy 7: RTL8251 PHY, rev. 0
ppb2 at pci0 dev 28 function 2 "Intel 7 Series PCIE" rev 0xc4: msi
pci3 at ppb2 bus 3
vendor "ASMedia", unknown product 0x1142 (class serial bus subclass USB, rev 0x00) at pci3 dev 0 function 0 not configured
ppb3 at pci0 dev 28 function 3 "Intel 7 Series PCIE" rev 0xc4: msi
pci4 at ppb3 bus 4
re1 at pci4 dev 0 function 0 "Realtek 8168" rev 0x0c: RTL8168G/8111G (0x4c00), msi, address 80:ee:73:83:50:ec
rgephy1 at re1 phy 7: RTL8251 PHY, rev. 0
ehci1 at pci0 dev 29 function 0 "Intel 7 Series USB" rev 0x04: apic 2 int 23
usb1 at ehci1: USB revision 2.0
uhub1 at usb1 "Intel EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
pcib0 at pci0 dev 31 function 0 "Intel NM70 LPC" rev 0x04
ahci0 at pci0 dev 31 function 2 "Intel 7 Series AHCI" rev 0x04: msi, AHCI 1.3
scsibus0 at ahci0: 32 targets
sd0 at scsibus0 targ 0 lun 0: <ATA, SanDisk SDSSDRC0, 3.0.> SCSI3 0/direct fixed naa.5001b44bc185a32c
sd0: 30533MB, 512 bytes/sector, 62533296 sectors, thin
ichiic0 at pci0 dev 31 function 3 "Intel 7 Series SMBus" rev 0x04: apic 2 int 18
iic0 at ichiic0
spdmem0 at iic0 addr 0x50: 4GB DDR3 SDRAM PC3-10600 SO-DIMM
isa0 at pcib0
isadma0 at isa0
com0 at isa0 port 0x3f8/8 irq 4: ns16550a, 16 byte fifo
com1 at isa0 port 0x2f8/8 irq 3: ns16550a, 16 byte fifo
pckbc0 at isa0 port 0x60/5
pcppi0 at isa0 port 0x61
spkr0 at pcppi0
it0 at isa0 port 0x2e/2: IT8728F rev 1, EC port 0xa30
uhub2 at uhub0 port 1 "Intel Rate Matching Hub" rev 2.00/0.00 addr 2
uhub3 at uhub2 port 1 "Alcor Micro product 0x6254" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 3
uhidev0 at uhub3 port 3 configuration 1 interface 0 "vendor 0x0b38 product 0x0010" rev 1.10/1.02 addr 4
uhidev0: iclass 3/1
ukbd0 at uhidev0: 8 variable keys, 6 key codes
wskbd0 at ukbd0: console keyboard, using wsdisplay0
Also the "ifconfig" shows 100Mbps cards, whereas they are 1Gbps ones.

I am very surprised because the OpenBSD 5.5 changelog says (emphasis is mine) :
Quote:
Add initial RTL8106E and RTL8168G/8111G support to re(4).
Did I do anything wrong ? What could I try to solve this issue ?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Guillaume.

Last edited by gkbsd; 2nd May 2014 at 05:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd May 2014
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,610
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gkbsd View Post
Hello,

First post here, just a reader usually, hello :-)
Hello, and welcome!

Nothing jumps out at me in the dmesg that indicates a problem. The re(4) devices do not require externally distributed firmware, which s can cause operational grief when doing a new install -- those need a working NIC or another system in order to obtain firmware to get the NIC requiring external firmware to work.
Quote:
Also the "ifconfig" shows 100Mbps cards, whereas they are 1Gbps ones.
I have that with an alc(4) NIC, which I understand is due to how the phy is attached. Even so, this should not eliminate your use of the NICs.

I'd like to see the output of ifconfig(8).

Without that, I will attempt to guess: your NICs are assigned device numbers based on the order of hardware discovery, not on which is first/second or top/bottom or left/right. Swapping cables or device numbers of your hostname.* files might resolve the issue.

(Disclaimer: I may not be able to help even with ifconfig output.)

Last edited by jggimi; 2nd May 2014 at 07:29 PM. Reason: clarity
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd May 2014
gkbsd's Avatar
gkbsd gkbsd is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for your reply

I just did the ifconfig :
Code:
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 33144
	priority: 0
	groups: lo
	inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
	inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
	inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
re0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
	lladdr 00:00:00:00:00:00
	priority: 0
	groups: egress
	media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX full-duplex,rxpause,txpause)
	status: active
	inet 192.168.1.70 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
	inet6 fe80::82ee:73ff:fe83:50ec%re0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
re1: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
	lladdr 80:ee:73:83:50:ec
	priority: 0
	media: Ethernet autoselect (none)
	status: no carrier
enc0: flags=0<>
	priority: 0
	groups: enc
	status: active
pflog0: flags=141<UP,RUNNING,PROMISC> mtu 33144
	priority: 0
	groups: pflog
re0 is the only one connected at the moment (bottom ethernet plug).

In the meantime, I tried with the snapshot from May 1, which is I suppose OpenBSD 5.5 current (never tried something else than the stable/release branch before), and at the network configuration DHCP fails, if I CTRL+C and try various ping, I cannot join the other computer of the LAN. I stopped the test here and rebooted to come back to the installed stable release.

I have a VM running OpenBSD 5.4 (VirtualBox) and I have no issue with, it works fine. It seems driver related ?

Any idea will be welcome I'll try changing orders between the two ethernet adapter as you sugested.

Regards,
Guillaume.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd May 2014
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,610
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Here's what I see:
  • re0 does not have a valid MAC address assigned. It's 00:00:00:00:00:00, which is incorrect. I'm going to assume the card isn't working properly, even though it has a valid IPv4 address and netmask assigned.
  • re1 has a valid MAC address, but is otherwise disconnected (no carrier) and no address assignments.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd May 2014
gkbsd's Avatar
gkbsd gkbsd is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Good point for the MAC address, never saw that before.

I assigned a valid MAC address to re0 with "ifconfig", disabled ipv6 on both card, assigned a valid IP address to re1, rebooted and checked the routes and did some tests. Unfortunately I'm still cut from the network.

New ifconfig :
Code:
lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 33144
	priority: 0
	groups: lo
	inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
	inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x4
	inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
re0: flags=28843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST,NOINET6> mtu 1500
	lladdr 80:ee:73:83:50:e0
	priority: 0
	groups: egress
	media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX full-duplex,rxpause,txpause)
	status: active
	inet 192.168.1.70 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
re1: flags=28843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST,NOINET6> mtu 1500
	lladdr 80:ee:73:83:50:ec
	priority: 0
	media: Ethernet autoselect (none)
	status: no carrier
	inet 10.0.0.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.0.0.255
enc0: flags=0<>
	priority: 0
	groups: enc
	status: active
pflog0: flags=141<UP,RUNNING,PROMISC> mtu 33144
	priority: 0
	groups: pflog
Routing table :
Quote:
Internet:
Destination Gateway Flags Refs Use Mtu Prio Iface
default 192.168.1.1 UGS 1 800 - 8 re0
10.0.0/24 link#2 C 0 0 - 4 re1
127/8 127.0.0.1 UGRS 0 0 33144 8 lo0
127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 UH 1 0 33144 4 lo0
192.168.1/24 link#1 UC 2 0 - 4 re0
192.168.1.1 link#1 UHRLc 1 829 - 4 re0
192.168.1.70 80:ee:73:83:50:e0 UHLc 0 6 - 4 lo0
224/4 127.0.0.1 URS 0 0 33144 8 lo0

Internet6:
Destination Gateway Flags Refs Use Mtu Prio Iface
::/104 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
::/96 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
::1 ::1 UH 14 0 33144 4 lo0
::127.0.0.0/104 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
::224.0.0.0/100 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
::255.0.0.0/104 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
::ffff:0.0.0.0/96 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
2002::/24 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
2002:7f00::/24 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
2002:e000::/20 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
2002:ff00::/24 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
fe80::/10 ::1 UGRS 2 0 - 8 lo0
fe80::%lo0/64 fe80::1%lo0 U 0 0 - 4 lo0
fe80::1%lo0 link#4 UHL 0 0 - 4 lo0
fec0::/10 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
ff01::/16 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
ff01::%lo0/32 fe80::1%lo0 UC 0 0 - 4 lo0
ff02::/16 ::1 UGRS 0 0 - 8 lo0
ff02::%lo0/32 fe80::1%lo0 UC 0 0 - 4 lo0
arp -an :
Quote:
? (192.168.1.1) at (incomplete) on re0
? (192.168.1.70) at 80:ee:73:83:50:e0 on re0 static
ping : the ouput "Host is down" was not captured on the log file :
Quote:
ping: wrote 192.168.1.1 64 chars, ret=-1
ping: wrote 192.168.1.1 64 chars, ret=-1
ping: wrote 192.168.1.1 64 chars, ret=-1
ping: wrote 192.168.1.1 64 chars, ret=-1

--- 192.168.1.1 ping statistics ---
5 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100.0% packet loss
I'm still trying.

EDIT : found someone with a similar problem on OpenBSD 5.3 amd64 with a Shuttle DS47, he apparently had to recompile his kernel : http://openbsd.7691.n7.nabble.com/sh...-td235978.html Should I report a bug somewhere ?

Regards,
Guillaume.

Last edited by gkbsd; 2nd May 2014 at 09:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd May 2014
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,610
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

I'm going to guess again. The zeroed MAC address for re0 indicates some sort of low level problem -- hardware or driver. The no carrier for re1 indicates a bad cable, bad connector, or bad hardware at either end of the cable.

Swap cables between NICs. See if the active carrier currently available but unusable by re0 becomes available to re1 when the cables swap.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd May 2014
gkbsd's Avatar
gkbsd gkbsd is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry if I didn't clearly mentioned it, I did not connect yet the re1 card, that's why it has no active link. When I plug re1 it becomes active, but I still have no network access.

I switched the IP addresses between re0 and re1, and unplugged re0, to plug re1 (ifconfig extract) :
Quote:
re0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
lladdr 80:ee:73:83:50:e0
priority: 0
media: Ethernet autoselect (none)
status: no carrier
inet 10.0.0.1 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.0.0.255
inet6 fe80::82ee:73ff:fe83:50e0%re0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
re1: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
lladdr 80:ee:73:83:50:ec
priority: 0
groups: egress
media: Ethernet autoselect (100baseTX full-duplex,rxpause,txpause)
status: active
inet 192.168.1.70 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
inet6 fe80::82ee:73ff:fe83:50ec%re1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2
I rebooted, the routes were correct, the default became re1, but it didn't correct the problem.

EDIT : I connected both re0 and re1 at the same time, both becomes active, but still no network, even after a reboot.

Last edited by gkbsd; 2nd May 2014 at 09:30 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd May 2014
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,610
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

The zeroed MAC address is of concern. If it is still zeroed without setting the lladdr manually, plugging in cables isn't going to help the issue with re0. I don't understand why it was zeroed and re1 was not.
Quote:
..found someone with a similar problem on OpenBSD 5.3 amd64 with a Shuttle DS47...
That patch or something similar is in your release.
Code:
----------------------------
revision 1.145
date: 2013/10/11 14:00:18;  author: jsg;  state: Exp;  lines: +23 -2
Add initial RTL8106E and RTL8168G/8111G support.
An earlier version didn't seem to work on a machine bmercer@
had access to a few months ago but this seems to work
with the onboard Ethernet in an ASUS Z87 board RD Thrush has.
----------------------------
You might make a formal report to the bugs@ mailing list, or an informal report to the misc@ mailing list. Either way, do include both your dmesg and your ifconfig output. If you refer to two NICs, please include that only one is connected but neither work.

I would use your -current snapshot rather than 5.5-release for your report. If you receive a patch to test, you won't be easily able to apply it without a functioning network. We can help you remotely, by building a kernel for you (if you trust us) to copy/paste to a USB stick and then copy to your root directory for testing.

Last edited by jggimi; 2nd May 2014 at 09:43 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 2nd May 2014
gkbsd's Avatar
gkbsd gkbsd is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you very much for your assistance! I will follow your advice and install the current version, then submit a bug report in either mailing list, probably in "misc" as I am not an OpenBSD veteran with experience, who can tell/affirm it is a bug (even if it definitely seems to be).

I will keep your informed

Regards,
Guillaume.
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2014
gkbsd's Avatar
gkbsd gkbsd is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

OMG ! Installing OpenBSD 5.5 amd64 current makes my network working ! I guess my test of starting to install the 'current', stop it and try to do some ping was not a good test.

I am now doing some real testing, I will connect both cards, make a gateway with NAT will confirm you it is indeed working or not. I'll make another post tomorrow with more details of my various tests :-)

Thank you so much for your help ;-)

Regards,
Guillaume.
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2014
LeFrettchen's Avatar
LeFrettchen LeFrettchen is offline
Marveled user
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bronvaux, France
Posts: 107
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jggimi View Post
Here's what I see:
  • re0 does not have a valid MAC address assigned. It's 00:00:00:00:00:00, which is incorrect.
Well, that was already indicated with dmesg :
Code:
re0 at pci2 dev 0 function 0 "Realtek 8168" rev 0x0c: RTL8168G/8111G (0x4c00), msi, address 00:00:00:00:00:00



Quote:
Originally Posted by gkbsd View Post
OMG ! Installing OpenBSD 5.5 amd64 current makes my network working ! I guess my test of starting to install the 'current', stop it and try to do some ping was not a good test.
Good point !
__________________
In case of emergency
Reply With Quote
Old 2nd May 2014
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,610
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Thanks, LeFretchen. I'd missed the MAC in the dmesg.

With a snapshot, you are running -current. It is a development branch that constantly changes. You may stay with the snapshot you have or upgrade from snapshot to snapshot from this point forward. There is no downgrade to -release from -current. However, where you are now can be upgraded to 5.6-release in November.

See FAQ 5.1 for a discussion of the flavors of OpenBSD and a description of the development cycle.

There are "snapshot packages" available for convenience, but they are never exactly in-sync with snapshots. There may be times you must wait for a refresh of those packages or a refresh of snapshots, in order to upgrade or install those packages. Otherwise, you must take the path of building from ports. The OS and all third party software must be kept in sync, per FAQ 15.4.1.

Last edited by jggimi; 2nd May 2014 at 10:32 PM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2014
gkbsd's Avatar
gkbsd gkbsd is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I was able to build the two packages I needed, thanks.

The box is now a nice working gateway for my LAN (NAT/PF), serving encrypted DNS cache (named/dnsproxy), DHCP, VPN. I couldn't have even started without your help, I am very grateful for that, thank you very much

I guess now I have to be very careful about modifyng anything, having a current flavor installed.

Regards,
Guillaume.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtio Support :: OpenBSD liquidshane OpenBSD General 3 23rd June 2012 10:13 PM
OpenBSD Support for Realtek 802.11n USB devices J65nko News 0 18th December 2010 11:00 PM
OpenBSD 4.7 Kernel threads support rohitk OpenBSD General 6 28th July 2010 05:28 AM
Realtek Gigabit 8169SC Network card not workies!! ashleyd FreeBSD General 5 11th August 2008 12:50 PM
Does OpenBSD support WPA? Dazhelpwiz OpenBSD General 3 25th May 2008 01:26 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick