DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Security

FreeBSD Security Securing FreeBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd August 2008
Fdisk Soldier

Question jails, aliasing, router, and dmz?

I was wondering,

I want to set up an ftpd. My freebsd computer is behind a router and i dont really know enough about firewalls to set one up properly although im starting to read up on pf lately and hopefully before too long understand it better. I have jails set up finally and am running httpd on one, and an ftpd on another. My host is pretty much not running any open connections anymore (besides ssh) now that I know how to jail them. How much of a security risk is it, and is it even possible, to have the ip of the ftpd set in the dmz on my router? im running pureftpd and want to know exactly how much of a risk that is. That is the only open connection on that jail. I dont even have ssh running in it. Im just learning now so please bear with me.

Thanks.
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd August 2008
Banned

It's possible, but security is always a debatable topic... the real question is, why do you want to "dmz" the "jail" if it's only running an ftpd?

Only tcp ports 20 and 21 need to be forwarded.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd August 2008
Fdisk Soldier

Well I dont know how crazy this is, but im not running it on port 21. Im running it on a much higher port and in passive mode. It seems to use allot of data ports. I dont really know wtf im doing so it may be easier to solve this problem than I think. As it sits, I have "LOTS" of data ports forwarded to that ip along with the data ports being regulated by the ftpd itself.
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd August 2008
Banned

What you're looking for is ftp-proxy(8).

I agree, ftp is a horrible protocol... active mode causes problems with NAT, and passive mode causes problems with firewalls.
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd August 2008
Administrator

ftp uses 2 separated connections