DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd September 2013
Hardcore OpenBSD User

Default OpenBSD 5.4 Nvidia Driver Issue and KDE Desktop disappearing text.

Hi all,

I have been using OpenBSD for the last 8 years. It does an excellent job as a firewall and partial desktop. Here is my dilemma listed below.

Scenario:
I have used OpenBSD 5.3 on my older PC using motherboard GA-8IK1100 and a Nvidia GeForce4 Ti 4600 - 128MB DDR (AGP 4x) - RAMDAC 350MHz, using NV25 chip. All has worked well.

Attacked files:
1. dmesg.boot_OB53
2. Xorg.0.log_OB53
3. dmesg.boot_OB54
4. Xorg.0.log_OB54
5. xorg.conf_OB54

I next tried a (NEW) install with OpenBSD 5.4 snapshot from the Alberta, Canada ftp web link using the openbsd.org/pub/OpenBSD/snapshots/i386 and openbsd.org/pub/OpenBSD/snapshots/packages/i368.

I use KDE for my Desktop display and only install kdebase-3.5.10p25.tgz as minimal KDE setup.

I had no problems with basic console setup after installation of OpenBSD 5.4 snapshot. The problem started with the installation of kdebase-3.5.10p25.tgz. I did my basic KDE setup as usual. The desktop pops up with text disappearing on my display monitor.

I created a (NEW) xcorg.conf file and copied it to the /etc directory. I am using the "nv" and "vesa" settings from the OpenBSD manual for this configuration. After some experimentation, I noticed that if I change Option "NoAccel" "false" and Option "ShadowFB" "false", I get the text disappearing on my LCD display. Next if I, change Option "NoAccel" "true" and Option "ShadowFB" "false", I get the text appearing on the LCD display. The only problem with this is that the KDE Konqueror Windows display properly, but if moved, they refresh themselves very slowly.

Attachment "xorg.conf_OB54.txt" causes the disappearing text on KDE desktop.