DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > Programming

Programming C, bash, Python, Perl, PHP, Java, you name it.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd January 2012
bsdstudent

Default What should be my first language?

Hello to everybody !!

franky speaking , being a total newbie both in the *Nix world as well as the programming field I wonder what programming lge might be more beneficial to me than others ..

ksh scripting ? perl ? python ?
they say python is clement as to beginners but I feel perl can help me advance better in 'daemonology' ..
right ,
Daemonologists ?
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd January 2012
Administrator

Quote:
Originally Posted by daemonfowl View Post
franky speaking , being a total newbie both in the *Nix world as well as the programming field I wonder what programming lge might be more beneficial to me than others ..
This is a frequently posted question.

I have two recommendations.
  • Being able to script utilitarian common maintenance tasks is a useful skill.

As a new (Open)BSD user, one of the first things you should consider going forth -- especially as you experiment with new tasks/exercises which you may not have done before -- is having a means of backing up & restoring an installed system. Everyone will goose a configuration at one time or another, so it is important that any foreseen or unforeseen mistake does not become a disaster by deleting critical data, & only you can define/decide what is critical & how much work do you want to take on in recovering a system. So consider writing backup shell scripts as a first exercise.
  • As to the choice between Perl & Python, I would suggest Python as newcomers will likely find it more natural to write. Python does not possess the syntactic baggage of other languages.