DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Ports and Packages

FreeBSD Ports and Packages Installation and upgrading of ports and packages on FreeBSD.

#1   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th June 2008
Fdisk Soldier

Default Your favorite way of maintaining ports

Hi I am still kind of new at using FreeBSD so I was curious about everyones favorite way of updating/upgrading their ports.

I am using portsnap and portupgrade to handle everything right now and it's really easy and I have no complaints. I heard there is occasional dependency issues amongst some of the port upgraders and sometimes some work better than others.

I kind of wanted to start a poll but I couldn't find the option for it so it would be really cool for some feedback instead about your favorite port upgraders and why you like them over others.

Thanks a lot
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th June 2008
Fdisk Soldier

I've been using portmaster for over a year now. It's nice, clean and doesn't create another database to keep track of installed software. And if I remember well it never gave me any headaches with dependencies.
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th June 2008
UNIX lover

I'm using portmaster now because portupgrade isn't dependable anymore.
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th June 2008
Port Guard

I use portsnap and portmaster. I used portupgrade earlier, and it mostly works fine. But having to maintain the database manually to resolve conflicts was a drawback. I have little experience with portmaster, just used it for one month, but no problems yet.
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th June 2008
Package Pilot

I too am using portmaster, but mainly because I got tired of the ruby requirement with portupgrade (plus I like that it doesn't keep a different database).