DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading

OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading OpenBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th June 2008
Quaxo Quaxo is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question How do I skip format on some partitions in a fresh install?

Hello!

Im about to upgrade my server to OpenBSD 4.3 and I have something I must understand before I start...

How do I save partitions ("/backup" and "/home") from being formatted in the install procedure? As far as I can see in http://www.openbsd.org/faq/faq4.html#Disks you will always end up formatting ALL partitions in the last step.

The only idea I have for a solution is to type "!" for a command prompt and format the non /backup and /home partitions manually (dunno what to type to do it though). Then just continue with the installation (skipping the format step ofcourse). But if I can skip doing this manually I would be more then happy.


Take care
/Quaxo
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th June 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,435
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

The only partition that has a mandatory format is "a". To avoid formatting other partitions, do not assign a mount point to them.

After the installation has completed, you may edit /etc/fstab manually. You can do this from within the ramdisk kernel after the script completes, if you wish. Your "a" partition will be mounted in /mnt, and all other mount points mounted within. So:

# /mnt/usr/sbin/chroot /mnt /bin/ksh
# env TERM=vt220 vi /etc/fstab
# exit
# reboot

Or you can edit /etc/fstab after booting your new system.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th June 2008
Quaxo Quaxo is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jggimi View Post
The only partition that has a mandatory format is "a". To avoid formatting other partitions, do not assign a mount point to them.
Ok, so you mean that i just type 'none' on those mount points not to be formatted at the step shown below?

((the following is the example from http://www.openbsd.org/faq/faq4.html#Disks))
Mount point for wd0d (size=128520k)? (or 'none' or 'done') [/tmp] Enter
Mount point for wd0e (size=83160k)? (or 'none' or 'done') [/var] Enter
Mount point for wd0g (size=6297480k)? (or 'none' or 'done') [/usr] Enter
Mount point for wd0h (size=4195800k)? (or 'none' or 'done') [/home] Enter
Mount point for wd0d (size=128520k)? (or 'none' or 'done') [/tmp] done
No more disks to initialize.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th June 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,435
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Correct. In this case, you would want to select "none" for /home.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th June 2008
Quaxo Quaxo is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I see. Thank you very much!

/Quaxo
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th June 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,435
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Depending on how many releases back your OS is, and how complicated your environment is, you might find conducting upgrades easier than a new installation.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th June 2008
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,834
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jggimi View Post
Depending on how many releases back your OS is, and how complicated your environment is, you might find conducting upgrades easier than a new installation.
Wholeheartedly agreed.

Note, however, that upgrades have to be done sequentially. eg. An OpenBSD 4.0 system still has to be upgraded to 4.1 first, followed by upgrading to 4.2, & finally upgrading to 4.3. Skipping intermediate versions is not supported.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 25th June 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

It should also be noted that upgrading leaves previously installed libraries, for instance, if you did as ocicat said, each major revision of libc would remain in /usr/lib..

Sometimes I might do a upgrade, but only once.. going from 4.0->4.1->4.2->4.3 is bound to leave a mess. (albeit a little one..), and if you properly setup disklabels it's often easier to perform a re-installation.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 25th June 2008
Quaxo Quaxo is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 29
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Its only from 4.2 to 4.3 so an upgrade is possible. However, I want to make a complete install for 2 reasons...

1) v4.3 supports my new hardware much better then v4.2 did, so I can hopefully remove an old network card and get a much better working SATA. For this reason I have the feeling its better to make a complete reinstall to really know whats working or not.

2) I want to see how its working using a full install together with two custom scripts. One script that prepares the new install by backing up files etc., and one that sets everything up again with new packages and so on. I dont know how I should backup users yet though, thats something im working on right now.
Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,435
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Heh. I have a server where I've been upgrading continuously since 3.6. It uses RAIDframe with root-on-RAID, so a fresh install has never once been considered.

My systems are all -current, so I either upgrade from snapshot to snapshot, or rebuild, depending on the system.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Doing a fresh install - what to save? Bruco FreeBSD General 4 30th May 2009 01:49 PM
Can't Print (Fresh First Time install) BSD newb Xero FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 4 15th February 2009 07:11 PM
back to BSD for a breath of fresh air need help with Nvidia please whispersGhost FreeBSD General 6 22nd January 2009 09:36 PM
partitions italogf FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 5 7th July 2008 12:14 PM
strange with dvd+rw-format cyberboy FreeBSD General 0 26th May 2008 05:43 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick