DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th February 2019
shep shep is offline
Real Name: Scott
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 1,240
Default RAM for Desktop Use

I noticed that my latest system, with 8GB ram, performs significantly better than the old 4GB system. Seems to have fewer browser core dumps. The improvement was marginal when booting Debian Buster. I typically do not open more than 5 browser tabs and have seen tests where some tabs can consume 2GB.

I don't see it as a flaw, just the cost of a secure platform that does not tolerate memory leaks or pledge violations.

It does raise the question: If 8GB is better than 4GB in OpenBSD, would 16GB be even better? RAM is relatively cheap and I have the slots.

Last edited by shep; 9th February 2019 at 07:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th February 2019
bsd-keith bsd-keith is offline
Real Name: Keith
Open Source Software user
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Surrey/Hants Border, England
Posts: 184
Default

I don't know - I'm using just 2GB ram, & haven't had any browser core dumps using firefox - but then, I only ever have one or two tabs open at any one time.

My old Linux systems used to struggle a bit with just 1GB ram, but since upping it to 2GB, I haven't had any problems using firefox.

Edit: If you've got the money, & inclination, why not, software tends to increase its ram usage year on year.
__________________
Linux since 1999, & also a BSD user.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th February 2019
fvgit's Avatar
fvgit fvgit is offline
Tempvs fvgit
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: perl -MMIME::Base64 -le 'print decode_base64("SGVyZSBiZSBkcmFnb25zC")'
Posts: 159
Default

2GB RAM only here as well and currently 29 browser tabs open. Coredumps have become a rare occurence for me too.

It's still necessary for me to restart Firefox every once in a while or it'll slow to a crawl due to heavy swapping when using more than a few tabs. But I'm not complaining. That being said, my next system is going to have as much RAM as I can justify spending money on.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 12th February 2019
hrsetrdr's Avatar
hrsetrdr hrsetrdr is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 25
Default

RAM prices had gotten pushed crazy high by crypto-mining, also by cell phone production[allegedly].

Prices are supposed to come down some thjs coming year.

I prefer 2 gigs minimum, of course the more the better
__________________
Supermicro X9DRD-7LN4F-JBOD | (2) Xeon E5-2670 | 32GB DDR3 ECC Registered |OpenBSD 6.4
Endeavoring to resolve my Linux dependancies.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th February 2019
jak3b jak3b is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 6
Default

I have 8 gigs and find that to be more than enough for everything I have thrown at it.Looking at top with an insane amount of programs open and tags I have never seen more than 3 gigs usage. I do set bufcachepercent to 90. I find that once I am up and running this speeds up responce considerably.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th February 2019
shep shep is offline
Real Name: Scott
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 1,240
Default

My sense is that many limits are a percentage of the available RAM so throwing money toward more RAM would produce more leak tolerance. My own preference is to configure the system for the tasks. In my case, web browsing, with www/iridium, is what my computer does 85% of the time.

The documentation tells how to adjust limits and there are scattered, un-official web postings/guides recommending adjustment of memory limits/buffers/processes but I have not found anything that details how to decide what to adjust.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 16th February 2019
Head_on_a_Stick's Avatar
Head_on_a_Stick Head_on_a_Stick is offline
Real Name: Matthew
Bloaty McBloatFace
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: London
Posts: 135
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shep View Post
II typically do not open more than 5 browser tabs and have seen tests where some tabs can consume 2GB.
Really?

Have you tried www/chromium?

My OpenBSD box only has 4GiB but it never seems to use more than ~1.5GiB, even with lots of tabs open, and I hardly ever have core dumps.

I also have Debian buster on the same machine and OpenBSD is consistently "lighter" on RAM usage, FWIW.
__________________
Linux is for people who hate Windows. BSD is for people who love UNIX.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 16th February 2019
shep shep is offline
Real Name: Scott
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dry and Dusty
Posts: 1,240
Default

Quote:
Really?
I got this search hit when I started looking at this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HnuNs_Nu46Q

I can't vouch that it is true
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cannot use remote desktop sw2wolf OpenBSD General 8 9th November 2017 10:46 PM
Your Desktop OS? Carpetsmoker Off-Topic 81 13th November 2011 12:17 AM
Use a server as a desktop? Randux Solaris 10 26th June 2011 11:02 AM
Does the New FreeBSD have a Desktop Marred FreeBSD General 5 16th December 2010 06:07 PM
NetBSD 5 as a desktop jaideep_jdof NetBSD Package System (pkgsrc) 5 12th September 2009 06:46 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick