DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > Miscellaneous > General software and network

General software and network General OS-independent software and network questions, X11, MTA, routing, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 18th June 2008
c0mrade's Avatar
c0mrade c0mrade is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Zone problem

Hi all,

I have bought a VPS and want to host my website on this machine.. the company where I bought it provided me with nameservers ips and hostnames for them so hostname for first nameserver is NS149210.RAPIDVPS.NET and it corresponds to 208.84.149.210 and hostname for secondary nameserver is NS15135.RAPIDVPS.NET and it corresponds to this ip 208.84.151.35 . I've installed caching-nameservers package and I'm using Centos 5 and here is my named.caching-nameserver.conf
Code:
options {
        listen-on port 53 { 127.0.0.1; };
        listen-on-v6 port 53 { ::1; };
        directory       "/var/named";
        dump-file       "/var/named/data/cache_dump.db";
        statistics-file "/var/named/data/named_stats.txt";
        memstatistics-file "/var/named/data/named_mem_stats.txt";
        query-source    port 53;
        query-source-v6 port 53;
        allow-query     { localhost; };
};
logging {
        channel default_debug {
                file "data/named.run";
                severity dynamic;
        };
};
view localhost_resolver {
        match-clients      { localhost; };
        match-destinations { localhost; };
        recursion yes;
        include "/etc/named.rfc1912.zones";
};
And zone file named "named.rfc1912.zones"

Code:
zone "." IN {
        type hint;
        file "named.ca";
};

zone "localdomain" IN {
        type master;
        file "localdomain.zone";
        allow-update { none; };
};

zone "localhost" IN {
        type master;
        file "localhost.zone";
        allow-update { none; };
};

zone "komentari.info" IN {
        type master;
        file "/var/named/komentari.info.zone";
        allow-update { none; };
};

zone "0.0.127.in-addr.arpa" IN {
        type master;
        file "named.local";
        allow-update { none; };
};

zone "0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.ip6.arpa" IN {
        type master;
        file "named.ip6.local";
        allow-update { none; };
};

zone "255.in-addr.arpa" IN {
        type master;
        file "named.broadcast";
        allow-update { none; };
};

zone "0.in-addr.arpa" IN {
        type master;
        file "named.zero";
        allow-update { none; };
};
Now I've modified zone file by adding my zone for my domain name which I want to host on this machine added this
Code:
zone "komentari.info" IN {
        type master;
        file "/var/named/komentari.info.zone";
        allow-update { none; };
};
Then I created /var/named/chroot/var/named/komentari.info.zone with this content
Code:
$TTL 14400
@      86400    IN      SOA     NS149210.RAPIDVPS.NET. hexteam.gmail.com. (
                2008170717      ; serial, todays date+todays
                86400           ; refresh, seconds
                7200            ; retry, seconds
                3600000         ; expire, seconds
                86400 )         ; minimum, seconds

komentari.info. 86400 IN NS NS149210.RAPIDVPS.NET.
komentari.info. 86400 IN NS NS15135.RAPIDVPS.NET.

komentari.info. IN A 208.84.149.210

localhost.komentari.info. IN A 127.0.0.1

komentari.info. IN MX 0 komentari.info.

mail IN CNAME komentari.info.
www IN CNAME komentari.info.
ftp IN CNAME komentari.info.
Then I created link "ln -s /var/named/chroot/var/named/ komentari.info.zone /var/named/komentari.info.zone"

Then I restarted named and apache and now I finally come to the question.. What am I doing wrong since I can't ping nor can't perform nslookup on komentari.info domain?

Thank you for any answers
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th June 2008
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,157
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

How about using the zone file I posted in http://daemonforums.org/showpost.php?p=3927&postcount=9 ?

Don't forget the named log file for any errors
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st June 2008
c0mrade's Avatar
c0mrade c0mrade is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

not working again m8, I think zone files are ok but I think my problem lies in configuring named service .. do you perhaps have some good tutorial link for me to configure named properly.. I found couple of bad ones so still having issues ... thank you
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd June 2008
c0mrade's Avatar
c0mrade c0mrade is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 41
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Finaly got things working, I was modifying wrong files the whole time lol .. I found some sample files here. Thank you J65nko for your effort. I pasted the link so people don't have to go trough troubles like I did, not intended to spam if I did.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot problem. Geometry problem? gulanito FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 0 3rd July 2009 03:03 AM
DMZ zone - I can't find a mistake... maurobottone OpenBSD Security 23 11th January 2009 11:27 PM
pkg inside non-global zone? nacredata Solaris 2 30th September 2008 11:50 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick