DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th July 2008
cysquatch cysquatch is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default 32bit freebsd 7 on 64x2 system for desktop

Greetings one and all!
::warning, this is a bit of a "in linux i did this n that" post::

Okay, moving right along...
Ive used linux for a few years, am interested in converting, did some research on the software and found I can go ahead with a freebsd system for my desktop.

Some hardware questions though:

I have a dual core AMDX2 that I want to run with a 32bit os. I got the processor as a cheap upgrade to a dual-core processor. It's a funky socket that also supported a 32-bit Sempron when I recieved the system. Socket 939 or something like that. It was short lived.

My plan is to run a 32-bit smp kernel on said processor. Should work?

In using a GNU/Linux system, I always have had to pass the noapic option and use the VESA driver on my Nvidia 7300 GT PCIE card until the NVIDIA drivers could be downloaded and installed. So my question is this:
Will smp work in 32-bit on a 64-bit kernel. Again I want to just run straight 32-bit across the board. And second, will FreeBSD recognize my PCIE card?
Thanks, for any info you can provide!
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th July 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

as i understand you will be running FreeBSD amd64, right?
If so, i warn you that nvidia drivers aren't available for 64bit.....

32bit should work

Last edited by graudeejs; 14th July 2008 at 06:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th July 2008
LateNiteTV LateNiteTV is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

32 bit will work. i run it on my amd64 just fine. it enables smp by default and recognizes multiple cores.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th July 2008
roddierod's Avatar
roddierod roddierod is offline
Real Name: Rod Person
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 383
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Default

the PCIe card should be no problem. I have GeForce 7800 GTX PCIe and it runs fine with the nv xorg driver or the Nvidia driver and on the console.
__________________
"The basic tool for the manipulation of reality is the manipulation of words. If you can control the meaning of words, you can control the people who must use the words." -Philip K. Dick
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th July 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Right, i386+SMP on a AMD64 system, yes, that will work...
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th July 2008
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cysquatch View Post
is this:
Will smp work in 32-bit on a 64-bit kernel. Again I want to just run straight 32-bit across the board. And second, will FreeBSD recognize my PCIE card?
Thanks, for any info you can provide!
SMP works on i386 and amd64 versions of FreeBSD


My desktop used an nVidia GeForce 6200 till it died and now a 8400GS card, all PCI Express x16 without problems.


nVidia drivers == better on 32-bit so I hear, so I would assume that's a fair reason to go with i386 instead of amd64 -> not that I bother with X that much lol.

Others here would know better about the drivers performance.
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th July 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

Install the 32-bit i386 version of FreeBSD. That will run your CPU in 32-bit mode, and everything will "just work".
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 14th July 2008
LateNiteTV LateNiteTV is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryP View Post
SMP works on i386 and amd64 versions of FreeBSD


My desktop used an nVidia GeForce 6200 till it died and now a 8400GS card, all PCI Express x16 without problems.


nVidia drivers == better on 32-bit so I hear, so I would assume that's a fair reason to go with i386 instead of amd64 -> not that I bother with X that much lol.
Others here would know better about the drivers performance.
lol they only work on 32bit. theres a great thread about this crap on nVnews.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th July 2008
Weaseal's Avatar
Weaseal Weaseal is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 177
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cysquatch View Post
....It's a funky socket that also supported a 32-bit Sempron when I recieved the system. Socket 939 or something like that. It was short lived.
I don't mean to nit-pick but Socket 939 was absolutely NOT short-lived or funky :P it enjoyed many years of popular success.
__________________
FreeBSD addict since 4.2-RELEASE.
My FreeBSD wiki.
Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,088
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LateNiteTV View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by TerryP
SMP works on i386 and amd64 versions of FreeBSD


My desktop used an nVidia GeForce 6200 till it died and now a 8400GS card, all PCI Express x16 without problems.


nVidia drivers == better on 32-bit so I hear, so I would assume that's a fair reason to go with i386 instead of amd64 -> not that I bother with X that much lol.
Others here would know better about the drivers performance.
lol they only work on 32bit. theres a great thread about this crap on nVnews.
The reason there is no FreeBSD 64 bit driver is because of the shortcomings of the FreeBSD kernel, not because of nvidia.
See:
http://wiki.freebsd.org/NvidiaFeatureRequests
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FreeBSD as a desktop - Thoughts.. harisman FreeBSD General 62 6th September 2008 01:27 AM
Can I start using FreeBSD as desktop machine paragkalra FreeBSD General 4 19th July 2008 05:20 PM
FreeBSD KDE/GUI DESKTOP HELP rave_mystery_inc FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 5 5th July 2008 06:18 AM
Can't start KDE desktop in FreeBSD bryancostanich FreeBSD Ports and Packages 9 11th June 2008 10:47 PM
Installing 64bit from scratch on a 32bit live system an0r0c FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 1 11th May 2008 04:16 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick