DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading

FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading FreeBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th July 2008
fallen fallen is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default howto change 'uname -a' after base system U/G

Hi all,
I want to do a workaround - I'm updating the base system part (lately the BIND for example) and I want to have 'uname -a' output modified.

For example it was 6.3-p2 then I updated BIND from the base system and the question is how to reach output of 'uname -a' to be 6.3-p3 w/o recompile the kernel?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th July 2008
Nightweaver's Avatar
Nightweaver Nightweaver is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 47
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Yes, recompiling kernel will change your 'uname -a' output. You patched your BIND with freebsd-update, right?
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th July 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

This is pointless, kernel will be updated via freebsd-update only if it have security bugs, in your special case, problem is in BIND - not in kernel - reason why output of uname -a is still same.

From: http://security.freebsd.org/advisori...08:06.bind.asc kernel is not mentioned.

Conclusion, uname -a doesnt need to get changed after every update.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th July 2008
lumiwa lumiwa is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 145
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I updated my system (freebsd 7.0) with freebsd-update and I have ...p3. Do I need to rebuild my kernel? I have a custom kernel.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th July 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

show
uname -a output
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th July 2008
lumiwa lumiwa is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 145
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killasmurf View Post
show
uname -a output
FreeBSD bla.bla.com 7.0-RELEASE FreeBSD 7.0-RELEASE #1
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th July 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

I'd say you don't need to update kernel (my guess)
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 15th July 2008
cajunman4life cajunman4life is offline
Real Name: Aaron Graves
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Coolidge, Arizona
Posts: 203
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
Default

So do you want your system to show "-p3" so your users know it's at the latest "patch level," or are you simply doing it for your own benefit?

The bind patch had nothing to do with the kernel, and as such, a kernel build was not necessary, so your uname -a output will not change. However, if you wish to rebuild everything from source, then your uname -a will show "-p3" but really it's pointless.
__________________
I just saved a bunch of money on my car insurance by fleeing the scene of the accident!
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 16th July 2008
lumiwa lumiwa is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 145
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cajunman4life View Post
So do you want your system to show "-p3" so your users know it's at the latest "patch level," or are you simply doing it for your own benefit?

The bind patch had nothing to do with the kernel, and as such, a kernel build was not necessary, so your uname -a output will not change. However, if you wish to rebuild everything from source, then your uname -a will show "-p3" but really it's pointless.
Thank you very much. Now it is clear for myself.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HOWTO: system load status in screen(1) vermaden Guides 9 29th March 2010 08:07 PM
Uname still reports 7.0 release maxrussell FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 6 4th May 2009 12:49 PM
Unexpected Change of owner:group in file system Dotiroygsbre Other BSD and UNIX/UNIX-like 0 15th August 2008 04:09 PM
Upgrading linux base distribution? ivanatora FreeBSD General 11 1st August 2008 03:48 PM
reinstalling parts of the base system? Business_woman FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 3 13th July 2008 01:56 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick