DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th August 2008
mfaridi's Avatar
mfaridi mfaridi is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 282
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default FreeBSD 6.3 and Plesk and 4GB Ram

we always use Plesk for control panel and last plesk dose not support FreeBSD 7 and only use FreeBSD 6.3 . so we want buy new SERVER with 4GB RAM

can FreeBSD 6.3 work good with 4GB of RAM and Plesk ??
we have to use 32 bit FreeBSD.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th August 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,062
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Can't you just use compat6x?
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th August 2008
mfaridi's Avatar
mfaridi mfaridi is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Afghanistan
Posts: 282
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carpetsmoker View Post
Can't you just use compat6x?
Please explain this
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th August 2008
ninjatux's Avatar
ninjatux ninjatux is offline
Real Name: Baqir Majlisi
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Antarctica
Posts: 293
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Default

FreeBSD 7 supports FreeBSD 6, 5, and 4 binaries just as FreeBSD 6 supports FreeBSD 5 and 4 binaries. It should run without any problems. You may need to map certain libraries, but that's all rather easy.
__________________
"UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity."
MacBook Pro (Darwin 9), iMac (Darwin 9), iPod Touch (Darwin 9), Dell Optiplex GX620 (FreeBSD 7.1-STABLE)
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th August 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

The GENERIC kernel on FreeBSD X includes compatibility with FreeBSD X-1 (where X can be 7, 6, or 5), with compatibility going all the way down to FreeBSD 4 binaries. This means, you can run binaries compiled for FreeBSD X-1 on systems running FreeBSD X. All you have to do to make it work is install the compatYx port (where Y is the version you need compatibility for).

For example, if you are running FreeBSD 7.0, and you need to run binaries for FreeBSD 6.x, then you would install the compat6x port.

IF you need to run FreeBSD 5.x binaries on FreeBSD 7.0, install the compat5x port. And the same for FreeBSD 4.x binaries (compat4x).
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 28th August 2008
hunteronline hunteronline is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 52
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Control Panel

If you don't really need a CP don't use one. All the popular CPs are targets for known and developing "web garbage", avoid them if you can. There are two in the ports tree if you want to try something other than the one you are using.

http://www.freebsd.org/cgi/ports.cgi...=DTC&stype=all

http://www.freebsd.org/cgi/ports.cgi...ll&sektion=all

Initial funding for zpanel came from Novell.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/zpanel/
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 31st August 2008
windependence's Avatar
windependence windependence is offline
Real Name: Tim
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 116
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hunteronline View Post
If you don't really need a CP don't use one. All the popular CPs are targets for known and developing "web garbage", avoid them if you can. There are two in the ports tree if you want to try something other than the one you are using.

http://www.freebsd.org/cgi/ports.cgi...=DTC&stype=all

http://www.freebsd.org/cgi/ports.cgi...ll&sektion=all

Initial funding for zpanel came from Novell.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/zpanel/
I agree here and I'll telll you installing Plesk on FBSD is not pleasant. You MUST make sure you have the correct version of the OS or it will NOT install even with compatibility. It detects the OS version and the perl script wil not go past that point. Also, Plesk installs it's own version of EVERYTHING using it's own ports collection. It took me an entire DAY to compile it on a dual quad core machine.

As for your question, yes it will run with 4 Gigs but you won't be able to host many sites without maxing out. The box I did for my client had 12 gigs. RAM is cheap.

-Tim
__________________
www.windependence.org
Get your Windependence today!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick