DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading

FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading FreeBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd July 2008
ijk ijk is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 47
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default freebsd 7 64 bit installation

have always had 32 bit setups but since i have 8gb of ram needed to use the freebsd7 64 bit set up to take full advantage of it.
The server will be runing apache2 php5 mysql5 postfix webmin.

Could I have some pointers to how the 64 bit will differ from the 32 bit set up in terms of day to day management. I of course download and install 64 bit versions of apache mysql etc via ports and install them but I take it commands , server maintance, security etc would be the same.

thanks
__________________
Freebsd 7 64 bit apache2.2 php5 mysql5
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd July 2008
ninjatux's Avatar
ninjatux ninjatux is offline
Real Name: Baqir Majlisi
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Antarctica
Posts: 293
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Default

I don't think you'll management will differ much. Of course, you'll more RAM, so management will actually be easier on the 64-bit system. The only hitch you might encounter is with flash, but since this is a server, I don't think that matters.
__________________
"UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity."
MacBook Pro (Darwin 9), iMac (Darwin 9), iPod Touch (Darwin 9), Dell Optiplex GX620 (FreeBSD 7.1-STABLE)
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 16th August 2008
Weaseal's Avatar
Weaseal Weaseal is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 177
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ijk View Post
I of course download and install 64 bit versions of apache mysql etc via ports and install them but I take it commands , server maintance, security etc would be the same.
Well, you're mostly right... except there is no separate 64-bit version of the apache, mysql, etc ports... you just make sure you set CPUTYPE in /etc/make.conf if you want the daemons to be compiled fully 64-bit.
__________________
FreeBSD addict since 4.2-RELEASE.
My FreeBSD wiki.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 16th August 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

CPUTYPE has no effect on whether or not ports are compiled as 64-bit or 32-bit. The version of the OS installed does.

Try the following to see:
  • install 64-bit version of FreeBSD
  • set CPUTYPE to pentium3
  • install Apache port
  • run file on /usr/local/bin/httpd, and notice it's a 64-bit binary
Then try the inverse:
  • install 32-bit version of FreeBSD
  • set CPUTYPE to athlon64
  • install Apache port
  • run file on /usr/local/bin/httpd and notice it's a 32-bit binary

There are options you can pass to the compiler on a 64-bit system that will cause the compiler to compile the app as a 32-bit app. However, CPUTYPE is not one of those options.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th August 2008
hunteronline hunteronline is offline
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 52
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Exclamation

It's been awhile but, I remember something about java problems on the 64-bit version.

Eg: Nutch, tomcat, billing software for clients, etc ....
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 17th August 2008
Weaseal's Avatar
Weaseal Weaseal is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: East Coast, US
Posts: 177
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

I have been running amd64 for about 2 years now. The only thing I've gotten stuck on anytime recently was Wine, which isn't working on FreeBSD/amd64 yet.
__________________
FreeBSD addict since 4.2-RELEASE.
My FreeBSD wiki.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd August 2008
windependence's Avatar
windependence windependence is offline
Real Name: Tim
Shell Scout
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 116
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

So far, no issues here either, about 2 years in production, but all server machines. In fact it has been VERY stable and almost no different from the 32 bit version. I have over 100 day uptime on the web box and the last shutdown was to install more RAM. MUCH less trouble than 64 bit Linux by a long shot.

-Tim
__________________
www.windependence.org
Get your Windependence today!
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 31st August 2008
troberts troberts is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 27
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix View Post
CPUTYPE has no effect on whether or not ports are compiled as 64-bit or 32-bit. The version of the OS installed does
What does the CPUTYPE do then? My thinking is by letting the compiler know what CPU is being used, then it can compile features (i.e. MMX, SSE3, SSE4) the CPU can use and/or not compile features the CPU cannot use .
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 1st September 2008
robbak's Avatar
robbak robbak is offline
Real Name: Robert Backhaus
VPN Cryptographer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Queensland, Australia
Posts: 366
Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Yes, that is right. Getting it wrong leads to signal 4 (SIGILL, Illigal innstruction) crashes. It also selects cpu optimized code in SSL, as well as any ports that ask for it.

The options for AMD64 are opteron, athlon64, nocona, prescott and core2 (from /usr/share/examples/etc/make.conf on a AMD64 7.0-STABLE as of July)
__________________
The only dumb question is a question not asked.
The only dumb answer is an answer not given.
Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troberts View Post
What does the CPUTYPE do then? My thinking is by letting the compiler know what CPU is being used, then it can compile features (i.e. MMX, SSE3, SSE4) the CPU can use and/or not compile features the CPU cannot use .
CPUTYPE sets a bunch of gcc options according to what features the CPU supports. Thing like -sse, -sse2, -mmx, -mcpu, -march, -3dnow and so forth. It's a handy shorthand variable that tells the compiler which CPU features your CPU supports.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FreeBSD installation CD with Fixit? bsddaemon FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 4 12th November 2008 03:20 AM
freebsd 7 installation partition size for 250gb harddrive ijk FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 17 20th October 2008 07:50 PM
Installation Issue : FreeBSD 7.0-RELEASE on Dell D630 zelut FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 4 3rd October 2008 12:44 PM
FreeBSD NVidia driver installation maxrussell FreeBSD Ports and Packages 44 15th July 2008 10:39 PM
JDK16 installation on FreeBSD 7 fronty FreeBSD Ports and Packages 6 8th July 2008 03:49 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick