DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
ripe ripe is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking OpenBSD and loudspeaker 5.1

Hi all,

I have OpenBSD 5.7 installed and a loudspeaker 5.1 from logitech, the problem is : only 3 of them work (subwoofer and front), do you know how the others speakers can work please ?

Sorry for the bad english !

Peace.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 4,391
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Welcome back. Could you post a new dmesg? The last one you posted here was in 2013 and at the time no sound was working for you.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
ripe ripe is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yo jggimi! Thank you.
Of course!
Code:
# dmesg
OpenBSD 5.7 (GENERIC) #738: Sun Mar  8 10:59:31 MDT 2015
    deraadt@i386.openbsd.org:/usr/src/sys/arch/i386/compile/GENERIC
cpu0: AMD Sempron(tm) Processor 3400+ ("AuthenticAMD" 686-class, 256KB L2 cache) 1.99 GHz
cpu0: FPU,V86,DE,PSE,TSC,MSR,PAE,MCE,CX8,APIC,SEP,MTRR,PGE,MCA,CMOV,PAT,PSE36,CFLUSH,MMX,FXSR,SSE,SSE2,NXE,MMXX,FFXSR,LONG,3DNOW2,3DNOW,SSE3,CX16,LAHF,EAPICSP,AMCR8
real mem  = 2145861632 (2046MB)
avail mem = 2098442240 (2001MB)
mpath0 at root
scsibus0 at mpath0: 256 targets
mainbus0 at root
bios0 at mainbus0: date 06/27/07, BIOS32 rev. 0 @ 0xfa4f0, SMBIOS rev. 2.4 @ 0xf0000 (36 entries)
bios0: vendor Phoenix Technologies, LTD version "V1.4" date 06/27/2007
bios0: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD MS-7253
acpi0 at bios0: rev 0
acpi0: sleep states S0 S1 S4 S5
acpi0: tables DSDT FACP HPET MCFG APIC
acpi0: wakeup devices PCI0(S5) SATA(S1) USB1(S1) USB2(S1) USB3(S1) USB4(S1) EHCI(S1) AC97(S5) MC97(S5) LAN1(S5) PEXG(S5) PEX0(S5) PEX1(S5) PEX2(S5) PEX3(S5) PE5C(S5) [...]
acpitimer0 at acpi0: 3579545 Hz, 24 bits
acpihpet0 at acpi0: 14318179 Hz
acpimcfg0 at acpi0 addr 0xe0000000, bus 0-255
acpimadt0 at acpi0 addr 0xfee00000: PC-AT compat
cpu0 at mainbus0: apid 0 (boot processor)
mtrr: Pentium Pro MTRR support, 8 var ranges, 88 fixed ranges
cpu0: apic clock running at 220MHz
ioapic0 at mainbus0: apid 2 pa 0xfec00000, version 3, 24 pins
ioapic1 at mainbus0: apid 3 pa 0xfecc0000, version 3, 24 pins
acpiprt0 at acpi0: bus 0 (PCI0)
acpiprt1 at acpi0: bus 2 (PEXG)
acpiprt2 at acpi0: bus 3 (PEX0)
acpiprt3 at acpi0: bus 4 (P2PB)
acpiprt4 at acpi0: bus 128 (PCI1)
acpicpu0 at acpi0
acpibtn0 at acpi0: PWRB
bios0: ROM list: 0xc0000/0xfa00 0xd0000/0x8000! 0xd8000/0x800
pci0 at mainbus0 bus 0: configuration mode 1 (bios)
pchb0 at pci0 dev 0 function 0 "VIA K8M890 Host" rev 0x00
viaagp0 at pchb0: v3
agp0 at viaagp0: aperture at 0xd0000000, size 0x10000000
pchb1 at pci0 dev 0 function 1 "VIA K8M890 Host" rev 0x00
pchb2 at pci0 dev 0 function 2 "VIA K8M890 Host" rev 0x00
pchb3 at pci0 dev 0 function 3 "VIA K8M890 Host" rev 0x00
pchb4 at pci0 dev 0 function 4 "VIA K8M890 Host" rev 0x00
"VIA K8M890 IOAPIC" rev 0x00 at pci0 dev 0 function 5 not configured
pchb5 at pci0 dev 0 function 7 "VIA K8M890 Host" rev 0x00
ppb0 at pci0 dev 1 function 0 "VIA K8HTB AGP" rev 0x00
pci1 at ppb0 bus 1
ppb1 at pci0 dev 2 function 0 "VIA K8T890" rev 0x00: apic 3 int 3
pci2 at ppb1 bus 2
radeondrm0 at pci2 dev 0 function 0 "ATI Radeon HD 3650" rev 0x00
drm0 at radeondrm0
radeondrm0: apic 3 int 0
azalia0 at pci2 dev 0 function 1 "ATI Radeon HD 3600 HD Audio" rev 0x00: apic 3 int 1
azalia0: no supported codecs
ppb2 at pci0 dev 3 function 0 "VIA K8T890" rev 0x00: apic 3 int 7
pci3 at ppb2 bus 3
pciide0 at pci0 dev 15 function 0 "VIA VT8237A SATA" rev 0x80: DMA
pciide0: using apic 2 int 21 for native-PCI interrupt
pciide1 at pci0 dev 15 function 1 "VIA VT82C571 IDE" rev 0x07: DMA, channel 0 configured to compatibility, channel 1 configured to compatibility
wd0 at pciide1 channel 0 drive 0: <WDC WD400BB-23DEA0>
wd0: 16-sector PIO, LBA, 38166MB, 78165360 sectors
wd1 at pciide1 channel 0 drive 1: <Maxtor 6Y160P0>
wd1: 16-sector PIO, LBA48, 152587MB, 312500000 sectors
wd0(pciide1:0:0): using PIO mode 4, DMA mode 2
wd1(pciide1:0:1): using PIO mode 4, DMA mode 2
atapiscsi0 at pciide1 channel 1 drive 0
scsibus1 at atapiscsi0: 2 targets
cd0 at scsibus1 targ 0 lun 0: <PIONEER, DVD-ROM DVD-115, 1.12> ATAPI 5/cdrom removable
atapiscsi1 at pciide1 channel 1 drive 1
scsibus2 at atapiscsi1: 2 targets
cd1 at scsibus2 targ 0 lun 0: <TSSTcorp, CD/DVDW SH-S162A, TS02> ATAPI 5/cdrom removable
cd0(pciide1:1:0): using PIO mode 4, DMA mode 2
cd1(pciide1:1:1): using PIO mode 4, DMA mode 2
uhci0 at pci0 dev 16 function 0 "VIA VT83C572 USB" rev 0xa0: apic 2 int 20
uhci1 at pci0 dev 16 function 1 "VIA VT83C572 USB" rev 0xa0: apic 2 int 22
uhci2 at pci0 dev 16 function 2 "VIA VT83C572 USB" rev 0xa0: apic 2 int 21
uhci3 at pci0 dev 16 function 3 "VIA VT83C572 USB" rev 0xa0: apic 2 int 23
ehci0 at pci0 dev 16 function 4 "VIA VT6202 USB" rev 0x86: apic 2 int 21
usb0 at ehci0: USB revision 2.0
uhub0 at usb0 "VIA EHCI root hub" rev 2.00/1.00 addr 1
viapm0 at pci0 dev 17 function 0 "VIA VT8237A ISA" rev 0x00: SMI
iic0 at viapm0
iic0: addr 0x2f 00=c2 01=0f 02=00 03=01 04=07 05=00 06=18 07=00 08=00 14=14 15=62 16=02 17=05 words 00=c2ff 01=0fff 02=00ff 03=01ff 04=07ff 05=00ff 06=18ff 07=00ff
spdmem0 at iic0 addr 0x50: 1GB DDR2 SDRAM non-parity PC2-5300CL5
spdmem1 at iic0 addr 0x51: 1GB DDR2 SDRAM non-parity PC2-5300CL5
pchb6 at pci0 dev 17 function 7 "VIA VT8251 VLINK" rev 0x00
vr0 at pci0 dev 18 function 0 "VIA RhineII-2" rev 0x7c: apic 2 int 23, address 00:19:db:c1:43:89
rlphy0 at vr0 phy 1: RTL8201L 10/100 PHY, rev. 1
pchb7 at pci0 dev 19 function 0 "VIA VT8237A" rev 0x00
ppb3 at pci0 dev 19 function 1 "VIA VT8237A" rev 0x00
pci4 at ppb3 bus 4
xl0 at pci4 dev 5 function 0 "3Com 3c905C 100Base-TX" rev 0x78: apic 2 int 18, address 00:0a:5e:1d:fc:5f
exphy0 at xl0 phy 24: 3Com internal media interface
pchb8 at pci0 dev 24 function 0 "AMD AMD64 0Fh HyperTransport" rev 0x00
pchb9 at pci0 dev 24 function 1 "AMD AMD64 0Fh Address Map" rev 0x00
pchb10 at pci0 dev 24 function 2 "AMD AMD64 0Fh DRAM Cfg" rev 0x00
kate0 at pci0 dev 24 function 3 "AMD AMD64 0Fh Misc Cfg" rev 0x00: core rev DH-F2
usb1 at uhci0: USB revision 1.0
uhub1 at usb1 "VIA UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb2 at uhci1: USB revision 1.0
uhub2 at usb2 "VIA UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb3 at uhci2: USB revision 1.0
uhub3 at usb3 "VIA UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
usb4 at uhci3: USB revision 1.0
uhub4 at usb4 "VIA UHCI root hub" rev 1.00/1.00 addr 1
pci5 at mainbus0 bus 128
azalia1 at pci5 dev 1 function 0 "VIA HD Audio" rev 0x10: apic 2 int 17
azalia1: codecs: Realtek ALC883
audio0 at azalia1
isa0 at mainbus0
isadma0 at isa0
fdc0 at isa0 port 0x3f0/6 irq 6 drq 2
com0 at isa0 port 0x3f8/8 irq 4: ns16550a, 16 byte fifo
com1 at isa0 port 0x2f8/8 irq 3: ns16550a, 16 byte fifo
pckbc0 at isa0 port 0x60/5
pckbd0 at pckbc0 (kbd slot)
pckbc0: using irq 1 for kbd slot
wskbd0 at pckbd0: console keyboard
pms0 at pckbc0 (aux slot)
pckbc0: using irq 12 for aux slot
wsmouse0 at pms0 mux 0
pcppi0 at isa0 port 0x61
spkr0 at pcppi0
lpt0 at isa0 port 0x378/4 irq 7
wbsio0 at isa0 port 0x2e/2: W83627EHF rev 0x68
lm1 at wbsio0 port 0x290/8: W83627EHF
npx0 at isa0 port 0xf0/16: reported by CPUID; using exception 16
uvideo0 at uhub0 port 3 configuration 1 interface 0 "Logitech product 0x0825" rev 2.00/0.10 addr 2
video0 at uvideo0
uaudio0 at uhub0 port 3 configuration 1 interface 2 "Logitech product 0x0825" rev 2.00/0.10 addr 2
uaudio0: audio descriptors make no sense, error=4
ugen0 at uhub0 port 3 configuration 1 "Logitech product 0x0825" rev 2.00/0.10 addr 2
vscsi0 at root
scsibus3 at vscsi0: 256 targets
softraid0 at root
scsibus4 at softraid0: 256 targets
root on wd0a (0f034a929609f9bc.a) swap on wd0b dump on wd0b
radeondrm0: 1280x1024
wsdisplay0 at radeondrm0 mux 1: console (std, vt100 emulation), using wskbd0
wsdisplay0: screen 1-5 added (std, vt100 emulation)

Last edited by ripe; 3 Weeks Ago at 05:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 4,391
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

According to your dmesg, audio0 is using azalia1, the "VIA HD Audio" device, and uaudio0 is a usb attached device from Logitech, which appears to have a provisioning problem:
Code:
uaudio0 at uhub0 port 3 configuration 1 interface 2 "Logitech product 0x0825" rev 2.00/0.10 addr 2
uaudio0: audio descriptors make no sense, error=4
As you can see device 0x0825 is not known to OpenBSD at 5.7-release. I just checked -current, and this has not changed: the device is not listed in src/sys/dev/usb/usbdevs.

I'm going to guess that this error is due to the Logitech device requiring unique provisioning, and, that you won't be able to get 5.1 channels on this OS until an audio driver is adapted to support its requirements. This is just a guess, of course.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
ripe ripe is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I do not understand because the logitech loudspeaker do not use usb to connect to my pc, only audio jacks. I have a cam, a logitech too who use the usb, I use it on windows XP (on an another HDD), maybe it is this one?
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 4,391
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

You have two audio devices defined in your dmesg above.
  1. audio0, connected via PCI bus 5
  2. uaudio0, connected via USB
Since the second audio device is a Logitech device I had assumed you were referring to it. If, instead, you are using the PCI bus soundcard (azalia1, described as "VIA HD Audio"), then I apologize for misunderstanding.

Please refer to FAQ 13.1, which describes both the audioctl(1) and mixerctl(1) tools, and how to use them to configure the wide variety of audio systems it is possible to have in our computers. These channels may be muted, if they are defined, or may just need their volumes increased.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
ripe ripe is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile

You do not have to apologize, you can not know that i have an another logitech. Thank you for helping me! I checked my connection's pc yesterday and i realized i got a logitech connect by usb and that was my cam! I apologize!
I will look at FAQ 13.1 and try to make the speaker work.

Thanks jggimi!

Last edited by ripe; 3 Weeks Ago at 03:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
ripe ripe is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here is what i got with audioctl and mixerctl :

audioctl
Code:
$ audioctl -f /dev/audio 
name=HD-Audio
encodings=slinear_le:16:2:1,slinear_le:20:4:1,slinear_le:24:4:1
properties=full_duplex,independent
hiwat=6
lowat=4
mode=play
play.rate=48000
play.channels=2
play.precision=16
play.bps=2
play.msb=1
play.encoding=slinear_le
play.samples=0
play.pause=0
play.active=0
play.block_size=9600
play.errors=0
record.rate=48000
record.channels=2
record.precision=16
record.bps=2
record.msb=1
record.encoding=slinear_le
record.samples=0
record.pause=0
record.active=0
record.block_size=9600
record.errors=0
mixerctl
Code:
$ mixerctl               
record.adc-0:1_mute=off
record.adc-0:1=120,120
record.adc-2:3_mute=off
record.adc-2:3=120,120
inputs.mix_source=mic,mic2,line-in,hp,cd,beep,line-grn,line-blk,line-org,line-gry
inputs.mix_mic=120,120
inputs.mix_mic2=120,120
inputs.mix_line-in=120,120
inputs.mix_hp=120,120
inputs.mix_cd=120,120
inputs.mix_beep=120,120
inputs.mix_line-grn=120,120
inputs.mix_line-blk=120,120
inputs.mix_line-org=120,120
inputs.mix_line-gry=120,120
outputs.mix2=120,120
inputs.mix2_source=dac-0:1,mix
outputs.mix3=120,120
inputs.mix3_source=dac-4:5,mix
outputs.mix4=120,120
inputs.mix4_source=dac-2:3,mix
outputs.mix5=120,120
inputs.mix5_source=dac-6:7,mix
outputs.line-grn_source=mix2
outputs.line-grn_mute=off
inputs.line-grn=85,85
outputs.line-grn_dir=output
outputs.line-grn_boost=off
outputs.line-blk_source=mix3
outputs.line-blk_mute=off
inputs.line-blk=85,85
outputs.line-blk_dir=output
outputs.line-blk_boost=off
outputs.line-org_source=mix4
outputs.line-org_mute=off
inputs.line-org=85,85
outputs.line-org_dir=output
outputs.line-org_boost=off
outputs.line-gry_source=mix5
outputs.line-gry_mute=off
inputs.line-gry=85,85
outputs.line-gry_dir=output
outputs.line-gry_boost=off
outputs.mic_source=mix2
outputs.mic_mute=off
inputs.mic=85,85
outputs.mic_dir=input-vr80
outputs.mic_boost=off
outputs.mic2_source=mix2
outputs.mic2_mute=off
inputs.mic2=85,85
outputs.mic2_dir=input-vr80
outputs.mic2_boost=off
outputs.line-in_source=mix2
outputs.line-in_mute=off
inputs.line-in=85,85
outputs.line-in_dir=input
outputs.line-in_boost=off
outputs.hp_source=mix8
outputs.hp_mute=off
inputs.hp=85,85
outputs.hp_dir=output
outputs.hp_boost=off
outputs.SPDIF_source=dig-dac-0:1
record.adc-2:3_source=mic,mic2,line-in,hp,cd,beep,line-grn,line-blk,line-org,line-gry,mix
record.adc-0:1_source=mic,mic2,line-in,hp,cd,beep,line-grn,line-blk,line-org,line-gry,mix
outputs.mix8=120,120
inputs.mix8_source=dac-8:9,mix
outputs.line-grn_sense=plugged
outputs.line-blk_sense=plugged
outputs.line-org_sense=plugged
outputs.line-gry_sense=unplugged
outputs.mic_sense=plugged
outputs.mic2_sense=unplugged
outputs.line-in_sense=unplugged
outputs.hp_sense=unplugged
outputs.master=120,120
outputs.master.mute=off
outputs.master.slaves=mix2,line-grn,mix8
record.volume=120,120
record.volume.mute=off
record.volume.slaves=adc-0:1,adc-2:3
outputs.mode=analog
I am not good in computer but in mixerctl i notice nothing unusual but i notice that in audioctl :
Code:
play.channels=2
Can it be play.channels=5? for 5.1?
I try
Code:
# audioctl -f /dev/audio play.channels=5
play.channels: 2 -> 2
Not that!

Last edited by ripe; 3 Weeks Ago at 03:29 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 3 Weeks Ago
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 4,391
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

According to the azalia(4) man page, the digital to audio converters (dac devices) are commonly used for playback. You have 4 two-channel dac devices in your mixer. Their associated mixer output volumes are currently set to 120,120. You might try increasing those (max can be as high as 255,255).

I don't use azalia multichannel audio -- but I'm sure others here do, and they may see something I do not.
Reply With Quote
Old 3 Weeks Ago
ripe ripe is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: France
Posts: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Here is the modification :

mixerctl
Code:
# mixerctl outputs.mix2=200,200
Code:
# mixerctl outputs.line-blk_source=mix2 
outputs.line-blk_source: mix3 -> mix2
# mixerctl outputs.line-org_source=mix2 
outputs.line-org_source: mix4 -> mix2
# mixerctl outputs.line-gry_source=mix2 
outputs.line-gry_source: mix5 -> mix2
I do not know if it is the right things to do, but all speakers work now.

Thanks again jggimi!

EDIT : I increased the output volumes of mix3, mix4, mix5 but the speaker did not work.

Last edited by ripe; 3 Weeks Ago at 05:57 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick