DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th September 2008
dewarrn1 dewarrn1 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Trouble with ZFS switch

I'm trying to get a new system's /usr slice swapped over to zfs and running into all kinds of trouble. I followed Pavel's directions (http://wiki.freebsd.org/ZFSQuickStartGuide) to get the zpool set up and everything seems to work fine. I dropped into single-user mode and did a tar operation to copy over everything from the current user slice to the appropriate chunk of the zpool, switched on ZFS_enable in rc.conf, set up the mountpoint as per Pavel's instructions, commented out the old slice's mounting instructions in /etc/fstab, and rebooted.

ZFS definitely comes up, but it doesn't seem to mount the pool correctly; I'm left without a prompt as the system says it can't find the ttys. It's particularly annoying because I have this working elsewhere, but I can't remember what the magic step is. Do I need to export? Import? Did my tar operation miss some important stuff somehow? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Also, being able to search the forums for "ZFS" would be nice; any chance of an exception to the too-short-to-search rule? Thanks in advance!

Last edited by dewarrn1; 10th September 2008 at 08:33 PM. Reason: Swapped to new thread
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 10th September 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

Scroll up the screen, and you'll probably see something along the lines of "can't load pool as it was previously accessed by another system".

You're supposed to be able to fix this by:
* booting into single-user mode
* mounting / read/write using mount -u /
* force import of pool using zpool import -f <nameofpool>
* do a proper export of pool
* do a proper import of pool
* rebooting

However, I've never been able to figure out the exact correct order of steps to do this. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

What I've taken to doing, and it's a real hack, is to edit /etc/rc.d/zfs and add a zpool import -f <nameofpool> to the start() function. This works if the disk in the pool will only ever be used in this server, which is how all my systems are currently setup. We don't move pools from system to system.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
dewarrn1 dewarrn1 is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Good tip, that seemed to do the trick. Thanks Phoenix!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch linuxbase for porting software indiocolifa FreeBSD Ports and Packages 6 28th March 2009 07:05 PM
switch user Gnome and FreeBSD mfaridi FreeBSD General 2 30th September 2008 07:38 AM
USB KVM switch logfile mess crayoxide General Hardware 1 15th August 2008 06:23 PM
Problem with lid switch Inspiron 1300 sysctl: unknown oid 'hw.acpi.video.lcd0.active' pax FreeBSD General 2 6th August 2008 11:49 AM
Power button - nicely switch down the computer? Malinda OpenBSD General 5 14th June 2008 01:57 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick