DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
Zare Zare is offline
Real Name: Zarko Bulatovic
UNIX Zealot
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default nVidia GeForce3 Ti200...problems.

Ey guys. New to this place, so i greet you all!

I have a MSI made GF3 Titanium that used to work great under 5.4-RELEASE. I would download drivers from nVidia's site, "make install", "nvidia-xconfig" as root, and it would be done. DRI + OpenGL, and it would show neat nVidia logo as i entered X11.

Now i'm on 7.0-RELEASE, same computer. I haven't bothered doing graphics before as it's primarily a home server/router, but i started using it as a workstation. Now i wanted to get graphics up and running. Same procedure as before, yet this time X11 hangs without any error message (prior to switching resolution, still in console), computer is frost for a couple of seconds, and then it reboots.

I tried building nVidia drivers from ports. Those seem to work well, but there's no GLX. Kernel module is loaded, GLX/DRI is enabled in xorg.conf (and it's on mode 0666 for non-root access).

So i'm seeking for solution. Thank you in advance. Rule out any hardware issues, this hardware is 7 years old and i haven't had a problem in all those years. Besides, Windows2000 is running ok with Direct3D games.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Which version of the nVidia driver did you install? You need one of the legacy ones owing to the age of the video card.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
Zare Zare is offline
Real Name: Zarko Bulatovic
UNIX Zealot
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Of course. The driver is NVIDIA-FreeBSD-x86-96.43.07. Readme file in the "Appendix A" shows GeForce Ti200 as supported chipset.

I'm going to try manual editing of the xorg.conf file, and first see if the thing works as root.
__________________
Caught Somewhere in Time...

Last edited by Zare; 11th September 2008 at 04:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

And you do have the compat 5x layer loaded, right?

Edit: Yes, you should check xorg.conf to make sure you have "nvidia" loaded instead of "nv".

Last edited by DrJ; 11th September 2008 at 04:22 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
Zare Zare is offline
Real Name: Zarko Bulatovic
UNIX Zealot
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The package is installed and it's loaded in rc.conf. No luck regarding manual xorg.conf editing. Seems like the thing pagefaults on load. I'm going to check the BIOS settings. Might have something to do with AGP aperture size.
__________________
Caught Somewhere in Time...
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

How much memory are you using? I does not work with 4GB unless you turn off memory reallocation. Not all motherboards have this BIOS option. If you do have 4GB, try it with two or three.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Sorry, make that "memory remapping", not "memory reallocation."
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
Zare Zare is offline
Real Name: Zarko Bulatovic
UNIX Zealot
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This machine has 1 GB of RAM, so it's not an issue. I've increased apreture size to 128MB, no effect (predictable, long shot). I've checked /var/log/messages, nvidia0 kernel module detects "GeForce Ti200" allright.

pkg_info shows compat5x installed, there's compat5x_enable="YES" entry in rc.conf. I don't think that Opera would work if the layer wasn't active. However, there's no trace of compat5x in system boot. "Local package initialization" result is empty. If memory serves me right, it listed it here on 5.4?

EDIT : Here -> http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show....php?p=1674527

This guy says that you don't need compat5x to get it done. And curiosity -> i don't have glxinfo utility anymore. I'm checking via xdpyinfo and looking for extensions (besides, apps like tuxracer won't work without GLX). Glxinfo is part of MESA port? Hmm...i didn't have MESA installed on my 5.4, yet i had glxinfo.
__________________
Caught Somewhere in Time...

Last edited by Zare; 11th September 2008 at 04:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 11th September 2008
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

One last thing before you post back. You have a choice in using the BSD AGPGART or the nVidia one. I use the latter, and take the former out of the kernel. You should look at what you have done, and be consistent.

You also have not replied if the line

compat5x_enable="YES"

is in rc.conf. You need this line.

If you have done all of those things properly, I'd suggest you post you problem in the FreeBSD forum at nvnews.net. That place is monitored by the nvidia developers. Of course I may have overlooked something that someone else here picks up, but what I mentioned are the usual issues.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008
Zare Zare is offline
Real Name: Zarko Bulatovic
UNIX Zealot
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, to summarize :

- I downloaded right driver from nVidia's site.
- Installed it OK, ran nvidia-xconfig to update xorg.conf.
- nvidia.ko is kldloaded, it detects my card.
- compat5x is installed, and there's an appropriate entry in rc.conf.
- Hardware is OK.
- The thing pagefaults.

Thank you for your efforts. I'd just like to know if there should be any mentioning of compat5x on system boot? It doesn't print in anywhere. But i think it's working, since i'm running Opera and it requires compat5x.
__________________
Caught Somewhere in Time...
Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zare View Post
However, there's no trace of compat5x in system boot. "Local package initialization" result is empty. If memory serves me right, it listed it here on 5.4?
I doubt that you saw it on 5.4. It uses the 5.x libraries natively.
Quote:
This guy says that you don't need compat5x to get it done.
That is very new if it is right.
Quote:
And curiosity -> i don't have glxinfo utility anymore. I'm checking via xdpyinfo and looking for extensions (besides, apps like tuxracer won't work without GLX). Glxinfo is part of MESA port? Hmm...i didn't have MESA installed on my 5.4, yet i had glxinfo.
Installing MESA et al has gotten to be a bit odd. You have to install X, then mesa and mesa-demos (I might not have the names quite right; glxgears is in the latter) and then install the nvidia driver. If you don't do it in that order, you can't install mesa, since the libraries are wrong and the compilation fails.

If you did try to install mesa after nvidia, you might try reinstalling nvidia. You might have messed up the GLX libraries.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

OK - saw your summary. Did you install the driver from ports? If not, you should.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008
Zare Zare is offline
Real Name: Zarko Bulatovic
UNIX Zealot
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I did, but there was no GLX. I'll try it again.

Quote:
I doubt that you saw it on 5.4. It uses the 5.x libraries natively.
Heh, why would anyone use compat5x on 5.x? I saw about earlier compats that were enabled, for 4.x.
__________________
Caught Somewhere in Time...
Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zare View Post
I did, but there was no GLX. I'll try it again.
You might try getting it from the main site. Sometimes the mirrors have odd errors. Not often, but it does happen.
Quote:
Heh, why would anyone use compat5x on 5.x? I saw about earlier compats that were enabled, for 4.x.
Exactly. What you wrote was slightly ambiguous, so I sought to clarify. If you now have it in rc.conf, it will load.
Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2008
ephemera's Avatar
ephemera ephemera is offline
Knuth's homeboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 537
Thanked 49 Times in 43 Posts
Default

try disabling agp (enabled by default in generic?) by adding this line to /boot/loader.conf:

hint.agp.0.disabled="1"

if you still get a crash then try disabling acpi too: hint.acpi.0.disabled="1"
Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008
Zare Zare is offline
Real Name: Zarko Bulatovic
UNIX Zealot
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Same thing with 96xx drivers from ports. And same things with disabled AGP and ACPI. I'm going to try on nvnews forums. Thank you all for your help.
__________________
Caught Somewhere in Time...
Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008
richardpl richardpl is offline
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Croatia
Posts: 284
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

On FreeBSD 7.0 is installed newest Xorg from ports?
Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2008
Zare Zare is offline
Real Name: Zarko Bulatovic
UNIX Zealot
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Split, Croatia
Posts: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

No, i think the one that came on installation CDs is active. xorg-7.3_1
__________________
Caught Somewhere in Time...
Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2008
jb_daefo jb_daefo is offline
Package Pilot
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 196
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJ View Post
I doubt that you saw it on 5.4. It uses the 5.x libraries natively.

That is very new if it is right.

Installing MESA et al has gotten to be a bit odd. You have to install X, then mesa and mesa-demos (I might not have the names quite right; glxgears is in the latter) and then install the nvidia driver. If you don't do it in that order, you can't install mesa, since the libraries are wrong and the compilation fails.

If you did try to install mesa after nvidia, you might try reinstalling nvidia. You might have messed up the GLX libraries.
I have a small textfile in /nvidia-driver/ which describes howto
install stuff (the X , mesa*, nvidia-driver process above (in that
order probably)), but includes additional ports like libGLU etc. If
I knew it to be accurate I would post it. I use nvidia-driver without
problems but everytime X loads I receive a "agp.ko detected,
load (...) aborted!" which someday I will find out how to fix.
everything seems to work...
__________________
using /LOOKAT/ with /var/db/pkg files and portmaster/aliases/pipes/find/grep to meteorically speedup port upgrades/installs...
Reply With Quote
Old 13th September 2008
DrJ DrJ is offline
ISO Quartermaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Gold Country, CA
Posts: 506
Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jb_daefo View Post
everytime X loads I receive a "agp.ko detected,
load (...) aborted!"
I would guess that you are trying to use both the BSD AGPGART and the nVidia one. Lose the former. You can do it in the kernel, or in loader.conf as mentioned above.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HEADS UP: xorg 7.4, nvidia, and KDE 4.x BSDKaffee FreeBSD Ports and Packages 3 6th February 2009 10:09 AM
Is nVidia driver stable? rex FreeBSD General 14 31st October 2008 06:40 PM
NVidia 8600 maxrussell FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 8 28th May 2008 07:57 AM
problems with nvidia-driver-169.12 greencross FreeBSD General 8 21st May 2008 01:41 PM
PAE and official Nvidia drivers rubenerd FreeBSD General 2 20th May 2008 10:53 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick