DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > OpenBSD > OpenBSD General

OpenBSD General Other questions regarding OpenBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th September 2008
johnzlly johnzlly is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How can i use atheros AR5213 in the openbsd 4.3-release?

Hello,everyone.This is my first post.
I have a atheros AR5213 card.In the windows xp,i can search the default network and connect to the network with dhcp.But in the openbsd 4.3-release,by default mediaopt,i can't find the network in the same place.
Code:
#ifconfig ath0
It shows STATUS:no network.
I input
Code:
#ifconfig ath0 media autoselect mediaopt ibss nwid default
It shows STATUS:active.
But,i input
Code:
#ifconfig ath0
It looks like:
Code:
# ifconfig ath0
ath0: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,NOTRAILERS,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
        lladdr 00:0b:6b:37:a4:20
        groups: wlan
        media: IEEE802.11 autoselect (DS1)
        status: active
        ieee80211: nwid default chan 6 bssid 00:0b:6b:37:a4:20 17%
        inet6 fe80::20b:6bff:fe37:a420%ath0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1
It can't catch ip address.I use the dhclient utility.It fails too.
So i can't surf the internet.
Do you have some ideas?

Last edited by johnzlly; 19th September 2008 at 07:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 19th September 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,608
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

According to ifconfig(8), you are setting your wireless NIC to an ESSID of "default" -- if you don't have an Access Point configured to broadcast ESSID "default" your NIC will not connect to your network.

If you want your NIC to find the nearest Access Point, do net set your nwid at all, or set it to "".

If you actually do have a WiFi network called "default" then you are configuring your connection correctly. If so:

  1. ath(4) discusses the AR5210-AR5212, not the AR5213.
  2. Please post your dmesg. You can obtain it either via dmesg(8) or from the contents of the /var/run/dmesg.boot file.
  3. Please post the output of /etc/hostname.ath0 as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th September 2008
johnzlly johnzlly is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes,i did set the ESSID.Because there are a WiFi network called "default" actually.
Here is my dmesg.
Code:
#dmesg | grep ath
ath0 at pci2 dev 2 function 0 "Atheros AR5212 (IBM MiniPCI)" rev 0x01: irq 11
ath0: AR5213 5.6 phy 4.1 rf5111 1.7 rf2111 2.3, MKK1A, address 00:05:4e:4f:f2:c7
And
Code:
#cat /etc/hostname.ath0
dhcp NONE NONE NONE
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th September 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,608
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Searching for "ar5213" in the misc@ mailing list archives, it looks like this chipset may work with 802.11b (up to 11Mbit/s) WiFi networks, but not 802.11g (up to 54Mbit/s). See the mode option in the ifconfig(8) man page to force the NIC to use 802.11b ("mode 11b") -- of course, your Access Point must have 802.11b capability configured.

Last edited by jggimi; 20th September 2008 at 04:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th September 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,608
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

There were additional changes to the ath(4) driver developed and tested in July and early August, which will be included in 4.4-release scheduled to be available November 1.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th September 2008
johnzlly johnzlly is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jggimi View Post
Searching for "ar5213" in the misc@ mailing list archives, it looks like this chipset may work with 802.11b (up to 11Mbit/s) WiFi networks, but not 802.11g (up to 54Mbit/s). See the mode option in the ifconfig(8) man page to force the NIC to use 802.11b ("mode 11b")
I'll try it again.
Quote:
of course, your Access Point must have 802.11b capability configured.
How can i confirm it ?

Quote:
which will be included in 4.4-release scheduled to be available November 1.
I hope that it's fully supported in the 4.4-release.
And thanks for your reply,jggimi.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th September 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,608
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnzlly View Post
How can i confirm it ?
Read your AP's owner's manual, specification sheet, configuration GUI .. most 11g-capable products should be able to support 11b, but that doesn't mean all do.
Quote:
I hope that it's fully supported in the 4.4-release.
I don't think so, no. The man page I've referred to above is -current, and does not refer to the ar5213. Your NIC is able to emulate an ar5212, with some limitations. The changes between 4.3 and 4.4 repair PCI and PCI-E connectivity generally, and a bus isssue on the Sparc64. See the log of changes in http://www.openbsd.org/cgi-bin/cvswe...i/if_ath_pci.c if you're interested.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th September 2008
johnzlly johnzlly is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks so much.
Your replys are so helpful and patient!
Can I give you a THANKS?
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 20th September 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,608
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Only if your NIC is now working.
Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2008
johnzlly johnzlly is offline
Port Guard
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 23
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That's right!Today i try it again,then it works.
I use the option like:
Code:
#ifconfig ath0 media DS1 mode 11b
Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2008
jggimi's Avatar
jggimi jggimi is offline
More noise than signal
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 3,608
Thanked 214 Times in 189 Posts
Default

Great news!!
Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2008
zeleni_obad zeleni_obad is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The following cards always lock a box completely after trying a "nwkey" option, and occasionally with just an "up" option, regardless of code (I've been trying from time to time to make those work with almost every snapshot and cvs-ed code of i386 CURRENT, or 4.1, 4.2 or 4.3 RELEASE, since August):
Code:
DrFooDo # uname -mrs ; dmesg | grep ^ath
OpenBSD 4.3 i386
ath0 at pci0 dev 13 function 0 "Atheros AR5212" rev 0x01: irq 10
ath0: AR5213 7.9 phy 4.5 rf2112a 5.6, FCC2A*, address 00:1d:0f:xx:xx:xx
ath1 at pci2 dev 10 function 0 "Atheros AR2413" rev 0x01: irq 11
ath1: AR2413 7.8 phy 4.5 rf 5.6, FCC2A*, address 00:1d:0f:xx:xx:xx
ath2 at pci2 dev 11 function 0 "Atheros AR5212" rev 0x01: irq 11
ath2: AR5213 7.9 phy 4.5 rf2112a 5.6, FCC2A*, address 00:1d:0f:xx:xx:xx
Those are found on TP-Link TL-WN650G/TLWN651G and TP-Link TL-WN550 PCI cards

Last edited by zeleni_obad; 21st September 2008 at 03:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2008
ocicat ocicat is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,873
Thanked 190 Times in 160 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeleni_obad View Post
The following cards always lock a box...
It is important to remember that the people answering questions at this site are hobbists, professionals, & others interested in OpenBSD, but are not in a position to influence policy or develop code for the project. If you are having problems with particular chipsets, you may want to contact the official developers either directly or through problem reports. Information on submitting reports can be found at the following:

http://openbsd.org/report.html

Last edited by ocicat; 21st September 2008 at 04:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2008
zeleni_obad zeleni_obad is offline
New User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ocicat View Post
...you may want to contact the official developers either directly or through problem reports...
Reyk@ works on the issue: http://marc.info/?l=openbsd-tech&m=121740270720039&w=2

What I want is to publish the description of the parts that do not work properly at the moment, so users would get a chance to read about a problem with a particular device, before they purchase it [the AR5212's are stated as supported, yet, those are "the newish ones", in the above-mentioned post]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ar5213, atheros, atheros ar5213

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenBSD release to -current: Xenocara question IronForge OpenBSD Installation and Upgrading 4 1st September 2009 05:44 PM
atheros wireless card not working guitarscn FreeBSD General 0 26th August 2009 05:50 PM
atheros AR5424 amru OpenBSD General 5 12th June 2009 12:29 AM
Atheros L1E - linux driver fustration biscuits FreeBSD General 3 13th October 2008 04:16 PM
FreeBSD 6.2-RELEASE > 7.0-RELEASE Upgrade Marci FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 2 23rd July 2008 02:10 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick