DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading

FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading FreeBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st October 2008
isamu isamu is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking kernel not found

Yo there folks, Im using freebsd for a year now, I was using the 6.2 version and just recently download the images for i686 of the freebsd 7, im deploying freebsd on several computers but the odd thing its that after installing using the sysinstall tool the system cant load the kernel

instead of load automagically the boot, [and im truly sure the mbr boot code was done right] the boot delays a seconds and the show me the options f1 freebsd ...etc. but at the moment of select f1 or use a boot comand with several option always get the next outout


BTX loader 1.00 BTX version 1.01
consoles: internal video/keyboard
bios drive c is disk0
bios 693kb/457536kb available memory
Freebsd/i386 bootstrap loader rev 1.1
loading /boot/defaults/loader.conf
unable to load a kernel!!!

-
cant load 'kernel'
type ? for a list of comands
ok

thanks for any coments!!!
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st October 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

type ls /boot
(i think it's valid command)
you need to check if there is any kernel at all, perhaps you can use it (there was some command to load kernel, but i don't remember exactly)

in case you ain't got kernel (for got to install one??? is it possible, maybe, idk)
put CD and do post install configuration
go to distributions and select kernel
install it and reboot, with luck everything will be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st October 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

9 times out of 10, the problem is the user creating a separate /boot partition. FreeBSD defaults to having /boot as just a directory on the / partition.

The boot loader looks for /boot/kernel/kernel relative to whichever partition is marker bootable. If that's /boot, the what it translates to is /boot/boot/kernel/kernel which doesn't exist.

The easiest fix is to reinstall without the separate /boot partition.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st October 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix View Post
The easiest fix is to reinstall without the separate /boot partition.
wouldn't symbolic link help?

with fixit disk mount /boot partition cd to it and
ln -s ./ boot
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 21st October 2008
isamu isamu is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im testing now I will put the solution to this!!!
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd October 2008
isamu isamu is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

the /boot does exist and in fact thw whole modules and kernel
/boot/kernel
/boot/GENERIC/
so im trying to delete the /boot partition to be only /boot directory
whish me luck!!
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd October 2008
isamu isamu is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

its funny even when trying a whole / and swap partitions the system cant load the kernel kernel its installed I cant make the symbolic link from the ok prompt [as far I know]
you would think of this as bug (mine of the hardware)
I try with acpi on/off but I get alwas the same message///booring.
thanks to all who reply here
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd October 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

i don't believe it's hardware but.....
just do fresh install
and don't make /boot separated

also don't forget to install kernel distribution
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 22nd October 2008
isamu isamu is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

trying again now
Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2008
isamu isamu is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

So here its the news When installing I choose a custom one to avoid the slice installed separated, so I choose the entire disk to use then create a / partition@28GB and a swap one @1GB so choose the distros of user+kernel+src and commit the installation (from cd/dvd) all goes fine
the fs and partitions wrote well and the file copy too. Then boot and the same heck of message again
cant find a kernel, so here its where I find the clue go to check if there is something installed and the whole tree was there and the files too =p so check /boot/loader and /boot/loader.conf, indeed exists but they are all blank, so its supposed to be here something =3! [isnt?_] so I think perhaps copying the conf of the cdrom an write down to the disk but Im a retard I dont know how to do this from the ok prompt?
Some suggestion? And of course thanks to all the ones who take his time an check this back.
Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

download and burn freeBSD fixit disk (live CD)
from there you can start console....

how exactly did you install FBSD?
did you used custom install > minimal distribution
or custom install > custom > base + kernel... distribution

i think you need to read
http://www2.lv.freebsd.org/doc/en_US...k/install.html

if you haven't done so already, if you have, reading it once more, might be of use
Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

or if you have another PC, i suggest you install emulator and try to set FBSD on it.
and if you can do it in emulator, and can't on real pc, then we have some weird problem (perhaps hardware)


EDIT:
I mean no offense/disrespect

Last edited by graudeejs; 23rd October 2008 at 06:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2008
isamu isamu is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Im checking right now!!! I use to download the iso images of the release 7. so burn the #1 and boot from there choose the option 1 [but I even tryed with acpi disabled] begin to load the kernel and modules and the keyboard selection and the sysinstall tool the use a custom install >partitition [use bsd loader] > create slices > distros = user+kernel+src>select media and commit then simply reboot and I woul try on another pcs, because I have several but all the same http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/p...285443&lang=en [sr2020la]
----------------------------------------
EDIT:
I mean no offense/disrespect
----------------------------------------
No problem men I dont take this as offense I apreciate you have the kindness of read my problem and dedicate a bit of your time to this =3

Thanks
Checking now with fix it disk and trying another pc

Last edited by isamu; 23rd October 2008 at 07:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old 24th October 2008
isamu isamu is offline
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking solved

Good news I try this pc
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...product=436875 sr1215la
and went well, no problem , no bad things. Dunno if I found a hardware issue, by the way I remember when trying to install on the problem machine it give me one or two msgs like procces exited with signal 11. and when trying to add and user it didnt add or dont permit me to setup my root pswd, dunno why?

Well thanks to all who check me!!!
you are very kind.
Greetings
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mk.conf not found mtm0 NetBSD Package System (pkgsrc) 2 4th September 2009 04:42 PM
pftop command not found bsdnewbie999 FreeBSD Ports and Packages 4 23rd February 2009 05:18 AM
I finally found it!!! crayoxide FreeBSD General 8 23rd July 2008 05:41 AM
pkg-get command not found whispersGhost Solaris 2 11th June 2008 01:06 PM
xorgcfg command not found Lazy FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 10 21st May 2008 08:47 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick