DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading

FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading Installing and upgrading FreeBSD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd October 2008
purak's Avatar
purak purak is offline
Real Name: Burak
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question FreeBSD doesn't boot

Hi all, I installed FreeBSD 7 on my laptop(Acer Aspire 5634WLMi) yesterday. Installation was successful but FreeBSD did not boot.
Code:
FreeBSD/i386 bootstrap ....
After this text, everything is sooo slow. I have waited 1.5 hours and kernel loaded. When started kernel loading, everything works fine... I have used Grub and boot0. But grub works now...
Sorry for English
This is my lspci(on linux)
Code:
gentoobox purak # lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 945GM/PM/GMS, 943/940GML and 945GT Express PCI Express Root Port (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev e2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801GBM (ICH7-M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801GBM/GHM (ICH7 Family) SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G72M [Quadro NVS 110M/GeForce Go 7300] (rev a1)
05:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection (rev 02)
06:01.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX (rev 02)
06:04.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB-712/4 Cardbus Controller (rev 10)
06:04.1 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc ENE PCI Memory Stick Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
06:04.2 SD Host controller: ENE Technology Inc ENE PCI Secure Digital Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
06:04.3 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc: (rev 01)
06:04.4 FLASH memory: ENE Technology Inc SD/MMC Card Reader Controller (rev 01)
SCSI drivers
Code:
gentoobox purak # cat /proc/scsi/scsi
Attached devices:
Host: scsi0 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
  Vendor: ATA      Model: Hitachi HTS54121 Rev: HP4O
  Type:   Direct-Access                    ANSI  SCSI revision: 05
Host: scsi1 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
  Vendor: Slimtype Model: DVDRW SSM-8515S  Rev: GRS6
  Type:   CD-ROM                           ANSI  SCSI revision: 05
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd October 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

do you have enough free space on root filesystem?
I've read that if you don't have enough free space on root, system will be VERY SLOW
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd October 2008
purak's Avatar
purak purak is offline
Real Name: Burak
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killasmurf86 View Post
do you have enough free space on root filesystem?
I've read that if you don't have enough free space on root, system will be VERY SLOW
Yes, I have 8.8 GB space as root file system. I have used disc1(~530MB) for installation...

Last edited by purak; 3rd October 2008 at 02:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd October 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

Does FreeBSD install CD starts normally?
Can you show your FreeBSD or Linux dmesg
and FreeBSD kernel config, if yo made custom kernel
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 3rd October 2008
purak's Avatar
purak purak is offline
Real Name: Burak
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, FreeBSD install CD starts normally and installation is successful.
Linux dmesg
http://rafb.net/p/vD3QCR43.html

I use generic kernel...
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th October 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

What kind of HDD do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 5th October 2008
purak's Avatar
purak purak is offline
Real Name: Burak
New User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Istanbul
Posts: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killasmurf86 View Post
What kind of HDD do you have?
Code:
gentoobox purak # cat /proc/scsi/scsi
Attached devices:
Host: scsi0 Channel: 00 Id: 00 Lun: 00
  Vendor: ATA      Model: Hitachi HTS54121 Rev: HP4O
  Type:   Direct-Access                    ANSI  SCSI revision: 05
SATA
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 9th October 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

if you have some other HDD try using it, and see what happens.
could it, be that HDD have bad blocks?

Otherwise i'm out of ideas
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ln -f at boot doesn't work lordyan OpenBSD General 3 19th February 2009 03:50 PM
NetBSD pre-release 5 doesn`t boot welkin NetBSD Installation and Upgrading 4 6th January 2009 10:13 PM
After an update stable doesn't boot hamba FreeBSD Installation and Upgrading 18 23rd October 2008 10:58 PM
FreeBSD boot problem kdi FreeBSD General 2 25th May 2008 07:09 AM
KDE (X-Server) in FreeBSD 7.0 doesn't work correctly louie FreeBSD General 6 7th May 2008 11:53 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick