DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 25th October 2008
Mr-Biscuit Mr-Biscuit is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 272
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Xorg question

Recently my monitor crashed and I'm using an old packard bell monitor. I had to reinstall the Linux partitions because x wouldn't reconfigure properly. Now, if I did an "Xorg -configure" from tty2-8 and then added the mode lines for each color scheme- 1 to 24 bits, would Xorg work properly?
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 25th October 2008
Carpetsmoker's Avatar
Carpetsmoker Carpetsmoker is offline
Real Name: Martin
Old man from scene 24
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Eindhoven, Netherlands
Posts: 2,062
Thanked 198 Times in 156 Posts
Default

Xorg can usually detect monitor capabilities rather well ... But I can't offer any guarantees of course.
Entering the values manually is a no-brainer though ... What size is your monitor?
__________________
UNIX was not designed to stop you from doing stupid things, because that would also stop you from doing clever things.
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 25th October 2008
Mr-Biscuit Mr-Biscuit is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 272
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

It's a Packard Bell 1402s. 50-60Mhz. Only supports 800x600 max resolution. I reconfigured x with the command line and still no gui.
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 25th October 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Look in your Xorg.0.log file, see if the monitor returns any information on the DDC probe.. if it does not, it won't be automatically configured.

You'll need to manually set the HorizSync/VertRefresh values.. based off of the label on your monitor..
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 25th October 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

Honestly though, monitors.. both CRT and LCD.. are dirt cheap these days, why use something so old?
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th October 2008
Mr-Biscuit Mr-Biscuit is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 272
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The reasons I am using an old monitor.
1) It was left here by my girlfriend's sister.
2.) I make $920 per month, she makes about $640, Rent is 600, electric 130, water 45, communications is 120, 160 for gas for her car, and the rest is spent on food, cleaning supplies, and medicine. We still don't know how we are going to afford heating oil, winter clothes, glasses, or medicine for my asthma.


I hope my honesty doesn't offend you.

Last edited by Mr-Biscuit; 27th October 2008 at 06:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th October 2008
TerryP's Avatar
TerryP TerryP is offline
Arp Constable
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: USofA
Posts: 1,547
Thanked 112 Times in 104 Posts
Default

It shows you actually know something about economics ;-)

Most of the monitors I look at tend to be in the $150-$250 range, for that kidn of price tag... A hand me down Nokia 19" CRT and a crappy Gateway 15" CRT I got for $3 at the library is more then enough. In a group that I am involved in, we have a saying -> Real life always comes first. Having a roof over your head and some food on the table beats having a better monitor, any day.


As long as it works, while it lives...
__________________
My Journal

Thou shalt check the array bounds of all strings (indeed, all arrays), for surely where thou typest ``foo'' someone someday shall type ``supercalifragilisticexpialidocious''.
Reply With Quote
  #8   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th October 2008
BSDfan666 BSDfan666 is offline
Real Name: N/A, this is the interweb.
Helpful companion
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,223
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
Default

I wasn't trying to say go out and buy the most expensive monitor around.. the majority of my monitors are 17" CRT's circa 2003/2004.

The point is: "Get a newer older monitor", something that has DDC.. makes your life a lot easier, a thrift store will have one.

As for your financial problems, everyone is struggling.. very narrow minded to think you're the only one.
Reply With Quote
  #9   (View Single Post)  
Old 26th October 2008
ephemera's Avatar
ephemera ephemera is offline
Knuth's homeboy
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 537
Thanked 49 Times in 43 Posts
Default

please post the o/p of /var/log/Xorg.0.log

if you choose a conservative setting for vertical and horizontal refresh rate - something close to what 14/15 inch crt's are capable of - it should work.
Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2008
lvlamb's Avatar
lvlamb lvlamb is offline
Real Name: Louis V. Lambrecht
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: .be
Posts: 221
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Default

Changing your Section "Device" ... Driver to "vesa" should work. (I believe even vga should work).
If your monitor remains black, try some ctrl-alt-num+ or num- a couple of times.
On the correct screen, issue xvidtune on a xterm and read the settings.
__________________
da more I know I know I know nuttin'
Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr-Biscuit View Post
Recently my monitor crashed and I'm using an old packard bell monitor. I had to reinstall the Linux partitions because x wouldn't reconfigure properly. Now, if I did an "Xorg -configure" from tty2-8 and then added the mode lines for each color scheme- 1 to 24 bits, would Xorg work properly?
You can use this website to generate a custom ModeLine, based on the resolution and refresh rate you want/need. Put that in the Device section of the xorg.conf, and reference it in the Screen section.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2008
Mr-Biscuit Mr-Biscuit is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 272
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks everyone for the links and encouragement.

s

Last edited by Mr-Biscuit; 27th October 2008 at 06:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xorg taking the fun out of BSD Carpetsmoker General software and network 122 6th December 2010 01:21 PM
external drive partition question + fdisk question gosha OpenBSD General 15 15th June 2009 02:00 PM
Is xorg necessary....... rex FreeBSD General 10 19th October 2008 03:05 PM
xorg bug? enterhaken FreeBSD Ports and Packages 9 17th July 2008 02:38 PM
Xorg freezes 7.0 PatrickBaer FreeBSD General 2 14th June 2008 09:41 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick