DaemonForums  

Go Back   DaemonForums > FreeBSD > FreeBSD General

FreeBSD General Other questions regarding FreeBSD which do not fit in any of the categories below.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd October 2008
tad1214 tad1214 is offline
Real Name: Thomas Donnelly
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 60
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Xen

Well, a search of these forums for Xen returns 0.

Has anyone here successfully gotten freebsd running as a DomU on Xen? Or even any output at all for that matter? I am running under CentOS and all of the tutorial sites are outdated by alot and/or broken links for neccesary files.
Reply With Quote
  #2   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd October 2008
graudeejs's Avatar
graudeejs graudeejs is offline
Real Name: Aldis Berjoza
formerly killasmurf86
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Riga, Latvia
Posts: 588
Thanked 29 Times in 26 Posts
Default

i guess majority is waiting for FreeBSD 8, it should introduce Xen on FreeBSD, finally
Reply With Quote
  #3   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd October 2008
ninjatux's Avatar
ninjatux ninjatux is offline
Real Name: Baqir Majlisi
Spam Deminer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Antarctica
Posts: 293
Thanked 15 Times in 15 Posts
Default

FreeBSD 8 will definitely introduce DomU support for Xen. The developer has said that Dom0 may make it in as well.
__________________
"UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity."
MacBook Pro (Darwin 9), iMac (Darwin 9), iPod Touch (Darwin 9), Dell Optiplex GX620 (FreeBSD 7.1-STABLE)
Reply With Quote
  #4   (View Single Post)  
Old 23rd October 2008
J65nko J65nko is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Budel - the Netherlands
Posts: 3,135
Thanked 182 Times in 149 Posts
Default

NetBSD has Xen support. See http://www.netbsd.org/ports/xen/
__________________
You don't need to be a genius to debug a pf.conf firewall ruleset, you just need the guts to run tcpdump
Reply With Quote
  #5   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th October 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

I've had 32-bit and 64-bit FreeBSD 6.2 and 7.0 running in Xen 3.2 an 3.3 HVM setups, using Debian and Ubuntu for the Xen dom0. Requires hardware virtualisation support in the CPU/chipset, preferably using AMD CPUs, as their hardware virt isn't broken.

I've never bothered trying to get FreeBSD running in a PVM.

However, with the introduction of hardware virtualisation support in all new CPUs, I've given up on the complexity of Xen, and have started using KVM instead.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
  #6   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th October 2008
tad1214 tad1214 is offline
Real Name: Thomas Donnelly
Fdisk Soldier
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 60
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
I've had 32-bit and 64-bit FreeBSD 6.2 and 7.0 running in Xen 3.2 an 3.3 HVM setups, using Debian and Ubuntu for the Xen dom0. Requires hardware virtualisation support in the CPU/chipset, preferably using AMD CPUs, as their hardware virt isn't broken.

I've never bothered trying to get FreeBSD running in a PVM.

However, with the introduction of hardware virtualisation support in all new CPUs, I've given up on the complexity of Xen, and have started using KVM instead.
Well these are Dual Quad Intel E5405's with virtualization support turned on. I have been trying to get FBSD7 it installed for a couple of days now with no luck. Would you be kind enough to enlighten me how you got it running? I would move to a different virtualization program (VMWare Server 1.X is usually my poison of choice) but we already have 5 CentOS servers running ontop of this for developers.

Worse comes to worse I will have to wait until 8 :-\ (thanks for the heads up on that by the way)
Reply With Quote
  #7   (View Single Post)  
Old 24th October 2008
phoenix's Avatar
phoenix phoenix is offline
Risen from the ashes
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 699
Thanked 90 Times in 81 Posts
Default

With Intel CPUs, there are a lot of hoops you have to jump through to get FreeBSD running in an HVM. Mainly, you can't use anything older than 7.1, as a bunch of patches went in after the release of 7.0 to make FreeBSD run in Xen HVM on Intel. You'll want to grab a 7-STABLE snapshot CD from October and use that for the install.
__________________
Freddie

Help for FreeBSD: Handbook, FAQ, man pages, mailing lists.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content copyright © 2007-2010, the authors
Daemon image copyright ©1988, Marshall Kirk McKusick